Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print books for School of Health Care Sciences
eBooks for School of Health Care sciences
Coovadia's Paediatrics and Child Health: a Manual for Health Professionals in Developing Countries by First published in 1984 and now in its seventh edition, Coovadia's Paediatrics and Child Health 7e is a comprehensive introductory textbook, highly regarded by academics and students alike. This tried and tested best-seller is an introduction to paediatrics and child health emphasising a primary care approach from a southern African perspective to enable practitioners to deal effectively with local health problems. The book maintains a problem-based approach to facilitate a full evaluation of the sick child from a holistic perspective. This is a clinical textbook dealing with the medical diagnosis and treatment of paediatric health issues. The nine parts cover the practice of paediatrics, focusing on associated disorders. The book maintains a problem-based approach to facilitate a full evaluation of the sick child from a holistic perspective. There are chapters devoted to social paediatrics and child health, as well as a comprehensive list of topics dealing with all aspects of childhood disease including oral and dental conditions, and dermatological or specialty surgical conditions. It aimed primarily at Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) students studying Paediatrics in their 4th, 5th or 6th year modules. Paediatrics is also incorporated in the Bachelors of Nursing (BCur) programme usually at 3rd and 4th year.
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Call Number: Medical Library Study Collection MED 616.89075 DIAGNOSTIC
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
A double-blind behavioral experiment : the influence of paranormal beliefs and media messaging in undergraduate nursing and education students by This case study focuses on a novel controlled quasi-experimental methodology, replicating the methods of earlier work testing the effects of three different versions of a news story concerning the supernatural on the public. This study built on these findings using a web-based survey followed by a double blinded experiment to explore the prevalence of paranormal beliefs in students undertaking undergraduate professional studies and testing if these students discriminated between media stories that offered different interpretations of a reported phenomenon. Our initial presentations of findings led to some resistance and critique. These raised interesting questions about the nature of critical thinking and the role of the university and science-based programs in developing criticality in our students.
Publication Date: 2018
Epidemiology by You are the Hunter “ destined to fight horror wherever you find it. You "re called to an island in the South Pacific “ home to the Nutco Oil corporation. Their operation is being disrupted by the sort of pest that only you can help to defeat “ zombies! They are threatening to destroy everything on the island of Saruba, and now you must fight your way through the fog and hordes of living dead to find the truth...
Call Number: Medical Library Open Collection 614.4268 EPIDEMIOLOGY
Publication Date: 1997-04-17
Introductory Statistics for Health and Nursing Using SPSS by Introductory Statistics for Health & Nursing using SPSS is an impressive introductory statistics text ideal for all health science and nursing students. Health and nursing students can be anxious and lacking in confidence when it comes to handling statistics. This book has been developed with this readership in mind. This accessible text eschews long and off-putting statistical formulae in favour of non-daunting practical and SPSS-based examples. What's more, its content will fit ideally with the common course content of stats courses in the field. Introductory Statistics for Health & Nursing using SPSS is also accompanied by a companion website containing data-sets and examples for use by lecturers with their students. The inclusion of real-world data and a host of health-related examples should make this an ideal core text for any introductory statistics course in the field.
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Lippincott manual of nursing practice by Organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing. All the expert guidance you need to meet virtually every nursing challenge and can be totally confident with recommendations, facts and findings grounded in Official Guidelines from the National Institutes of Health, American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association, American Nurses Association, Joint Commission, AWHONN, and others. The content is evidence-based and filled with procedure guidelines and practical help you'll put to immediate use.
Call Number: Merensky Library Open Collection Level 1610.73 LIPPINCOTT
Publication Date: 2013
MENTAL HEALTH NURSING : a South African perspective. by This case study focuses on a novel controlled quasi-experimental methodology, replicating the methods of earlier work testing the effects of three different versions of a news story concerning the supernatural on the public. This study built on these findings using a web-based survey followed by a double blinded experiment to explore the prevalence of paranormal beliefs in students undertaking undergraduate professional studies and testing if these students discriminated between media stories that offered different interpretations of a reported phenomenon. Our initial presentations of findings led to some resistance and critique. These raised interesting questions about the nature of critical thinking and the role of the university and science-based programs in developing criticality in our students.
Call Number: Witbank Library Study CollectionWTH 616.890231 MENTAL
Publication Date: 2019
Minor Emergencies E-Book by Minor Emergencies gives you the practical how-tos you need to handle a wide range of non-life-threatening medical crises with speed and expertise. Completely updated with the latest equipment, devices, dosages, and techniques, this compact and portable medical reference book delivers fast, efficient guidance just when you need it. With Minor Emergencies on hand, you'll always be prepared! Find guidance at a glance with "What to Do" and "What NOT to Do" checklists. Effectively respond to medical crises at the point of care with Minor Emergencies! Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Stay on top of the latest procedures and treatment guidelines with updated coverage of 184 topics, including Swimmer's Ear, Dental Pain, Broken Rib, Locked Knee, Puncture Wounds, and Sunburn. Get procedural sedation recommendations from Dr. Alfred Sacchetti, MD, FACEP.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Netter's neurology by Perfect for residents, medical students, generalists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of neurology, Netter's Neurology, 3rd Edition, provides a concise overview highlighted by unique, memorable Netter illustrations. This award-winning visual resource showcases the well-known work of Frank H. Netter, MD, and his successor, Carlos Machado, MD, a physician who has created clear, full-color illustrations in the Netter tradition. Offers a quick and memorable summary of general neurology and its intersection with internal medicine, neurosurgery, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and orthopaedics. Concise text is presented in a templated format for fast, easy access to information. Features more than 450 Netter and Netter-style images that highlight anatomy, pathophysiology, and clinical presentation related to neuroanatomical and neurologic concepts. Helps you make correlations between anatomy, pathology, physiology, and pharmacology in a clinical setting. Clinical vignettes throughout provide real-world applications to each topic. Includes access to 25 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced eBook version. Features new chapters on Laboratory Evaluation in Neurology; Neuroimaging in Neurologic Disorders; and Neurologic Emergencies and Critical Care. Presents the underlying anatomy in living patients through neuroimaging coverage, including MR, CT, and PET. NEW! Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.?Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: Medical Library Open Collection MED 616.8 NETTER'S
Publication Date: 2020
Reconsidering Dementia Narratives by Reconsidering Dementia Narratives explores the role of narrative in developing new ways of understanding, interacting with, and caring for people with dementia. It asks how the stories we tell about dementia - in fiction, life writing and film - both reflect and shape the way we think about this important condition. Highlighting the need to attend to embodied and relational aspects of identity in dementia, the study further outlines ways in which narratives may contribute to dementia care, while disputing the idea that the modes of empathy fostered by narrative necessarily bring about more humane care practices. This cross-medial analysis represents an interdisciplinary approach to dementia narratives which range across auto/biography, graphic narrative, novel, film, documentary and collaborative storytelling practices. The book aims to clarify the limits and affordances of narrative, and narrative studies, in relation to an ethically driven medical humanities agenda through the use of case studies. Answering the key question of whether dementia narratives align with or run counter to the dominant discourse of dementia as 'loss of self', this innovative book will be of interest to anyone interested in dementia studies, ageing studies, narrative studies in health care, and critical medical humanities.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05