Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Resources And Free Content
A list of trusted resources, offering free access to research and relevant content on COVID-19, during the COVID-19 crisis.
AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central
“COVID-19 Central” will be a source of weekly updated developments and analysis in clinical medicine, public health, and industry and will be aimed at healthcare professionals, trainees, students, and librarians. It will be open to all, regardless of Access subscription status. It will have daily contributions and resources from across our author and specialist professional community.
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Critical Updates on COVID-19
As the COVID-19 pandemic evolves, the AAP has been staying abreast of all confirmed developments related to its global spread and will continue to be vigilant in efforts to develop and share information and guidance with members.
American Association of Advancement of Science (AAAS) - Coronavirus: Research, Commentary, and News
AAAS and the Science family of journals are applying formidable resources to keep the scientific community and the public well informed on the coronavirus pandemic. Science, published by AAAS, has shared research findings and made data swiftly available over recent weeks to spur scientific advances, outline public health opportunities to slow the spread of COVID-19, and help protect the wellbeing of people across the globe.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Efforts & Resources on COVID-19
As a leading scientific society and publisher of scientific research and information, ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic. Browse ACS's resources and initiatives below and share them with colleagues, friends and family.
American College of Physicians (ACP) Physician's Guide + Resources
The American College of Physicians is making the information and its collected national resources to support physicians as they respond to the SARS-CoV-2/Covid-19 pandemic. Use the menu to jump to specific sections, or read through for a comprehensive overview of care.
American Psychological Association (APA) Pandemics General Resources
APA's Science Directorate answers questions being received during the COVID-19 outbreak and offers resources to help psychological scientists and students deal with the impact of the coronavirus on their research and academic work.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources
ASM is providing free access to nearly 50 research articles published over the last year in ASM’s 16 scholarly journals to support research efforts and communications about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). ASM has also committed to making all of its COVID19 and coronavirus related publications, and the available data supporting them, immediately accessible in PubMed Central (PMC) and other public repositories.
BioOne Peer-Reviewed Research to Inform the Coronavirus Crisis
In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and their publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020.
Bloomsbury COVID-19 support
Some of the initiatives Bloomsbury offers to provide support at university and high school level.
Brill COVID-19 Collection
Brill has opened up books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research. If any new related content is published with Brill, it will be added to their collection.
The British Medical Journal (BMJ) Coronavirus (covid-19) news and resources
This collection collects all BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak from across the BMJ's journals and learning resources. All articles and resources are freely available.
Free access for 3 months by using a voucher code. Wait for the pop-up to load, providing instructions on how to register.
Cambridge University Press
Cambridge University Press is allowing Free access to the html version of all 700 textbooks in the Cambridge Core collection. This is an extensive collection containing textbooks for almost all disciplines, be it language, computer science or mathematics.
Cell Press Coronavirus Resource Hub
Cell Press is sharing information about SARS-CoV-2 (also referred to as 2019-nCoV), the coronavirus that causes COVID-19. On this website in Column D, you'll find their policies for submitting papers related to COVID-19, as well as content about the outbreak as it appears in Cell Press journals. Cell Press also recommend visiting Elsevier’s information center for more free resources in English and Mandarin on coronavirus.
DynaMed: COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus)
Learn more about the virus from Dynamed.
EBSCO Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Healthcare Resource Center
See current information about handling an emerging public health crisis and current epidemiology statistics.
EBSCO COVID-19 Information Portal
This Information Portal has been created to support the immediate need for trusted information. It is comprised of news feeds and resources from trusted bodies of authority and the index is in its infancy. Your contributions are needed. This portal will continue to evolve over the days and weeks to come, along with our emerging needs as a professional community. The goal: to provide relevant and reliable information when, where, and how people need it.
Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Find expert, curated information for the research and health community on novel coronavirus (COVID-19). All resources are free to access and include guidelines for clinicians and patients.
Emerald is making these resources freely available to access. Whilst these materials do not only relate to the current clinical challenges of the Coronavirus, they may provide relevant context to how the world reacted to other previous Coronavirus outbreaks (notably SARS) and epidemics.
F1000Research is an Open Research publishing platform for scientists, scholars and clinicians offering rapid publication of articles and other research outputs without editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent peer review and editorial guidance on making all source data openly available.
IOP Publishing Coronavirus articles
IOP Publishing acknowledges the devastating impact Coronavirus (COVID-19) is having around the world and they will do whatever they can to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers and others who are working to address this public health emergency.
JAMA Coronavirus Resource Center
Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness.
Karger Coronavirus (COVID-19) Article Package
Karger is making all published Coronavirus / COVID-19 articles freely available until the end of 2020, in order to support current research initiatives and community health.
The Lancet Coronavirus Resource Centre
To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre. This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published.
MarketLine’s COVID-19 Executive Briefing
For the period of the COVID-19 outbreak MarketLine is publishing a regularly updated COVID-19 Executive Briefing Report to help you understand the outbreak, its economic impact, and implications for specific sectors.
Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. COVID-19 Collection
Liebert has made, and will continue to make, all of their COVID-19 research content available for free.
MDPI COVID-19 Articles
MDPI is a pioneer in scholarly open access publishing and has supported academic communities since 1996.
National Department of Health
The Department of Health is the executive department of the South African government that is assigned to health matters.
The National Institute for Communicable Diseases
The National Institute for Communicable Diseases is a national public health institute of South Africa, providing reference microbiology, virology, epidemiology, surveillance and public health research to support the government’s response to communicable disease threats.
New England Journal of Medicine - Coronavirus (Covid-19)
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
PLOS COVID-19 Updates
Public Library Of Science is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Proquest COVID-19 information resource center
To help you better understand and discover the latest on COVID-19, including what it is, how it spreads and ways to keep safe, our editors have hand-selected particularly relevant articles from the most reliable global sources.
Content metadata is being added to PubMed Central from publishers, CDC and various government agencies.
The Royal Society research findings and data relevant to the COVID-19 pandemic
The Royal Society journals are making all research findings and data relevant to the covid-19 pandemic immediately open access
Sabinet COVID-19 Legislation
A variety of documents relevant to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Sabinet dedicated this page to all legislation surrounding COVID-19 and it is where you will find various Gazettes related to the Disaster Management Act 57 of 2002 which outline government’s approach to handling this situation from a variety of different fronts.
Sage Publishing Collection of Most Recent COVID-19 Research
This collection includes the latest medical research from SAGE related to the virus as well as top social and behavioural research to help individuals, communities, and leaders make the best decisions on dealing with the outbreak and its consequences.
Springer Nature SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Collection
SARS-CoV-2 is a new virus responsible for an outbreak of respiratory illness known as COVID-19, which has spread to several countries around the world. As a leading research publisher, Springer Nature is committed to supporting the global response to emerging outbreaks by enabling fast and direct access to the latest available research, evidence, and data.
Taylor & Francis free access to COVID-19 research
Supporting researchers, journals and funders to ensure that all research findings and data relevant to COVID-19 are shared rapidly and openly to inform the public health response and ultimately help save lives.
Wiley Online Library - Coronavirus Resources & News
In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community.
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization is a specialised agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health. It is part of the U.N. Sustainable Development Group.
Dimensions freely available publications and datasets on COVID-19
Dimensions is updated once every 24 hours, so the latest research can be viewed alongside existing information. With its range of research outputs including datasets and clinical trials, both of which are just as important as journal articles in this pandemic, Dimensions is a one-stop shop for all COVID-19 related information.
Figshare - Discover COVID-19 research data
The significance of sharing research is vitally important now more than ever. So to allow researchers to publish any COVID-19 related research in any form, be it preprints, datasets, presentations, or software we’ve launched a free portal on Figshare.
African Sun Media
SUN MeDIA specialises in scholarly and professional publications under the imprint SUNPReSS, but also publishes general and trade titles aimed at the commercial market under the imprint Rapid Access Publishers (RAP).
American Institute of Mathematics
The American Institute of Mathematics was founded in 1994 by John Fry, co-founder of Fry's Electronics, and located in the Fry's Electronics San Jose, California location. Privately funded by Fry at inception, in 2002, AIM became one of eight NSF-funded mathematical institutes.
To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, they have made their journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020. On that date, they will assess the need to extend this policy.
Bay College: Open Educational Resources (OER)
This links to Bay College OER Courses and Textbooks.
BCcampus Open Education began in 2012 as the B.C. Open Textbook Project with the goal of making post-secondary education in British Columbia more accessible by reducing student costs through the use of openly licenced textbooks and other OER.
Booklist, an American Library Association publication is now freely available to libraries around the world until further notice.
Duke University Press Syllabi
At Duke University Press, we see scholarship as a powerful basis for understanding our current sociopolitical climate and working toward a brighter future. With this in mind, we’re glad to present staff-curated syllabi of incisive work on today's most critical issues, from climate change to police violence to immigration.
Gale: Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits introduces elementary schoolers to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
Gale: Miss Humblebee's Academy
Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children ages three to six to key concepts in math, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It’s as challenging as it is fun!
Gale In Context: Canada
Gale In Context: Canada is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, and events.
Gale In Context: College
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content for undergraduate students that reinforces skill development in problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale In Context: High School
Gale In Context: High School supports student papers, projects, and presentations while empowering the development of critical thinking and problem-solving skills with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
Gale In Context: Middle School
Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.
Gale in Context: Science
Gale in Context: Science is an engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
The world's leading publisher of Open Access books. Built by scientists, for scientists. Our readership spans scientists, professors, researchers, librarians, and students, as well as business professionals. We share our knowledge and peer-reveiwed research papers with libraries, scientific and engineering societies, and also work with corporate R&D departments and government entities.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.)
The Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons is a collaborative, online space designed to support the sharing and creation of Open Educational Resources (OER). Through M.O.S.T. Commons, you will have the opportunity to access openly licensed content.
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) was started back in 1997 at Sonoma State University. It is a community of staff, volunteers, and members who work together in various ways to provide users of OER (Open Educational Resource) teaching and learning materials with a wealth of services and functions that can enhance their instructional experience.
Nightly Met Opera Streams
“Nightly Met Opera Streams,” is a free series of encore Live in HD presentations streamed on the company website during the coronavirus closure.
Noba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License. Users may reuse, redistribute, and remix the content to suit their needs.
NOUN Prohibits the use of its e-Courseware for; Commercial, Financial purposes other than Educational. The e-Courseware is a repository of available digital course material of the National Open University that will help you in your course of studies.
OAPEN: Online library and publication platform
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation. Open Educational Resources (OER) offer opportunities for systemic change in teaching and learning content through engaging educators in new participatory processes and effective technologies for engaging with learning.
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 692 textbooks, with more being added all the time.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
Pearson Digital Literacy Citizenship
A Digital Literacy Citizenship course that is a self-paced online, modular and nonlinear programme for South Africans who need to build their 21st-century digital literacy skills and will be FREE to new users registering in April.
University of Cape Town Libraries
UCT Libraries has taken on the role of publisher to meet campus demand for digital publishing platforms to support e-journals, conference proceedings, monographs and textbooks. It is one of four South African academic libraries that offer the hosting of open access journals, and the only one in Africa to offer the service of publishing monographs that might have otherwise been placed on websites and remained unpublished.
OASIS: Openly Available Sources Integrated Search
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Open Research Library (ORL)
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.
Edward Elgar Publishing Online Teaching Resources
In the wake of Covid-19 related university closings, online and virtual classes have become a key component in the continuity of studies for students and instructors. Edward Elgar Publishing has been developing a library of resources for teaching in the fields they publish and they offer free access to pertinent content through their Elgaronline digital platform.
Elsevier’s Expert Teaching Advice & Resources
Elsevier’s one-stop source for the latest strategies, resources, and information to help you adapt your curriculum and deliver course materials remotely in response to campus and clinical site closures resulting from COVID-19.
Elsevier’s Remote Teaching Resource Center for Nursing & Healthcare Education
This website will be updated on a regular basis to bring you all the latest information and resources to assist you with delivering courses virtually.
Epigeum are making a range of our most relevant online training resources freely available. Anyone tackling an unexpected or abrupt transition to digital course delivery is welcome to make use of them.
Juta and Company Publishers
Juta and Company Publishers extend permission to all prescribing lecturers to use our support material as part of online learning solutions and to students to freely access the material in Student View.
Oxford University Press South Africa
Oxford University Press South Africa Higher Education Division publishes academically rigorous text books for students in South African institutions, and offers free digital resources to prescribing lecturers.
Van Schaik Publishers
Van Schaik Publishers offers lecturers free access to support material with permission to distribute suitable resources to students. The resources include PowerPoint® Cases, Questions, Glossaries, Flashcards, and images, tables and diagrams from textbooks.
The Oxford Handbook of Public Health Ethics by
Natural disasters and cholera outbreaks. Ebola, SARS, and concerns over pandemic flu. HIV and AIDS. E. coli outbreaks from contaminated produce and fast foods. Threats of bioterrorism. Contamination of compounded drugs. Vaccination refusals and outbreaks of preventable diseases. These are just some of the headlines from the last 30-plus years highlighting the essential roles and responsibilities of public health, all of which come with ethical issues and the responsibilities they create. Public health has achieved extraordinary successes. And yet these successes also bring with them ethical tension. Not all public health successes are equally distributed in the population; extraordinary health disparities between rich and poor still exist. The most successful public health programs sometimes rely on policies that, while improving public health conditions, also limit individual rights. Public health practitioners and policymakers face these and other questions of ethics routinely in their work, and they must navigate their sometimes competing responsibilities to the health of the public with other important societal values such as privacy, autonomy, and prevailing cultural norms. This Oxford Handbook provides a sweeping and comprehensive review of the current state of public health ethics, addressing these and numerous other questions. Taking account of the wide range of topics under the umbrella of public health and the ethical issues raised by them, this volume is organized into fifteen sections. It begins with two sections that discuss the conceptual foundations, ethical tensions, and ethical frameworks of and for public health and how public health does its work. The thirteen sections that follow examine the application of public health ethics considerations and approaches across a broad range of public health topics. While chapters are organized into topical sections, each chapter is designed to serve as a standalone contribution. The book includes 73 chapters covering many topics from varying perspectives, a recognition of the diversity of the issues that define public health ethics in the U.S. and globally. This Handbook is an authoritative and indispensable guide to the state of public health ethics today.
Publication Date: 2019-08-20