Rehabilitative Audiology by
Rehabilitative Audiology: Children and Adults balances theory with practical applications that demonstrate how rehabilitative principles work in the clinical setting. Completely revised, the Third Edition of this popular text offers a large number of tables, appendices, and illustrations making the material easier to learn and retain. The content is organized to highlight various areas of concern, and new advancements in cochlear implants and assistive devices are included to help your patients get the most out of the newest technologies.This text serves both the student and practitioner by providing a wealth of information for assessing and treating the hearing-impaired. Coverage includes special needs of children, early identification of hearing loss, assessment and intervention with pre-school and school-age children, and management of hearing problems in the educational setting. Older patients' problems are also included with valuable insights on rehabilitative assessment, hearing aid selection, and rehabilitation aspects for the aging population.
Aural Rehabilitation by
This perennial favorite once again emphasizes the importance of treati ng the whole person, not just the hearing impaired. Written for studen ts in aural rehabilitation courses, the fourth edition combines previo usly separated chapters with updates throughout for a more cohesive tr eatment of aural rehabilitation practices with children through older adults. New technology and treatment considerations are included to pr ovide students with a broad and forward-looking perspective on aural r ehabilitation. TEXTBOOK
Articles
Introduction to Audiology by
The leading text for the introduction to hearing and hearing disorders course required of all Speech Language Pathology and Audiology majors. Introduction to Audiology, Tenth Edition,provides in-depth coverage of the physics of sound, anatomy, and physiology of the auditory system; causes and treatment of hearing and balance disorders; and relevant diagnostic and therapeutic techniques. It emphasizes the proper evaluation of hearing disorders and the treatment avenues available for these disorders. The accompanying CD-ROM features a variety of video vignettes depicting clinical topics, a series of clinical case studies to examine students' abilities to synthesize diagnostic findings and develop cogent management recommendations, multiple format interactive exercises for students to evaluate their comprehension of information, printable clinical forms, and much more. HIGHLIGHTS OF THE TENTH EDITION: NEW"Evolving Case Studies"feature follows select disorders through diagnosis and recommended treatment paralleling students' mastery of key concepts. This new addition to the pedagogy will enhance students' understanding of comprehensive patient management from case history through discharge. NEW updated discussionsin the important areas ofamplificationandinfant hearing. NEWexpansion and clarification ofclinical masking procedures. NEWdiscussion of recent developments in themanagement of auditory processing disorders. NEW sectionon therole of the audiologist in vestibular management, as well asmore on audiologic counseling.
Modern Hearing Aids: Pre-Fitting Testing and Selection Considerations
Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation by
What students and clinicians need to know about the most recent advances in the changing state of audiology is presented in this accessible resource. Included is coverage of important contemporary issues such as professional practice documents, evidence based practice, multicultural issues, and advances in computer and web-based rehabilitation activities. Written by a renowned team of experts and highly regarded in the field, Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation, 6/e is a reader-friendly, well-organized, cohesive treatment based on a proven model, framed within the concepts of the World Health Organization.
Clinical Audiology by
The third edition of Clinical Audiology: An Introduction provides a comprehensive enhancement of all the introductory material available in previous editions of this stimulating textbook. Students can gain an understanding of the scope of the field of audiology and feel prepared to dive deeper into the subject as they progress through their courses. This essential book, now with even more exciting content and features, focuses on the clinical nature of audiology to familiarize students with the many challenging questions encountered by an audiologist. This textbook is intended primarily for beginning-level students in the fields of audiology and speech-language pathology. It is intended for the first major courses in audiology, whether it be at the undergraduate or graduate level. Whether your goal is to pursue a career as an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist, Clinical Audiology: An Introduction, Third Edition is the most comprehensive, accessible book available to provide you with the clinical understanding to advance in your chosen field. New to the Third Edition New coauthor: Virginia Ramachandran, MSW, AuD, PhD Two new chapters on implantable hearing technology and hearing assistive and connectivity technologies Updated descriptions of hearing disorders and their causes Expanded focus on diagnostic approach strategies Expanded audiological treatment section Updated hearing aid technology and verification approaches An introduction to vestibular system assessment Key Features Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter preview the concepts to be discussed. End of chapter discussion questions aid students in applying concepts. End of chapter summaries outline the key points from the chapter improve retention Margin notes provide key terms and definitions. Clinical notes describe particular techniques students might consider using Comprehensive glossary and index
Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation by
The best-selling textbook, Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Adults, Children, and Their Families, Fifth Edition, introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing and communication-based disorders. The text is separated into three sections for the most comprehensive coverage of each topic: Part 1 describes the components of an aural rehabilitation plan, Part 2 concerns adults and their family members, and Part 3 concerns children and their parents. Important topics throughout include patient-centered services, counseling, selection and fitting of listening devices, conversational fluency and communication strategies training, auditory training, speechreading, and language and speech acquisition. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganization of chapters from two to three sections, to streamline the presentation of the material Expanded presentation of research designs and principles of evidence-based practice State-of-the-science review of the most current research in auditory training and audiovisual speech perception Updated information and references to reflect emerging trends in speech and language therapy, along with practical examples of lessons Improved and expanded number of figures that illustrate and illuminate key concepts and ideas Key Features: Text is written by a nationally and internationally recognized expert in aural rehabilitation, who is an active researcher in the areas of auditory training, speechreading, and communication strategies, and who writes in an engaging and clear style Chapters begin with Chapter Outlines and end with Key Chapter Points and Terms and Concepts to Remember Numerous case studies, sidebars, and text boxes Bolded key terms in text with definitions in margins, and a comprehensive end-of-book glossary
Compression for Clinicians: a Compass for Hearing Aid Fittings, Third Edition
Compression for Clinicians: A Compass for Hearing Aid Fittings, Third Edition explains many developments that have taken place in the world of hearing aid compression, fitting methods, and real ear measurement. The text aims to make difficult concepts easier to understand and to explain in plain language many topics pertaining to compression. Directional microphones and digital features of noise reduction, feedback reduction, and expansion are also covered. The third edition recognizes two distinct clinical populations of sensorineural hearing loss: mild to moderate, on one hand, and more severe, on the other. These two clinical populations are well served by a corresponding pair of compression types: wide dynamic range compression and output limiting compression. Another double distinction held throughout the text is the two-part task for all hearing aids: providing gain and also increasing the signal-to-noise ratio. Gain is addressed by compression, while listening in noise is addressed by directional microphones and digital noise reduction. The Third Edition: Includes new chapters on common clinical encounters (Chapter 1), real ear measurement (Chapter 5), and adaptive dynamic range optimization (Chapter 10) Distinguishes between "sensory" and "neural" hearing loss and devotes a separate chapter to each of these types of sensorineural hearing loss Contains updated coverage of digital hearing aids, directional microphones, and digital noise reduction Retains a strong focus on the historical development of compression from yesterday's analog hearing aids to digital hearing aids of today Compression for Clinicians is intended for those studying to become hearing health care professionals, including audiologists and hearing instrument practitioners. It is also intended for practicing clinicians who simply want to refresh their knowledge base concerning hearing loss and hearing aids. Clinically relevant and very thorough, it provides a compass in the world of compression hearing aids.