Cerebral Palsy Resource Guide for Speech-Language Pathologists by
A new title in the Resource Guide Series, this text is a practical tool providing speech-language pathologists working in schools, clinics, or medical settings with information regarding the assessment and treatment of communication and feeding/swallowing disorders in children and adults with cerebral palsy. In addition to a cutting edge review of cerebral palsy, this resource provides assessment and treatment resources and tools that the clinician can use directly with clients. Case studies round out the book, providing users with excellent models of assessment and treatment in action with this special population.
Disabled Village Children by
Disabled Village Children is for those concerned with the well being of disabled children living in rural or poor areas. The book contains a wealth of information crucial for therapists, professionals and community groups facing a variety of common childhood disabilities including polio, cerebral palsy, juvenile arthritis, blindness and deafness. The book provides clear, detailed information and easy-to-implement ideas for rehabilitation at the village level, development of skills, making low-cost aids and the prevention of disabilities.
Handling the young cerebral palsied child at home by 
Nothing about Us Without Us by
James Charlton has produced a ringing indictment of disability oppression, which, he says, is rooted in degradation, dependency, and powerlessness and is experienced in some form by five hundred million persons throughout the world who have physical, sensory, cognitive, or developmental disabilities. Nothing About Us Without Us is the first book in the literature on disability to provide a theoretical overview of disability oppression that shows its similarities to, and differences from, racism, sexism, and colonialism. Charlton's analysis is illuminated by interviews he conducted over a ten-year period with disability rights activists throughout the Third World, Europe, and the United States. Charlton finds an antidote for dependency and powerlessness in the resistance to disability oppression that is emerging worldwide. His interviews contain striking stories of self-reliance and empowerment evoking the new consciousness of disability rights activists. As a latecomer among the world's liberation movements, the disability rights movement will gain visibility and momentum from Charlton's elucidation of its history and its political philosophy of self-determination, which is captured in the title of his book. Nothing About Us Without Us expresses the conviction of people with disabilities that they know what is best for them. Charlton's combination of personal involvement and theoretical awareness assures greater understanding of the disability rights movement.
Clinical Voice Pathology by
NOW IN FULL COLOR! More than any previous edition, this new book includes major changes to benefit both the student and the instructor! A classic work, now in its sixth edition, Clinical Voice Pathology: Theory and Management is a compilation of the authors' vast clinical and research experiences and addresses a considerable range of voice disorders in various populations and from various etiologies including medical, environmental, social, psychological, occupational, and idiopathic threats to vocal health. The text continues to be organized for the graduate speech-language pathology student and instructor, building the foundational knowledge necessary to evaluate and treat voice disorders including history and common causes of voice disorders, anatomy and physiology of voice production, pathologies of the vocal mechanism, and an extensive array of evaluation and management approaches. In addition, the text continues to provide background in caring for the professional voice and those patients presenting with head and neck cancers. New to the Sixth Edition A new chapter introducing the SLP's responsibilities with trach and vent patients Updated references throughout the text to reflect the current state of clinical research in evaluation and treatment of voice disorders Expanded voice therapy chapter including new evidence-based management approaches Use of 'Call Out' boxes throughout the text to highlight cases, encourage additional thought, and suggest additional readings Full color throughout the text including new figures and artwork to enhance learning and understanding of the material A PluralPlus companion website with additional content including videos of laryngeal pathologies and instructional PowerPoint lectures. Whether a typical voice user, occupational voice user, elite vocal performer, head and neck cancer patient, or an individual who has lost the ability to communicate competently and confidently due to a detrimental voice change, each patient presents a unique diagnostic dilemma: how best to return the voice to its optimal condition? This text thoroughly prepares the speech-language pathology student to answer this question through a systematic development of the knowledge base necessary to evaluate and manage voice disorders. With numerous full-color images, multiple case examples, and a companion website of additional instructional material, Clinical Voice Pathology: Theory and Management, Sixth Edition, not only maintains but significantly improves on the standards set by its previous editions as the primary text for a graduate level course in clinical voice disorders.
Source for Voice Disorders Adolescent and Adult by
This high-quality resource provides the experienced or new clinician with evaluative tools, treatment ideas, and therapy tasks to help clients improve in voice therapy. Benefits Includes evaluative tools and therapy tasks for patients with functional and/or medical voice disorders Organized to provide easy reference of a diagnosis with etiology, physiology, and corresponding recommendations for treatment Overview of anatomy and physiology of voice production for easy and quick review Suggestions given for evaluation techniques and ways to develop appropriate goals and treatment plans Descriptions, diagnostically useful information, and treatment suggestions provided for 23 voice disorders: 6 functional 2 neurological 15 organic Treatment approaches, tasks, and stimulus items target: 3 areas of vocal hygiene 15 therapy theories and approaches 3 sections of therapy tasks for respiration, phonation, and resonance Includes suggestions for the target, goal, and cueing strategies/instructions for the following activities: 13 physical exercises and techniques 10 respiration exercises 11 phonation exercises 12 resonance exercises and techniques 5 carryover ideas Learn the medical, surgical, and therapeutic information you need to assess and treat patients with various types of laryngeal cancer Features reproducible exercises, teacher recommendations, suggestions, and example treatment plans glossary, resources, and references There are many current texts in the area of evaluation and treatment of voice, but few provide treatment ideas and stimulus tasks. The Source for Voice Disorders was designed to assist you with both the evaluative tools and therapy tasks to provide the best service possible to your patients.
Understanding Voice Problems by
Understanding Voice Problems: A Physiological Perspective for Diagnosis and Treatment emphasizes the physiological perspective of voice disorders--and the behavioral and emotional factors that can influence these changes. Readers will find a strong foundation in normal phonatory physiology and acoustics as well as pathophysiology arising from voice misuse, abuse, or neurological involvement. Coverage includes in-depth explorations of patient interviewing, history-taking, examination, and testing and discussions of pediatric and geriatric voice considerations. The book contains numerous illustrations, including full-color plates of vocal fold pathologies. A companion website features nearly 30 video clips that demonstrate healthy, normally functioning larynges at work, plus larynges with various pathological problems.
The Voice and Voice Therapy by
The Voice and Voice Therapy incorporates the most current scientific evidence from a variety of disciplines that supports the behavioral approaches to voice assessment and intervention. Well-written, with meaningful applications and helpful pedagogy, the book is accessible and relevant to students, instructors, and clinicians. The 10th Edition includes nearly 500 new references representing advances in the field; updated topics and discussions; and new and improved pedagogical elements to ensure that students, instructors, and clinicians have the most current voice and voice-related disorders resource available.
Voice Disorders by
A detailed look at voice disorders that brings the knowledge of speech-language pathologists and medical professionals together for a fuller picture of causes, evaluation, and treatment. This book integrates a comprehensive and in-depth discussion of the anatomy, physiology, and neurology of specific voice disorders including causes, symptoms, evaluation, and treatment approaches. Discussion of multicultural perspectives, evidence based practice, quality of life, and the WHO International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health provides readers with a current framework for clinical management. All-inclusive, current, and user-friendly, this first edition text provides a solid foundation for both normal structure and function of the respiratory and laryngeal systems as well as details on specific voice disorders and best practices for clinical management.
