Clinical Decision Making in Fluency Disorders, Fourth Edition
Here's How to Do Stuttering Therapy
Survey research reveals that SLPs feel poorly prepared to treat children and adults who stutter. This book serves as a practical guide to provide stuttering therapy, based upon a well-articulated philosophy of the disorder.
The Nature and Treatment of Stuttering by
This contributed book covers the epidemiology, characteristics, etiological accounts, and treatment of stuttering. It provides thorough, scholarly reviews of what is known about stuttering and its clinical management. It is comprehensive, current, and authoritative in its coverage with contributions from recognized experts in the field. The two treatment sections now include chapters on cluttering, on instrumental assessment and management, on measuring speech naturalness, and on stutterers' self-measurement. Intended to be both a reference for professionals and a text for students in graduate research and clinical training programs.
Stuttering by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! This updated edition of the most comprehensive, pedagogically sound textbook in the field provides an overview of stuttering's etiology and development, details the latest approaches to accurate assessment and treatment, and provides new case studies and online videos that illustrate different levels and ways of treating stuttering. Exploring a variety of practice settings, the book covers evidence-based practice, counseling, IEPs, and assistive devices and has been thoroughly updated to address all current methodologies. NEW! The latest findings in genetics, epigenetics, brain imaging, sensory-motor control, language, and emotion provides students with an up-to-date view of stuttering. NEW CHAPTER! A new chapter on Learning explains how stuttering develops, covers the key elements of treatment at different ages, and details the effects of classical, operant, and avoidance conditioning. NEW! The author's theoretical perspective is expanded and connected to rationales for treatment. NEW! Expanded coverage includes multicultural considerations in assessment and the latest treatment procedures for working with school-age, adolescent, and adult clients. NEW! Additional online videos of children and adults illustrate evaluation and treatment procedures. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Stuttering Intervention by
Stuttering Intervention: A Collaborative Journey to Fluency Freedom - Second Edition reflects the most current thinking across multiple disciplines relative to the assessment and treatment of people of all ages who stutter. This second edition represents a major enhancement to an already outstanding text; it also incorporates many new topics that are critical for a deep understanding of the stuttering disorder including new and emerging treatment strategies, evidence-based practice and the evaluation of treatment outcomes, the value of self-help and mutual aid, clinical training and specialization, global perspectives on the nature and treatment of stuttering, and more. Readers familiar with the first edition will recognize the same easy-to-follow writing style and will welcome the completely updated treatment of many topics. These include the necessary background about fluent and disfluent speech, clear explanations of the factors that affect development and maintenance of the disorder, concrete strategies for evaluating and treating stuttering across the life span (from preschool children through senior adults), a strong theoretical background that helps clinicians conceptualize the disorder, a comprehensive and integrated perspective on the effect stuttering can have on peoples lives, meaningful links to other disciplines that can support and enhance interactions with clients, direct suggestions about how clinicians can develop their skills, and thoughtful guidance about how to cultivate a genuine sense of empathy for people who stutter and their families. This text provides students and experienced clinicians alike with historical perspectives, theoretical underpinnings, balanced and respectful interpretations of the literature, real-world experiences with tested treatment strategies, personal opinions and perspectives of the author and his clients, and numerous examples of practical application. By increasing knowledge, empathy
Language Disorders by
Taking a functional approach, Language Disorders, 6/e focuses on children's language problems from a holistic perspective. Unlike other language disorders books, it moves logically from assessment through intervention emphasizing universal techniques that work for all delays and disorders. With over 1200 new references, it provides a strong theoretical background and emphasizes evidence-based practices. This edition includes a new chapter on early communication intervention, more on language analysis, coverage of Specific Language Impairment, and more on augmentative and alternative communication.
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence by
The new edition of this popular text provides essential guidance for properly assessing childhood language disorders and providing appropriate treatment. Coverage includes the entire developmental period through adolescence, as well as additional concepts related to child language disorders such as prevention, syndromes associated with language disorders, and multicultural practice. Using a descriptive-developmental approach (also known as communication-language approach), this resource presents basic concepts and vocabulary used in the field, an overview of key issues and controversies, an understanding of the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. Provides detailed information on how to implement assessment and intervention procedures in clinical practice. Features such as case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects help readers apply key information to real-life situations. A straightforward writing style makes this book easy to read and understand. More than 250 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow readers to practice different methods of analysis. Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help readers review and apply what they have learned. Communication development milestones are printed on the inside front cover for quick access. Completely updated content includes new research, new techniques, current trends, and new information sources. Features an increased emphasis on evidence-based practice. Chapter objectives have been added to each chapter. Includes additional case studies and vignettes that illustrate practical applications of key concepts. A companion CD-ROM bound in the text offers video clips and suggested projects for each chapter. A detailed list of tables, boxes, and illustrations - with corresponding page numbers - is located at the front of the book for quick reference.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition by
The thoroughly revised Sixth Edition of the best-selling Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology remains an ideal textbook for clinical methods courses in speech-language pathology, as well as for students entering their clinical practicum or preparing for certification and licensure. It is also a beloved go-to resource for practicing clinicians who need a thorough guide to effective intervention approaches/strategies. This detailed, evidence-based book includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, information on reporting techniques, and patient profiles across a wide range of child and adult client populations. The text is divided into two sections. The first part is focused on preparing for effective intervention, and the second part, the bulk of the book, is devoted to therapy strategies for specific disorders. Each of these chapters features a brief description of the disorder, case examples, specific suggestions for the selection of therapy targets, and sample therapy activities. Each chapter concludes with a set of helpful hints on intervention and a selected list of available therapy materials and resources. New to the Sixth Edition This new edition includes updated citations and references throughout as well as current information on treatment efficacy in all disorder chapters to reflect recent developments in the field. In addition, the authors have added the following: A new chapter on Contemporary Issues including critical thinking, telepractice, simulation technologies, and coding and reimbursement New tables on skill development in gesture, feeding, and vision New information on therapist effects/therapeutic alliance Coverage of emerging techniques for voice disorders and transgender clients Expanded information on:​​​​​​ Childhood Apraxia of Speech Cochlear Implants Cultural and Linguistic Diversity Interprofessional Practice Shared Book-Reading Traumatic Brain Injury Treatment Dosage/Intensity Vocabulary Development Key Features Bolded key terms with an end-of-book glossary A multitude of case examples, reference tables, charts, figures, and reproducible forms Lists of Additional Resources in each chapter
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access