Articulatory and phonological impairments : a clinical focus by 
Children's Speech Sound Disorders by
SECOND EDITION Children's Speech Sound Disorders Speaking directly to experienced and novice clinicians, educators and students in speech-language pathology/speech and language therapy via an informative essay-based approach, Children's Speech Sound Disorders provides concise, easy-to-understand explanations of key aspects of the classification, assessment, diagnosis and treatment of articulation disorders, phonological disorders and childhood apraxia of speech. It also includes a range of searching questions to international experts on their work in the child speech field. This new edition of Children's Speech Sound Disorders is meticulously updated and expanded. It includes new material on Apps, assessing and treating two-year-olds, children acquiring languages other than English and working with multilingual children, communities of practice in communication sciences and disorders, distinguishing delay from disorder, linguistic sciences, counselling and managing difficult behaviour, and the neural underpinnings of and new approaches to treating CAS. This bestselling guide includes: Case vignettes and real-world examples to place topics in context Expert essays by sixty distinguished contributors A companion website for instructors at www.wiley.com/go/bowen/ speechlanguagetherapy and a range of supporting materials on the author's own site at speech-language-therapy.com Drawing on a range of theoretical, research and clinical perspectives and emphasising quality client care and evidence-based practice, Children's Speech Sound Disorders is a comprehensive collection of clinical nuggets, hands-on strategies, and inspiration.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition by
The thoroughly revised Sixth Edition of the best-selling Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology remains an ideal textbook for clinical methods courses in speech-language pathology, as well as for students entering their clinical practicum or preparing for certification and licensure. It is also a beloved go-to resource for practicing clinicians who need a thorough guide to effective intervention approaches/strategies. This detailed, evidence-based book includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, information on reporting techniques, and patient profiles across a wide range of child and adult client populations. The text is divided into two sections. The first part is focused on preparing for effective intervention, and the second part, the bulk of the book, is devoted to therapy strategies for specific disorders. Each of these chapters features a brief description of the disorder, case examples, specific suggestions for the selection of therapy targets, and sample therapy activities. Each chapter concludes with a set of helpful hints on intervention and a selected list of available therapy materials and resources. New to the Sixth Edition This new edition includes updated citations and references throughout as well as current information on treatment efficacy in all disorder chapters to reflect recent developments in the field. In addition, the authors have added the following: A new chapter on Contemporary Issues including critical thinking, telepractice, simulation technologies, and coding and reimbursement New tables on skill development in gesture, feeding, and vision New information on therapist effects/therapeutic alliance Coverage of emerging techniques for voice disorders and transgender clients Expanded information on:​​​​​​ Childhood Apraxia of Speech Cochlear Implants Cultural and Linguistic Diversity Interprofessional Practice Shared Book-Reading Traumatic Brain Injury Treatment Dosage/Intensity Vocabulary Development Key Features Bolded key terms with an end-of-book glossary A multitude of case examples, reference tables, charts, figures, and reproducible forms Lists of Additional Resources in each chapter
Articulation and Phonological Disorders: Speech Sound Disorders in Children by
For courses in Speech Sound Disorders (i.e., Articulation and Phonological Disorders). Long renowned for providing the most up-to-date, extensive coverage of the clinical literature in the area of speech sound disorders available, this leading resource has earned its status as a classic in the field and its rightful place on every speech, language, and hearing clinician's bookshelf. Readers get an introduction to the normal aspects of speech sound articulation, normal speech sound acquisition, classification and factors related to the presence of speech sound disorders, the assessment and remediation of speech sound disorders, and phonology as it relates to language and dialectal variations. Rather than prescribing a single approach to speech sound disorders, the authors present a range of perspectives on the nature, assessment and treatment of these disorders. The book is primarily concerned with those disorders not etiologically associated with known or obvious sensory, structural or neuromotor deficits. Among the changes and updates to the 8th Edition are an expanded focus on evidence-based practice, the reorganisation of several chapters, and an updated discussion of childhood apraxia of speech.
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access
Persisting Speech Difficulties in Children by
This is the third book in the series "Children's Speech and Literacy Difficulties" and is based on research and practice with school-age children with persisting speech and associated difficulties. It focuses on the psycholinguistic nature of their difficulties, how to design intervention programmes, and how intervention outcomes might be measured. It will serve as a practical handbook and will contain usefuls word lists, tips and photocopiable sheets in the appendix. Each chapter will summarise recent research findings and close with a bulleted summary of the main points in the chapter. Provides an explanation of the psycholinguistic approach and how to implement it, and integrate it with other approaches. Includes case studies
Evaluation and Management of Cleft Lip and Palate by 
Treatment of Facial Cleft Deformities by
"Serving as a text and reference guide, the information in this book will be beneficial to surgery team members, general practitioners, parents, and instructors - as well as students." "Text with illustration covers the sequence of treatments in modules, starting at birth and ending in adolescence or adulthood; shows various surgical procedures; and includes a comprehensive therapy protocol. Also covered are the multidisciplinary team approach; surgical, orthodontic, prosthodontic, and speech-language treatments; exceptional cleft deformities; and reconstructive procedures for the compromised adolescent and adult." "Each chapter has its own bibliography, and the entire book is indexed for handy reference."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Cleft palate and craniofacial anomalies : effects on speech and resonance by 
Oral Motor Assessment and Treatment by
In recent years there has been a great surge of interest in the area of oral motor assessment and treatment. It almost seems as if an "oral motor explosion" has occurred, and the speech-language pathologists is left wondering Where do I begin? Where can I find appropriate and adequate training in this area? What tools and materials should I buy? What techniques should I use? This book will answer all these questions and many more. Chapters include: Anatomical and Neurological Bases, Physiological Considerations, Key Issues and Treatment Considerations, Birth to 2-year Period Assessment and Treatment, 2- to 4-year Period Assessment and Treatment, 4- to 6-year Period Assessment and Treatment, 6- to 12-year Period Assessment and Treatment, Adolescent and Adult Assessment and Treatment. Report Writing, and Resources and Product Sources. For practicing clinicians in assessment and treatment of oral motor concerns in clients of all ages with a variety of disorders.
Cleft Palate Speech Management by 
The Cleft Palate Story by
When a child is born with a cleft lip and/or palate, parents are often left with unanswered questions and a lack of information as to what to do and when to do it. The Cleft Palate Story is a unique and comprehensive book that provides parents with the answers to those questions and helps them to understand and successfully manage the problems associated with their child’s cleft. Dr. Samuel Berkowitz has designed The Cleft Palate Story to serve as a “go to” reference for parents of children with clefts as well as a primer for oral and plastic surgeons, orthodontics, speech- language pathologists, audiologists, social workers, geneticists and nurses looking to enhance their understanding. Inside The Cleft Palate Story the different types of clefts, the causes of clefting, and the treatment options are examined. A clear and positive format is used to help parents reduce their anxiety over the unknown but treatable consequences of cleft lip/palate treatment and to prepare them for the examinations, medical and dental procedures, and hospital admissions. The Cleft Palate Story also explains the various methods used in clinical management, including surgery, orthodontics, and speech and hearing rehabilitative techniques. Additionally, this generously illustrated book includes an impressive appendix of valuable resources including information on insurance, finding support groups, and cleft-related publications and videos available on the market. Combined with the assistance of parent support groups and trained professionals, The Cleft Palate Story prepares parents for the challenges they will face, to understand the treatment plan developed by the cleft palate team, and details how this condition can be managed to have a successful outcome.
The Clinician's Guide to Treating Cleft Palate Speech - E-Book by
Get quick access to the most up-to-date information on cleft palate speech therapy with The Clinician's Guide to Treating Cleft Palate Speech, 2nd Edition. This textbook features an easy-to-use format -- including many bulleted lists, tables, and illustrations -- to give you instant access to the answers you need surrounding the effects of clefts and non-cleft velopharyngeal inadequacy (VPI) on communication development in children. Updated information includes new content on interprofessional team decision-making, along with the diagnosis and management of the resulting disorders. Brief summaries cover the effects of clefts and non-cleft velopharyngeal inadequacy on communication development in children. Quick-reference format includes bulleted lists, tables, and boxes for easy access to key information needed in day-to-day practice. Special tips boxes feature hints and additional clinical information from the authors, and other recognized experts in the field of cleft palate management. NEW! Additional video clips demonstrate a broad range of speech disorders in children, examples of instrumental and noninstrumental assessment approaches, and effective therapy techniques. NEW! Content on interprofessional team decision making reflects an important expanding movement in healthcare nationally and internationally, and will be threaded throughout the guide to ensure users understand the ethics, compentencies, and skills required to practice in an interdisciplinary setting.
Communicative Disorders Related to Cleft Lip and Palate by 
Practical Intervention for Cleft Palate Speech by
A Speechmark core resource, this photocopiable manual provides practical ideas and material for speech and language therapists to use with clients whose speech difficulties arise from cleft palate and/or velopharyngeal disorders. This book enables therapists in the community to feel confident in dealing with the specific problems that cleft palate speech can bring, even if they have no experience of working with this client group. The therapy ideas can be used flexibly and are designed to cover all age-groups: pre-school, school-age and adult. The suggestions presented in this book help to determine the best approach for each client.
Therapy Techniques for Cleft Palate Speech and Related Disorders by
Clinicains need a hands-on clinical manual that gives proven techniques for managing the speech and voice disorders that result from this congenital condition. Therapy Techniques for Cleft Palate Speech and Related disorders gets straight to the point by identifying compensatory articulation patterns and providing step-by-step guidelines for their prevention and elimination. Communication Disorders / Medical
Articles
