Subject Guides: Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology Open Resources: Open Books, Journals &amp; Databases

Open Books

General

Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.

University of Toronto Books Online This link opens in a new window Books Online are books that have been digitized, from the University of Toronto Libraries. They are freely available online and out-of-copyright. The collection currently contains 858 titles.

IntechOpen
Engineering and Technology books
OAPEN
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication.

Engineering

Information Technology

General

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- This link opens in a new window
LinkOut (NCBI) This link opens in a new window LinkOut Journals with full text links, sorted by title, in HTML.

Engineering

General

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Their journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health, including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Malaria Journal and BMC Infectious Diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® This link opens in a new window PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
J-STAGE This link opens in a new window J-STAGE is an electronic journal site operated by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) and it makes electronic journals issued by Japanese academic institutions available to the public via the Internet.

Taylor & Francis Open Journals
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
OER Commons
Covers the following subjects areas among others: Architecture and Design, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, and Information Science
JSTOR open
Covers journals and books
BASE search Engine
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed
documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Engineering

TRID: Transport Research International Documentation This link opens in a new window TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Built Environment

SA Artefacts: SA Architects This link opens in a new window A site which, via the World Wide Web, makes information of interest about the Southern African Built Environment readily accessible.

Information Technology

Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.