Anaesthesiology: New Books

Master the equipment, devices, and techniques used in respiratory therapy! Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment, 11th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to treating patients with cardiopulmonary dysfunction. Using a how-to approach, this text helps you learn to identify and select equipment, understand its operation, and apply your knowledge to clinical practice. It also discusses assessment, testing, protocols, and troubleshooting of the devices used in airway management. Written by noted educator J. M. Cairo and a team of expert contributors, this leading text provides the skills that will help you breathe easier as you prepare for NBRC examinations. Unique! Clinical approach provides a "how to" approach to identifying equipment, understanding how it works, and applying the information in clinical practice. Unique! Organization of ventilators by application area and manufacturer makes it easier to learn, review, and locate ventilator information. Unique! Infection Control chapter reviews microbiology and infection control, a topic that RTs must understand to prevent healthcare-associated infections, and discusses infection control in mass casualty situations. Unique! Clinical Scenario boxes address problems that may be encountered during actual use of equipment and raise clinically relevant questions, with suggested answers on the Evolve companion website. Learning features include chapter outlines, learning objectives, key terms, chapter introductions, and bulleted key point summaries to identify and reinforce the most important material in each chapter. Chapter review questions at the end of every chapter reinforce your comprehension, using NBRC-style multiple-choice or critical-thinking questions to match the types of questions covered on the NBRC exams. Unique! Historical Notes boxes highlight clinically relevant and valuable historical information on respiratory care equipment. Excerpts of Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs), statements of care developed by the AARC, provide important information regarding indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, assessment of outcome, and monitoring. Glossary of key terms is listed in the back of the book for quick reference. NEW! Updated clinical scenarios are added throughout the text, which incorporate clinical practice guidelines (AARC, AECC, CCM) and reflect NBRC exam outlines. NEW! Updated end-of-chapter questions include additional clinical data, which also incorporate clinical practice guidelines (AARC, AECC, CCM) and reflect NBRC exam outlines. NEW! Coverage of infant and pediatric ventilators is now included in the Mechanical Ventilators: General Use Devices chapter. NEW! Updated Transport, Home Care, and Noninvasive Devices chapter includes the use of mechanical ventilators in alternative sites, e.g., air transport and long-term acute care (LTAC) facilities.

This book covers all topics related to anesthetic and perioperative management, critical care and pain in cancer patients. The chapters of the book describe the principles and practices of onco-anesthesia, onco-critical care and cancer pain in great details. Cancer surgeries (onco-surgeries) are organ specific now with each surgery having its own set of anesthetic requirements and challenges. The perioperative management of these different organ-specific surgeries have been discussed based on recent evidence. The chapters have been written by experts from different cancer centers of India. Various courses like DM Onco-anesthesia and fellowship in onco-anesthesia are running in different institutes. FNB in Onco-anesthesia has been recognised this year. This book will help all those students pursuing these courses both as textbook and as reference book. This book will also be very helpful for MD/DNB students for their examination purpose as a good number of topics in their syllabus are on perioperative management of cancer patients. Moreover, anesthesiologists, who are practicing anesthesia in cancer patients, will also be benefited from this book.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the anesthetic management challenges of the obstetric patient with this complete primer and review Obstetric Anesthesia is a clear, concise, and practical manual covering the basics of obstetric anesthesiology and the principles of basic management at the point of care. This essential introductory text covers the fundamental topics in an efficient and highly clinical manner. Numerous tables, bulleted lists, and text boxes highlight key issues such as common co-existing diseases and conditions that may affect anesthetic management. Obstetric Anesthesia features thirty chapters grouped into six logical sections: Pregnancy Providing Anesthesia Anesthetic Complications Obstetric Complications Common Co-Morbidities During Pregnancy Trauma During Pregnancy Enriched by contributions from practicing obstetrical anesthesiologists and renowned instructors, Obstetric Anesthesia includes the most up-to-date practice guidelines. It is a valuable clinical refresher and an outstanding board review.

This book reviews and describes the best practices of anesthesia in thoracic surgery, according to evidence-based medicine. It covers preoperative assessment, applied pharmacology, airway management and ventilation methods. The analgesic methods in this surgical specialty are also discussed. This book is aimed at all specialists in the world of anesthesiology and critical care as well as to physicians in training. It may also be of interest to thoracic surgeons and pulmonologists.