Canine Internal Medicine Secrets by
Part of the popular Secrets Series(R), this new text provides essential, practical information for reviewing canine internal medicine topics commonly encountered in clinical situations. Organized by disorder type, it features numerous photos, a popular question-and-answer format, and a detailed index that makes it easy to find information quickly. In 10 concise chapters, expert contributors pose key questions and provide authoritative answers addressing the situations that confront small animal veterinarians every day.Authoritative coverage is provided by a team of nationally recognized canine internal medicine experts.All of the most important "need to know" questions and answers are offered in the concise, proven format of the acclaimed Secrets Series.More than 65 superior-quality illustrations highlight key concepts.A thorough, highly detailed index provides quick and easy access to specific topics.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
Davidson's principles and practice of medicine by
Fundamentals of medicine. Clinical decision making -- Clinical therapeutics and good prescribing -- Clinical genetics -- Clinical immunology -- Population health and epidemiology -- Principles of infectious disease -- Emergency and critical care medicine. Poisoning -- Envenomation -- Environmental medicine -- Acute medicine and critical illness -- Clinical medicine. Infectious diseases -- HIV infection and AIDS -- Sexually transmitted infections -- Clinical biochemistry and metabolic medicine -- Nephrology and urology -- Cardiology -- Respiratory medicine -- Endocrinology -- Nutritional factors in disease -- Diabetes mellitus -- Gastroenterology -- Hepatology -- Haematology and transfusion medicine -- Rheumatology and bone disease -- Neurology -- Stroke medicine -- Medical ophthalmology -- Medical psychiatry -- Dermatology -- Maternal medicine -- Adolescent and transition medicine -- Ageing and disease -- Oncology -- Pain and palliative care -- Laboratory reference ranges.
Equine internal medicine by
Infection and immunity -- Pharmacology : principles, antimicrobials, and NSAIDs -- Recognizing and treating pain in horses -- Critical care -- Internal medicine and clinical nutrition -- Clinical epidemiology and evidence-based medicine -- Clinical approach to commonly encountered problems -- Disorders of the respiratory system -- Disorder of the cardiovascular system -- Disorders of the musculoskeletal system -- Disorders of the neurologic system -- Disorders of the gastrointestinal system -- Disorders of the liver -- Disorders of the urinary system -- Disorders of the hematopoietic system -- Disorders of the endocrine system -- Disorders of the eye and vision -- Disorders of the skin -- Disorders of the reproductive tract -- Disorders of foals -- Toxicologic problems.
Equine Internal Medicine by
Written by well-respected experts from the UK and USA, Equine Internal Medicine: Self-Assessment Color Review Second Edition presents more than 200 interesting and challenging cases encountered in equine practice, complete with photographs, imaging, or endoscopy findings; blood or fluid smears; other ancillary tests; and, in some cases, pathologic
Harrison's principles of internal medicine. by
"Harrison's is intended for learners throughout their careers. For students, Part 1, Chapter 1 begins with an overview of "The Practice of Medicine". In this introductory chapter, the editors continue the tradition of orienting clinicians to the science and the art of medicine, emphasizing the values of our profession while incorporating new advances in technology, science, and clinical care. Part 2, "Cardinal Manifestations and Presentation of Diseases" is a signature feature of Harrison's. These chapters eloquently describe how patients present with common clinical conditions, such as headache, fever, cough, palpitations, or anemia, and provide an overview of typical symptoms, physical findings, and differential diagnosis. Mastery of these topics prepares students for subsequent chapters on specific diseases they will encounter in courses on pathophysiology and in clinical clerkships"-- Provided by publisher.
Macleod's clinical examination by
"This classic textbook aims to assist clinicians develop the consultation skills required to elicit a clear history, and the practical skills needed to detect clinical signs of disease. Where possible, the physical basis of clinical signs is explained to aid understanding. Formulation of a differential diagnosis from the information gained is introduced, and the logical initial investigations are included for each system. The first part of the book addresses the general principles of good interaction with patients, from the basics of taking a history and examining, to the use of pattern recognition to identify spot diagnoses. The second part documents the relevant history, examination and investigations for all the major body systems. The third part illustrates the application of these skills to specific clinical situations. The final part covers preparation for assessments of clinical skills and the use of these skills in everyday practice. The book has accompanying videos demonstrating many of the key clinical examination routines as set out in the book. A new editorial team has undertaken a substantial review of the book's contents and with the help of many new authors has radically revised the order and approach of the text. Several new chapters have been created including a chapter on patients with mental disorders; a chapter covering the approach to a deteriorating patient; a chapter on assessment of patients towards the end of life and two new chapters on applying the key clinical skills during assessments and in practice. The structure of the text has been rationalised with careful use of boxes, tables and figures to set out the concepts for maximum clarity."-- Provided by publisher.
Medical terminology for students of the health professions by
Medical terminology for students of the health professions offers a systematic approach to explaining terminology that entry-level medical, dental and health care science students often find difficult to comprehend. This book has three sections with one introductory chapter, eight vocabulary chapters and six body system chapters. At the end of the book, there are comprehensive word lists with both the English and Afrikaans meanings of the terms included and a list of eponyms. It was endeavoured to use terms and study text with clinical relevance and which are commonly used in health science practice. This book is designed in such a way that students who study this text over a period of fifteen weeks will be equipped to analyse and understand almost any term used in the health profession.
Principles of pulmonary medicine by
"With an emphasis on the pathophysiologic basis of pulmonary disease, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 7th Edition, by Drs. Steven E Weinberger, Barbara A Cockrill, and Jess Mandel, provides a superbly illustrated introduction to this fast-changing field. This essential text employs a concise and understandable approach, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts critical for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases"--Publisher's description.