Assessment of Motor Speech Disorders
Assessment of Motor Speech Disorders brings together researchers from different fields to present a current summary of assessment and evaluation techniques for disordered speech, in both a clinical focus and research purpose. This unique resource reviews research evidence pertaining to best practice in the assessment of established areas such as intelligibility and physiological functioning, as well as introducing recently developed topics such as conversational analysis, impact, and telehealth. In addition to research practice, new methods established in the areas of phonetics, phonology, imaging, and neural modeling are reviewed in relation to their applicability and value for the study of disordered speech.
Motor Speech Disorders by
With expanded and updated information including current techniques, approaches, and case studies, the 2nd edition of this bestselling book continues its reputation as a dependable and outstanding evidence-based source on acquired motor speech disorders in adults. It covers the substrates of motor speech and its disorders, the disorders and their diagnoses, and management -- focusing on integrating what is known about the bases of motor speech disorders with the realities of clinical practice to ensure readers have the key content they need to be effective practitioners. Evidence-based practice focus with relevant research evidence and data from the Mayo Clinic speech pathology practice Includes the clinical characteristics of the primary motor speech disorders as well as general guidelines for differential diagnosis Offers authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of motor speech disorders by a highly respected expert in the field of motor speech disorders 73 case studies demonstrate concepts as they apply to real-world practice Over 100 table and boxes highlight important information Chapters include new research and theories, new techniques, current trends, and updated and new information sources 22 new illustrations showcase the latest technology in the field Fresh, new book design highlights case studies, boxed text, and tables - making it easier to find key information Nine new case studies reflect the realities of clinical practice today
Clinical Management of Sensorimotor Speech Disorders by
The definitive reference for managing sensorimotor speech disorders Bringing together the expertise of leading research practitioners in the field, the second edition of Clinical Management of Sensorimotor Speech Disorders is an up-to-date reference for the underlying theory and the basic principles of assessment and treatment. This book provides a solid foundation in the conceptual framework essential for classifying and differentiating disorders according to clinical categories. It covers the theory underlying measurement strategies including acoustic, kinematic, aerodynamic, and electromyographic techniques, and guides the reader through treatments for each disorder. New in this edition is a comprehensive section with in-depth coverage of the diseases, syndromes, and pathologic conditions which are accompanied by sensorimotor speech disorders. These chapters provide concise descriptions of the disease and its signs and symptoms, neuropathology, epidemiology, and etiology. Each chapter goes on to present the speech impairment associated with the disorder and its signs and symptoms, etiology, neuropathology, associated cognitive, linguistic, and communicative signs and symptoms, special diagnostic considerations, treatment, and key references. Features: Clear articulation of theoretical issues provides a strong foundation for the clinical management of the dysarthrias, apraxia, and speech problems secondary to hearing loss New chapter on neurogenic fluency disorders Extensive discussion of neuropathologic conditions that cause sensorimotor speech disorders Authoritative and comprehensive, this expanded edition will prove to be the reference of choice for students in speech-language pathology programs as well as clinicians and researchers.
Articles
The Voice and Voice Therapy by
The Voice and Voice Therapy incorporates the most current scientific evidence from a variety of disciplines that supports the behavioral approaches to voice assessment and intervention. Well-written, with meaningful applications and helpful pedagogy, the book is accessible and relevant to students, instructors, and clinicians. The 10th Edition includes nearly 500 new references representing advances in the field; updated topics and discussions; and new and improved pedagogical elements to ensure that students, instructors, and clinicians have the most current voice and voice-related disorders resource available.
Voice Disorders by
A detailed look at voice disorders that brings the knowledge of speech-language pathologists and medical professionals together for a fuller picture of causes, evaluation, and treatment. This book integrates a comprehensive and in-depth discussion of the anatomy, physiology, and neurology of specific voice disorders including causes, symptoms, evaluation, and treatment approaches. Discussion of multicultural perspectives, evidence based practice, quality of life, and the WHO International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health provides readers with a current framework for clinical management. All-inclusive, current, and user-friendly, this first edition text provides a solid foundation for both normal structure and function of the respiratory and laryngeal systems as well as details on specific voice disorders and best practices for clinical management.
Clinical Management of Swallowing Disorders, Fourth Edition
Dysphagia Assessment and Treatment Planning by
Dysphagia Assessment and Treatment Planning: A Team Approach, Fourth Edition is an ideal resource for dysphagia courses in speech-language pathology graduate programs. The unique value of this book is its multidisciplinary approach. Too often, speech-language pathologists function clinically with insufficient interaction with, or understanding of, the roles of other professionals involved with their patients. This text incorporates information pertinent to the roles, tools, and views of a multidisciplinary dysphagia team, including physicians, speech pathologists, nurse specialists, and dietitians, who work together on a daily basis. In this fourth edition, the organization has changed, with chapters concerned with assessment techniques coming first, and material addressing special populations comprising the latter portion of the text. This reflects what is likely a more typical approach to dysphagia in graduate courses concerned with the topic and one that complements teaching of the subject matter. Updates to the fourth edition include: The treatment chapter (Chapter 10) has been updated to reflect the current status of therapeutic approaches previously considered in treating dysphagic patients. Chapters dealing with nursing (Chapter 11) and nutrition (Chapter 12) have been updated to incorporate the latest recommendations in nursing care and dietary considerations for patients experiencing dysphagia. The pediatrics chapter (Chapter 13) has been expanded to address specific problems and needs not only of infants but also the entire spectrum of childhood. A chapter devoted to the esophagus (Chapter 14) addresses new information on the management of esophageal disorders, including the novel double-balloon dilation of the UES and a device for manually opening the upper esophagus. Chapters addressing special populations, including neurogenic disease (Chapter 15) and head and neck cancer (Chapter 16), incorporate the latest information regarding dysphagia and approaches to treatment pertinent to each group. A brand-new addition to the book is Chapter 18, which addresses dysphagia associated with alterations to the spine as a consequence of either disease or surgery.
The Essential Dysphagia Handbook by
The goal of this book is to fill a gap that currently exists between the theoretical learning that takes place in the university setting, and practical management of clients in the workplace. Dysphagia is becoming an increasingly large part of the work done by Speech Language Pathologists but seems to be very confronting for a lot of students and beginning clinicians. We wanted to provide a resource that helps to bridge the gaps between theoretical learning and hands-on practice and provide a resource that unpacks clinical reasoning and helps new clinicians think about how and why recommendations about managing clients with dysphagia are made. Dysphagia management is definitely no cookbook recipe field, and whilst this is part of its attraction, it can also cause sheer terror in new graduates. Let's use an analogy. Each patient is like a unique symphony. At university or college we are taught about one or two instruments in the symphony. In clinical practice it can feel like there is a cacophony of noise that we have to make sense of. We can feel overwhelmed by other sounds and it can feel like they are drowning out the one or two instruments that we have learned. With some help interpreting the other instruments that give that symphony its rich texture, we can start to relax and appreciate the individuality of each piece. We are practising clinicians who are also involved in research. This book reflects an evidence-based approach to management of clients with dysphagia, while providing tips that reflect our extensive experience in managing feeding and swallowing problems in adult and pediatric populations. We hope it will encourage new clinicians to learn to ask the questions that will assist them in individualizing assessment and treatment for their patients. It has been our experience that students learn about different aspects of dysphagia and its management in the university setting, then arrive for clinical practicum with no idea of how the pieces of the puzzle fit together: for example, WHY a facial nerve weakness will mean that the person with dysphagia is likely to struggle to drink without anterior spillage, or the need for strategies to manage drooling.This book uses a series of case studies to help demonstrate how the pieces of the puzzle fit together. Dysphagia requires you, the clinician, to multi-task your anatomy and physiology university knowledge with the individual needs of the person sitting in front of you. This type of task requires the ability to draw on multiple sources. This book is a companion that will show you strategies for how to apply that knowledge and how to listen to the patient's symphony so that you get a feel for the rich texture of dysphagia in practice. This book is different from other dysphagia textbooks in another significant way. We wanted to use visual maps to help you recognize the many facets you need to consider when working with a person with swallowing difficulties. This strategy uses metacognition to help you become lifelong learners. Many of us have a preference for visual learning and we aim to tap into this preference. We also wanted to make this a user-friendly book, so we've coded the different sections using symbols to help guide you to the bits you need quickly.In short, we wanted to write the book that WE wished we had when we started our journey learning about dysphagia! We hope that this will be a book that you reach for as a student and beginning clinician when you need information about managing a population. If this is a book that falls apart from constant use, we will have achieved what we set out to do.
Evaluation and Treatment of Swallowing Disorders by
Dr. Jeri Logemann's landmark work is a must-have for clinicians working with patients with dysphagia. Discover an in-depth, cohesive approach to the evaluation and treatment of swallowing disorders. Youll review normal swallowing physiology, techniques for screening and evaluation of oropharyngeal swallowing, and procedures for the treatment of dysphagia. The book covers a wide range of populations including those with neurologic disease, sudden-onset neurologic damage, and head and neck cancer.
Focusing on clinical problem solving, this book provides the necessary tools to manage adult patients with dysphagia and the knowledge to determine the best methods for assessment and treatment. Its an ideal resource on the topic of dysphagia, showing clear definitions of procedures for students and clinicians alike. This text is well organized, covering normal anatomy and physiology through assessment and treatment, as well as application to special populations. Use it to develop an efficient, effective approach to patient care in the area of dysphagia.
Children with Tracheostomies Resource Guide by
Children with Tracheostomies Resource Guide is the first text to focus exclusively on the speech and language assessment, intervention, and application of procedures for the care of children with tracheostomy. This comprehensive text assists the speech language pathologist in understanding the changing health and communication status of children with tracheostomy and suggests treatment approaches for both children with tracheostomy and those who are no longer tracheostomized but require on-going speech and language services. Written in straightforward language that clearly explains and defines difficult medical terminology while effectively integrating clinical and research information.
Pediatric Dysphagia Resource Guide by
It's here. This book finally condenses all current information on pediatric dysphagia into an easily accessible guide for SLP's working with children having swallowing disorders. In addition to management, etiology of disordered swallowing is emphasized. Neurodevelopment, oral-motor feeding skills, and anatomy/physiology of normal swallowing are detailed to reinforce clinical evaluation skills. All aspects of working in neonatal intensive care units/pediatric intensive care units (NICU/PICU) are covered.Communication Disorders / Nursing / Medicine
Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding by
Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding: Assessment and Management, Third Edition provides information to practitioners interested in and involved with children who demonstrate swallowing and feeding disorders. Since the 2002 publication of the second edition, there has been an exponential increase in the number of medically fragile and complex children with swallowing/feeding disorders. A corresponding proliferation in the related basic and clinical research has resulted in the increased appreciation of the complicated inter-relationships between structures and systems that contribute to swallowing/feeding development, function, and disorders. Case studies throughout the book provide examples for decision making and highlight salient points. New to the Third Edition: Maureen A. Lefton-Greif, PhD, CCC-SLP, BCS-S, is welcomed as co-editor. She brings extensive research expertise and clinical practice in pediatric dysphagia and feeding. All chapters contain significant updated evidence-based research and clinical information. New chapters focus on the genetic testing and conditions associated with swallowing and feeding disorders, and the pulmonary manifestations and management of aspiration. World Health Organization (WHO) description of an International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) sets the stage for an in-depth discussion of clinical feeding evaluation procedures, interpretation, and management decision making. Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding continues to be the leading text on pediatric dysphagia that provides practical information for clinicians seeing children with swallowing and feeding disorders. The overall importance of an appropriate fund of knowledge and shared experience employing team approaches is emphasized throughout this third edition as in the earlier editions of this book.
The Manual of Paediatric Feeding Practice by
This book provides practical and accessible assessment, therapy and management tools for children with feeding difficulties. Intended for use in clinics, the manual is problem led and pragmatic in its approach. It is organised in an efficient A-Z format so that required topics can be quickly and easily located. It provides photocopiable checklists and assessments to hand to parents, teachers and others working with the child.
Cerebral Palsy Resource Guide for Speech-Language Pathologists by
A new title in the Resource Guide Series, this text is a practical tool providing speech-language pathologists working in schools, clinics, or medical settings with information regarding the assessment and treatment of communication and feeding/swallowing disorders in children and adults with cerebral palsy. In addition to a cutting edge review of cerebral palsy, this resource provides assessment and treatment resources and tools that the clinician can use directly with clients. Case studies round out the book, providing users with excellent models of assessment and treatment in action with this special population.
Children with Disabilities, Seventh Edition by
Access the NEW ONLINE COMPANION MATERIALS now! Comprehensive, authoritative information from the most respected experts: For 30 years, that's what Children with Disabilities has given the thousands of students, faculty, and professionals who rely on it. Now this trusted text is in a NEW seventh edition, thoroughly updated with the very latest research, new instructor materials, and the critical issues professionals need to know as they prepare to work with children and families. Incorporating 5 years of significant research and progress in multiple disciplines, this highly anticipated new edition is the textbook of choice for courses on disability. The internationally respected editors bring together a who's who of contributors--of seasoned experts and fresh voices--definitive compendium of information about developmental, clinical, family, education, and intervention issues. WHAT'S NEW All-new chapters on diagnosis, neuropsychological assessment, "new" disabilities faced by survivors of previously fatal disorders, and complementary and alternative medicine New multimedia instructor materials online, including high-quality downloadable medical illustrations 30+ new contributors from diverse fields Expanded chapters on autism and ADHD New developments in neuroscience, genetics, and imaging Greater focus on interdisciplinary collaboration Considerations from drafts of the DSM-5 Thoroughly updated content in every chapter PowerPoint slides for each chapter, easy to customize for courses Children with Disabilities retains and strengthens the student-friendly features of previous editions: concise and accessible chapters, a helpful glossary, chapter overviews, case studies that bring key concepts to life, extensive cross-referencing to make information easy to find, and resource lists for every topic. And with the complete package of new multimedia instructor materials, instructors will use this textbook effectively in their courses and prepare students for years of successful practice. An unparalleled text from the leading voices in the disability field, Children with Disabilities is the cornerstone resource future professionals will keep year after year to support their important work with children and families.
Disabled Village Children by
Disabled Village Children is for those concerned with the well being of disabled children living in rural or poor areas. The book contains a wealth of information crucial for therapists, professionals and community groups facing a variety of common childhood disabilities including polio, cerebral palsy, juvenile arthritis, blindness and deafness. The book provides clear, detailed information and easy-to-implement ideas for rehabilitation at the village level, development of skills, making low-cost aids and the prevention of disabilities.
Handling the Young Child with Cerebral Palsy at Home by
Fundamental to the successful treatment of children with cerebral palsy is the cooperation of parents in home handling. The long-awaited new edition of this classic and popular text has been expanded and updated to include a wealth of new information for therapists, nurses, parents and carers.
Articles
