Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Resource Management: Training Materials

Training Offered & Tips

 

WHY SEARCH?

...because you have a RESEARCH TOPIC or ASSIGNMENT

For exampleHow government can use social media to improve its responsiveness to customer queries.

STEPS:

1. Analyse TOPIC to IDENTIFY KEYWORDS, e.g. 'social media'; 'government responsiveness'; 'customer queries'

N.B.: Identify OTHER words/synonyms RELATED to your KEYWORDS if necessary

2. Use the KEYWORDS identified to SEARCH from the library website

N.B.: at EVERYTHING: social media + government responsiveness OR social media AND government responsiveness OR "social media" + "government responsiveness" OR "social media" AND "government responsiveness"

YOUR RESULTS WILL BE FROM BOOKS & JOURNALS (you searched at EVERYTHING)

PLEASE NOTE:

ARTICLES lie OR are found in JOURNALS

JOURNALS lie OR are found in DATABASES

3. Conduct ADVANCED SEARCH if necessary

4. SEARCH within JOURNALS in your DISCIPLINE for more ARTICLES

(N.B. : Your TOPIC MAY NOT be covered by ALL journals in your discipline, thus, DO NOT DESPAIR if you do not find suitable articles in a specific journal- TRY OTHER JOURNALS)

5. SEARCH within DATABASES in your DISCIPLINE for more ARTICLES

(N.B.: Your TOPIC MAY NOT BE covered by ALL databases- DO NOT DESPAIR if you do not find suitable articles in a specific database- TRY OTHER DATABASES)

Tutorials

Database Tutorials

 

 

N.B.: The above-mentioned DATABASES are just a few examples of databases available for your use.

IDENTIFY other databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, JStor, SAGE journals, Taylor & Francis, etc.) and LOCATE the 'SEARCH WITHIN' tab/box- and USE YOUR KEYWORDS to SEARCH WITHIN the databases

Videos