Many of the electronic books are available through ebrary. Click on Sign In and then Create An Account. When signed in you can read the book online and download a chapter.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowClick the Journals option on the Library Homepage Search Box and enter the title of the journal.
Create a phrase :
To search for two or more words next to each other use “ ... “ eg. “South Africa”
Truncation :
Type only part of a word and add * eg. reform* will search for reforming reforms reformed etc.
SAMedia at Sabinet for some South African newspaper articles.
PressReader for some South African and international newspapers and magazines (on campus only).
All headings must be numbered, starting with the Introduction and ending with the Bibliography.
Number all pages of the essay itself. Page one will be the page which starts with your introduction.
Essays should be word-processed and printed on one side of A4 paper with line spacing of at least 1½.
There should be a wide margin (about 4cm) on the left hand side of the page for comments.
Source: Political Sciences Undergraduate Manual
SHORTENED HARVARD METHOD USED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCES
The author's name together with year of publication and page reference appear in brackets in the text. It is called an in-text reference. and refers to the Bibliography where full bibliographic details of the work cited are available.
BOOKS
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Author. Year of publication. Title of book: subtitle. Place of publication: Publisher
Serote, P. 1999. Development in Context: South African case studies. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Calvert, S. & Calvert, P. 1996. Politics and Society in the Third World: an introduction. Harvester Wheatsheaf: Prentice Hall.
IN-TEXT:
(Author Date: page number)
Development is a process of change from a less desirable to a more desirable state. (McLean 1996: 137)
According to McLean (1996: 137), development is a process ….
CHAPTERS IN A BOOK
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Author(s) of chapter. Date. Name of chapter. In Name of book, edited by Name of editor(s). Place of publication: Publisher.
Cowen, M.P. & Shenton, R.W. 1995. The Invention of Development. In Power of Development, edited by J. Crush. London & New York: Routledge.
IN-TEXT:
(Author of chapter Date: page number)
Development is impossible to define and yet many definitions of development have been offered (Cowen & Shenton 1995: 28).
JOURNAL ARTICLES
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Author of article. Date of publication. Name of article. Name of Journal, volume (number): page numbers or article.
Sagar, A. D. & Najam, A. 1999. Shaping Human Development: which way next? Third World Quarterly, 20 (4): 743-751.
IN-TEXT:
Author Date:page number)
Sagar & Najam (1999: 744) point out that human development …
NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Name of writer(s). Date (just the year). Name of article. Newspaper, day month: page number.
Seepe, S. 1999. Mbeki and leadership. Mail & Guardian, 14 September: 13.
IN-TEXT:
(name of writer date:page number)
Seepe (1999: 13) criticises Mbeki for not providing clear leadership.
INTERNET SOURCES
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Name of organisation/writer of article/person who gave speech. Date (on which article was written/speech was given). Name of article/speech/webpage, etc. Internet: address. Access: date of access.
Mbeki, T. 2001. State of the Nation Address, 6 February 2001. Internet: http://www.gov.za/speeches/mbeki/010206.html.
.Access: 7 January 2002.
IN-TEXT:
(Author/Speaker/Organisation Date)
Mbeki (2001) highlighted the issue of poverty saying that 'This issue …
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
South Africa. Date. Name of publication. Pretoria: Government Printers.
South Africa. 1996. White Paper on Environment. Pretoria: Government Printers.
IN-TEXT:
Several new projects are underway in the Easter Cape including … (South Africa 1996:14)
Source: Political Sciences Undergraduate Manual.