Skip to Main Content
Medical Databases
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence based information, whenever and wherever you need it.
BMJ Case Reports This link opens in a new window BMJ Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals from BMJ publish high quality, high impact journals serving the medical and scientific communities, publishing across the general medical specialties, with top ranked journals, and more niche publications that cater for specialist communities.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. We drive better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it.
Clinical Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
The Clinical Sports Medicine collection comprises the world-leading Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine, the essential authoritative foundation for clinicians and students.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Free Medical Journals This link opens in a new window
The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet.
Journals@Ovid Full Text This link opens in a new window
The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. 1950-current.
Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures, the world’s most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central® This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
University of Pretoria WorldCat Local This link opens in a new window
University of Pretoria Libraries is dedicated to offering you access to the widest possible range of resources. You are now able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate® includes access to over 10,000 topics in over 22 specialties.
This link opens in a new window