Acquired Language Disorders by
Acquired Language Disorders: A Case-Based Approach, Third Edition, is a practical, easy-to-follow, informative guide for students and clinicians. The authors present each case from an impairment-based perspective with practical applications for improving activities of daily living, as well as a socially interactive perspective to create a wholistic picture of each case. For people with aphasia, clinicians are encouraged to consider not only language but also executive functions, attention, memory, and visuospatial skills. This edition begins with a review of the basics of brain-behavior relationships and pertinent medical terminology for treating individuals who have a neurological impairment. Each disorder is then introduced in a case-based format that includes a case scenario with a photo, functional analysis of the patient, critical thinking/learning activities, a diagnostic profile, the new Target Assessment Snapshot, treatment considerations, and a Venn diagram of the A-FROM Model with patient goals for each case. Special features include "Test Your Knowledge" sections based on 10 patient scenarios along with an answer key, a Quick Reference Diagnostic Chart for ALDs, and a Functional Communication Connections worksheet for treatment planning purposes. New to the Third Edition The 15 clinical cases include new photos along with the Target Assessment Snapshot depicting level of severity for expression, comprehension, reading, and writing and areas of cognitive impairment. A new case includes a bilingual person with aphasia. All chapters have been updated with relevant research. An A-FROM model graphic for each patient's treatment goals is included. There is a new Assessment Summary Sheet to help the clinician with the development of a diagnostic profile. The chapter on assessment is updated and new assessments are added, including the Assessment of Living with Aphasia (ALA) and the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (R-BANS), the Progressive Aphasia Severity Scale (PASS), and more. Chapter 10 includes more than 25 treatment approaches and therapeutic programs. The chapter on assessment and service delivery for people with ALD includes discussions of the ICF and the A-FROM Model.
Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: a Guide for Clinical Excellence
Language Intervention Strategies in Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
This thoroughly revised and updated Fifth Edition is the most comprehensive resource on aphasia and related neurogenic communication disorders from the most distinguished authorities of our time. This classic text has been used by graduate speech language pathology students for over 25 years, and continues to be the definitive resource across the speech sciences for aphasia. The book describes a wide range of intervention strategies including team treatment, group therapy, approaches for bilingual and culturally diverse clients, augmentative and alternative communication, and computer-assisted interventions. An important section addresses psychosocial/functional approaches to intervention. New to this edition are Activities for Discussion that encourage students to reflect on what they just read.
An introduction to Luria's aphasiology theory and application by 
Right Hemisphere Damage by
Provides highly comprehensive and integrated review of right hemisphere communication disorders. Clearly explains tasks for diagnosis and treatment that are generously complemented by tables, appendixes, and figures. Includes excellent chapter summaries that offer readers a quick reference to the material being covered. Detailed chapter outlines enable readers to locate desired information in a timely manner. Provides researchers and clinicians with a well-organized, complete, and indispensable reference on right hemisphere damage.TEXTBOOK
Traumatic Brain Injury by
This comprehensive new book provides coverage of the motor speech, language and swallowing disorders associated with traumatic brain injury. TEXTBOOK
Stuttering by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! This updated edition of the most comprehensive, pedagogically sound textbook in the field provides an overview of stuttering's etiology and development, details the latest approaches to accurate assessment and treatment, and provides new case studies and online videos that illustrate different levels and ways of treating stuttering. Exploring a variety of practice settings, the book covers evidence-based practice, counseling, IEPs, and assistive devices and has been thoroughly updated to address all current methodologies. NEW! The latest findings in genetics, epigenetics, brain imaging, sensory-motor control, language, and emotion provides students with an up-to-date view of stuttering. NEW CHAPTER! A new chapter on Learning explains how stuttering develops, covers the key elements of treatment at different ages, and details the effects of classical, operant, and avoidance conditioning. NEW! The author's theoretical perspective is expanded and connected to rationales for treatment. NEW! Expanded coverage includes multicultural considerations in assessment and the latest treatment procedures for working with school-age, adolescent, and adult clients. NEW! Additional online videos of children and adults illustrate evaluation and treatment procedures. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Clinical Decision Making in Fluency Disorders, Fourth Edition
Stuttering Intervention by
Stuttering Intervention: A Collaborative Journey to Fluency Freedom - Second Edition reflects the most current thinking across multiple disciplines relative to the assessment and treatment of people of all ages who stutter. This second edition represents a major enhancement to an already outstanding text; it also incorporates many new topics that are critical for a deep understanding of the stuttering disorder including new and emerging treatment strategies, evidence-based practice and the evaluation of treatment outcomes, the value of self-help and mutual aid, clinical training and specialization, global perspectives on the nature and treatment of stuttering, and more. Readers familiar with the first edition will recognize the same easy-to-follow writing style and will welcome the completely updated treatment of many topics. These include the necessary background about fluent and disfluent speech, clear explanations of the factors that affect development and maintenance of the disorder, concrete strategies for evaluating and treating stuttering across the life span (from preschool children through senior adults), a strong theoretical background that helps clinicians conceptualize the disorder, a comprehensive and integrated perspective on the effect stuttering can have on peoples lives, meaningful links to other disciplines that can support and enhance interactions with clients, direct suggestions about how clinicians can develop their skills, and thoughtful guidance about how to cultivate a genuine sense of empathy for people who stutter and their families. This text provides students and experienced clinicians alike with historical perspectives, theoretical underpinnings, balanced and respectful interpretations of the literature, real-world experiences with tested treatment strategies, personal opinions and perspectives of the author and his clients, and numerous examples of practical application. By increasing knowledge, empathy
Stuttering by
A balanced, current, and comprehensive presentation of the science of stuttering. The first edition of Stuttering: Foundations and Clinical Applications contains the most comprehensive and complete presentation of the science and treatment of stuttering available in a single text. Authors Ehud Yairi and Carol H. Seery present a wealth of knowledge on how stuttering is defined, how stuttering is explained, and how stuttering is treated in one strategically organized and comprehensive volume. This inclusive and sweeping text offers students up-to-date clinical and scientific ideas communicated with the aide of multiple perspectives and engaging activities. Stuttering: Foundations and Clinical Applicationsis unique in its coverage of the stuttering population, its in-depth look at stuttering therapy at various ages, and its original approach that invites students to offer critical appraisals of differing theoretical viewpoints.
Working with People Who Stutter by
For courses in Communication Sciences and Disorders, Stuttering and Fluency. Working with People Who Stutter: A Lifespan Approach offers a comprehensive overview of the nature and treatment of stuttering across the lifespan. Written for clinicians, speech language pathologists, and students who want a balanced understanding about the complexities of stuttering, readers will learn about the characteristics and theoretical information about people who are afflicted by this condition. This fresh, new text provides information on each age group (preschool, school-age, adolescent, and adult) and is categorized according to the affective, behavioral, and cognitive components of the disorder. The process of assessment and diagnosis is facilitated by coverage of multiple methods and a useful diagnostic checklist. Treatment chapters include multiple examples of current approaches, as well as practical therapy examples focusing on the 'how-to' of fluency therapy. Providing an 'applied emphasis' to the treatment of stuttering, this new contribution to the field should increase the competency, confidence, and enjoyment of clinicians working with people who stutter.
Designed to assess and monitor stuttering severity in both children and adults, for clinical and research purposes.
Practical Intervention for Early Childhood Stammering by
Therapy for young children who stammer is now high priority, with growing research evidence supporting early intervention. This manual from the Michael Palin Centre for stammering Children (MPC)is a detailed, step-by-step guide intended to support general and specialist speech and language therapists in developing their confidence and skills in working with this age group. This manual is based on a strong theoretical framework which explains the factors contributing to the onset and development of stammering and describes recent research findings regarding the nature of stammering in this age group. It provides a comprehensive guide to the assessment process and helps to identify which children are likely to recover naturally and which are at risk of developing a persistent stammering problem. The therapy approach has been successfully tried and tested at the Michael Palin Centre, and the manual provides detailed descriptions of the therapy process.It also includes a supporting CD-Rom and photocopiable resources such as assessment and therapy forms and parents' handouts. The MPC approach is a combination of indirect therapy methods. The indirect therapy component is aimed at helping parents through the use of video feedback, to identify interaction strategies that support their child's fluency and enhance it in the home environment. In addition the approach addresses other concerns, for example, in relation to confidence building, dealing with sensitive children, and establishing clear structures and boundaries to enhance family relationships. For children at increased risk of persistence, this manual incorporates a direct therapy programme which involves teaching the child strategies for developing fluency. This manual disseminates the MPC's specialist therapy knowledge and research findings, and is an invaluable guide for all speech and language therapists and students working with stammering.
Manual of Stuttering Intervention by
"Therapy Manual for Stuttering" presents a comprehensive, eclectic approach to stuttering intervention beginning with a multifactorial model and clear guidelines for assessment of the problem. Easy to use outline format deals with stuttering therapy for children, adolescents, and adults. Offers an eclectic approach to assessment and treatment with decision-making guidelines for best practices. Outline format enhances understanding of content and its use in clinical settings.
The Nature and Treatment of Stuttering by
This contributed book covers the epidemiology, characteristics, etiological accounts, and treatment of stuttering. It provides thorough, scholarly reviews of what is known about stuttering and its clinical management. It is comprehensive, current, and authoritative in its coverage with contributions from recognized experts in the field. The two treatment sections now include chapters on cluttering, on instrumental assessment and management, on measuring speech naturalness, and on stutterers' self-measurement. Intended to be both a reference for professionals and a text for students in graduate research and clinical training programs.
