Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Books for School of Health Systems & Public Health
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual by Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 20th Edition, is the must have resource for anyone in the field of public health. Every chapter has been reworked and new chapters have been added. The 20th Edition is a timely update to a milestone reference work, ensuring the Manual's relevance and usefulness to every public health professional around the world.
Call Number: Medical Library library Study Collection MED 616.9 CONTROL
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
eBooks for School of Health Systems & Public Health
Basic Epidemiology by The second edition of this popular textbook provides an introduction to the principles and methods of epidemiology. Since publication of the first edition in 1993, Basic epidemiology has become a standard reference for education, training and research in the field of public health and has been translated into more than 25 languages. It is used widely for training public health and environment professionals, undergraduate medical students, and students in other health professions. The second edition provides updated examples of how and why the basics of epidemiology are essential to anyone who is required to understand and apply the principles of disease causation and prevention. The book has a particular emphasis on modifiable environmental factors and encourages the application of epidemiology to the prevention of disease and the promotion of health, including environmental and occupational health. It prepares members of the health-related professions to respond to the need for health services to address all aspects of the health of populations, and to ensure that health resources are used to the best possible effect. It shows how good clinical practice is informed by clinical epidemiology; and its lively, concise style is designed to stimulate a continuing interest in the subject. This edition includes comprehensive chapters on the nature and uses of epidemiology; the epidemiological approach to defining and measuring the occurrence of health-related states in populations; the strengths and limitations of epidemiological study; designs, causation; the contribution of epidemiology to the prevention of disease; the promotion of health and the development of health policy; and the role of epidemiology in evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of health care. It enables students to describe the common causes of death, disease and disability in her or his community; outline appropriate study designs to answer specific questions concerning disease causation, natural history, prognosis prevention and the evaluation of therapy and other interventions to control disease and critically evaluate the literature.
Call Number: BMS and Dentistry Library Study Collection VKL 614.4 BONITA
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by This open access book provides an overview of the building blocks necessary for managing, steering and guiding the establishment of a research infrastructure (RI). It offers valuable insight…
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Disease Control Priorities in Developing Countries by Based on careful analysis of burden of disease and the costs of interventions, this second edition of Disease Control Priorities in Developing Countries, 2nd edition highlights achievable priorities; measures progress toward providing efficient, equitable care; promotes cost-effective interventions to targeted populations; and encourages integrated efforts to optimize health. Nearly 500 experts - scientists, epidemiologists, health economists, academicians, and public health practitioners - from around the world contributed to the data sources and methodologies, and identified challenges and priorities, resulting in this integrated, comprehensive reference volume on the state of health in developing countries.
Call Number: Medical Library Open Collection MED 614.422724 DISEASE
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Epidemiology: a Research Manual for South Africa by What is the nature of epidemiology? Why is epidemiology so important in the context of health, and particularly public health, in South Africa? How can it help us answer important questions in clinical medicine and public health? Epidemiology: A Research Manual for South Africa 3e provides lecturers with useful resources on which to base introductory Epidemiology and Research Methods courses and helps to answer these questions. Written by South African experts, Epidemiology: A Research Manual for South Africa 3e is aimed at undergraduate or postgraduate students encountering epidemiology and, more generally, quantitative public health research methods for the first time. Epidemiology is taught within the following programmes: MBChB, BCur, Diploma: Primary Health Care, and National Diploma: Environmental Health. It enables readers to evaluate data critically and to report their findings lucidly and accurately.
Call Number: Medical Library Study Collection MED 614.4072 EPIDEMIOLOGY
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Essentials of Environmental Health by Essentials of Environmental Health is a clear and comprehensive study of the major topics of environmental health, including a background of the field and "tools of the trade" (environmental epidemiology, environmental toxicology, and environmental policy and regulation); Environmental diseases (microbial agents, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation); and Applications and domains of environmental health (water and air quality, food safety, waste disposal, and occupational health). Using a straightforward, non-technical approach, the author has included many examples and illustrations of environmental health issues. Perfect for the beginning student as well as the experienced health professional, each chapter concludes with study questions and exercises to engage the reader in further study. The Third Edition maintains the structure of the previous edition with thoroughly updated examples, data, charts, tables and figures throughout. The most recent findings on the Ebola and Zika viruses have been added to the chapter on Zoonotic and vector-borne diseases. Additional study questions, exercises and ancillary materials have also been added.
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Practical Guide for Health Researchers (A) by This comprehensive guide to health research reaches out to a wide spectrum of people: students who wish to learn the basic principles of health research and how to conduct it, field researchers, and those involved in teaching and training of health research methodologies.
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Principles of Biostatistics by This edition is a reprint of the second edition published in 2000 by Brooks/Cole and then Cengage Learning. Principles of Biostatistics is aimed at students in the biological and health sciences who wish to learn modern research methods. It is based on a required course offered at the Harvard School of Public Health. In addition to these graduate students, many health professionals from the Harvard medical area attend as well. The book is divided into three parts. The first five chapters deal with collections of numbers and ways in which to summarize, explore, and explain them. The next two chapters focus on probability and introduce the tools needed for the subsequent investigation of uncertainty. It is only in the eighth chapter and thereafter that the authors distinguish between populations and samples and begin to investigate the inherent variability introduced by sampling, thus progressing to inference. Postponing the slightly more difficult concepts until a solid foundation has been established makes it easier for the reader to comprehend them. All supplements, including a manual for students with solutions for odd-numbered exercises, a manual for instructors with solutions to all exercises, and selected data sets, are available at http://www.crcpress.com/9781138593145. Marcello Pagano is Professor of Statistical Computing in the Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health. His research in biostatistics is on computer intensive inference and surveillance methods that involve screening methodologies, with their associated laboratory tests, and in obtaining more accurate testing results that use existing technologies. Kimberlee Gauvreau is Associate Professor in the Department of Biostatistics and Associate Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Gauvreau's research focuses on biostatistical issues arising in the field of pediatric cardiology. She also works on the development and validation of methods of adjustment for case mix complexity.
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
Regression Methods in Biostatistics by This new book provides a unified, in-depth, readable introduction to the multipredictor regression methods most widely used in biostatistics: linear models for continuous outcomes, logistic models for binary outcomes, the Cox model for right-censored survival times, repeated-measures models for longitudinal and hierarchical outcomes, and generalized linear models for counts and other outcomes. Treating these topics together takes advantage of all they have in common. The authors point out the many-shared elements in the methods they present for selecting, estimating, checking, and interpreting each of these models. They also show that these regression methods deal with confounding, mediation, and interaction of causal effects in essentially the same way. The examples, analyzed using Stata, are drawn from the biomedical context but generalize to other areas of application. While a first course in statistics is assumed, a chapter reviewing basic statistical methods is included. Some advanced topics are covered but the presentation remains intuitive. A brief introduction to regression analysis of complex surveys and notes for further reading are provided.
Call Number: Medical Library Open Collection MED 570.15195 REGRESSION
Publication Date: 2012-03-06