Law Dictionaries
1. Bell,WHS ; Milne, Alexande; Cooper, Clifford & Burne, Brian D (1951) Bell's South African legal dictionary.
Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 BELL
2. Bell, WHS (1925) South African legal dictionary Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 BELL
3. Claassen, CJ & Claassen, RD (1997) Dictionary of legal words and phrases Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 CLAASSEN
4. Hiemstra, V G en Gonin, H L (1992) Trilingual legal dictionary. Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 HIEMSTRA
5. Sisson, JJL (1960) The South African judicial dictionary. Location OR Tambo Law Library ZAOUV 968:34 SISSON
1. Garner, Bryan A. (2004) Black’s law dictionary. Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 BLACK
2. Law, Jonathan & Martin, Elizabeth A. (2009) A dictionary of law. Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 DICTIONARY
3. Bone, Sheila & Osborn, Percy George (2001) Osborn’s concise law dictionary. Location OR Tambo Law Library N 340.03 OSBORN
Encyclopaedias
A legal encyclopaedia is a secondary source and a good starting point to find primary sources on a topic. It will help you to identify the key legal principles, the historical background, and as well as referring to relevant cases and legislation, may provide references to other writings on the subject.
1. The Law of South Africa (LAWSA) is an encyclopaedia of our laws. It is kept up-to-date by means of new volumes, cumulative supplements and a monthly publication called “Current Law”. Used together they are very helpful with regard to new developments in law. Locate any topic by using the index to main volumes and then use the “Key” in the “Current Law” issues, to find the latest cases, legislation and literature on a specific topic. Material is arranged by Volume and paragraph numbers. Follow up all footnotes. For the electronic version go to our LexisNexis website.
Location OR Tambo Law Library: N 349.68 LAW
2. LAWSA is modelled on the UK publication – Halsbury’s Laws of England. Halsbury’s is kept up to date with a monthly publication called “Current Service”. It is very comprehensive and a good starting point for any aspect of UK law.
Location OR Tambo Law Library: N 348.42023 HALSBURY'S
3. Corpus Juris Secundum is the encyclopaedia that covers the law of the USA. Currently it consists of over 100 volumes. It is very comprehensive, contains many footnotes to case law and is an excellent place to start with research on US law.
Location OR Tambo Law Library: N 349.73 CORPUS