Children with Hearing Loss by
A framework for the skills and knowledge necessary to help parents promote spoken language development through listening in to their young children who are deaf or hard of hearing. The book covers the most current information on hearing, listening, spoken language development and intervention for young children with hearing loss.
Introduction to Auditory Rehabilitation by
Introduction to Auditory Rehabilitation provides students with a solid foundation of essential auditory rehabilitation concepts, knowledge, and skills within the context of critical contemporary issues that successfully prepares future practitioners for service provision to diverse patient populations in the real world. While a "rubber hits the road" approach engages and immerses students in the real world of clinical practice and decision-making, a bevy of pedagological features including learning objectives, casebook reflections, learning activities, and review exercises to help readers to process and internalize the central issues, tools, and philosophies of the field. The first section of the textbook provides a contemporary context for learning including an introduction to auditory rehabilitation, the psychosocial aspects of hearing impairment, and discussions of professional and multicultural issues. A full chapter is devoted to evidence-based practice and provides tools for use in clinical decision-making. The second section focuses on technology with informative chapters on hearing aids, cochlear implants, and assistive hearing technology. The final section covers the effects of and treatments for hearing impairment across the lifespan using process-driven, patient- and family-centered philosophies.
Pediatric audiology casebook by
"Leverages real-life cases to foster in-depth understanding of pediatric audiology. Pediatric Audiology Casebook, Second Edition is fully updated with more than 60 new cases presented in four sections, covering all facets of the diagnosis and management of hearing disorders in children. Renowned experts Jane R. Madell, Carol Flexer and rising stars Jace Wolfe and Erin C. Schafer have compiled an impressive compendium of basic to complex diagnostic cases, covering the most salient topics in the field. The book effectively bridges the gap between content knowledge and clinical application, enabling readers to put acquired theory into active practice by engaging in problem-based learning. Key Features - All cases include key information for diagnosing and managing pediatric patients : clinical history, audiologic testing, evaluative reader questions, thought-provoking answers, definitive diagnosis, recommended treatment options, and final outcome - Expanded use of cochlear implants including implant performance issues - Overcoming challenges from family non-compliance and complicated mapping to professional collaboration and multidisciplinary assessments. Paired with the best-selling textbook Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management, Third Edition, this robust classroom duo is an essential resource for instructors and students alike. Acquire in-depth knowledge from the textbook, apply it to practical case studies, and achieve deeper understanding of the full spectrum of pediatric audiology"--Provided by publisher.
Enhancing Communication Skills of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children in the Mainstream by
With many children who are deaf or hard of hearing now integrated in mainstream classroom settings, speech-language pathologists and school-based clinicians are encountering this population in growing numbers. Enhancing Communication Skills of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children is designed to help clinicians who may have little or no experience with this population to understand its unique communication needs and develop clinical skills for working with them. This important new resource takes a holistic view of children who are deaf or hard of hearing and stresses the child as a communicator rather than focusing on the disorder itself. This book provides a useful framework for viewing and assessing children's communication abilities and goals at all stages of language development. It also includes specific assessment and treatment techniques to help develop and improve communication skills in order to maximize this populations' potential for learning.
Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation by
What students and clinicians need to know about the most recent advances in the changing state of audiology is presented in this accessible resource. Included is coverage of important contemporary issues such as professional practice documents, evidence based practice, multicultural issues, and advances in computer and web-based rehabilitation activities. Written by a renowned team of experts and highly regarded in the field, Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation, 6/e is a reader-friendly, well-organized, cohesive treatment based on a proven model, framed within the concepts of the World Health Organization.
General and Special Education Inclusion in an Age of Change by 
Pediatric Cochlear Implantation by 
Special Educational Needs by 
Auditory-Verbal Therapy: for Young Children with Hearing Loss and Their Families and the Practitioners Who Guide Them
Pediatric Audiology by
The definitive educational resource on the clinical management of hearing disorders in children Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management, Third Edition is fully updated with cutting edge topics reflecting the latest advances in the field. New chapters include hearing and vestibular issues in children, state-of-the-art testing methods for neonates, and longitudinal studies on cochlear implant technology. Renowned experts Jane R. Madell, Carol Flexer and rising stars Jace Wolfe and Erin C. Schafer provide meticulous discussion on all aspects of pediatric audiology--from underlying pathology and testing to medical, therapeutic, and surgical treatments. Pearls and best practices from a cadre of esteemed experts focus on achieving optimal patient outcomes. Key Features Thirty-seven chapters organized by four sections: Hearing Loss: Essential Information, Diagnosing Hearing Disorders in Infants and Children, Hearing Access Technologies for Infants and Children, and Educational and Clinical Management of Hearing Loss in Children Detailed clinical discussion of pediatric audiologic test protocols and the selection and management of technologies The neurophysiology of reading impairment -- from theory to management Closed caption videos provide hands-on guidance on clinical testing techniques This richly illustrated edition is essential reading for graduate students in audiology, a robust resource for professors and audiologists who teach and mentor these students, and a go-to field guide for practicing clinicians. Paired with Pediatric Audiology Casebook, this dynamic duo is a must-have reference for trainee and veteran audiologists alike. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition by 
Cochlear Implants by
Cochlear Implants: Audiologic Management and Considerations for Implantable Hearing Devices provides comprehensive coverage of the audiological principles and practices pertaining to cochlear implants and other implantable hearing technologies. This is the first and only book that is written specifically for audiologists and that exhaustively addresses the details involved with the assessment and management of cochlear implant technology. Additionally, this book provides a through overview of hybrid cochlear implants, implantable bone conduction hearing technology, middle ear implantable devices, and auditory brainstem implants. Key Features: Each chapter features an abundance of figures supporting the clinical practices and principles discussed in the text and enabling students and clinicians to more easily understand and apply the material to clinical practice. The information is evidence based and whenever possible is supported by up-to-date peer-reviewed research. Provides comprehensive coverage of complex information and sophisticated technology in a manner that is student-friendly and in an easily understandable narrative form. Concepts covered in the narrative text are presented clearly and then reinforced through additional learning aids including case studies and video examples. Full color design with numerous figures and illustrations. Cochlear Implants is the perfect choice for graduate-level courses covering implantable hearing technologies because the book provides a widespread yet intricate description of every implantable hearing technology available for clinical use today. This textbook is an invaluable resource and reference for both audiology graduate students and clinical audiologists who work with implantable hearing devices. Furthermore, this book supplements the evidence-based clinical information provided for a variety of implantable hearing devices with clinical videos demonstrating basic management procedures and practices.
