Subject Guides: Archaeology: Newspapers

SEARCH FOR NEWSPAPER ARTICLES

Newsbank

Newsbank Archives Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Search seamlessly across your Rand Daily Mail and African Newspapers.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection, 1821 - 1900 This link opens in a new window Rare newspapers from throughout Africa published during the 19th century.
African Newspapers Series 1, 1800 - 1922 This link opens in a new window Explore African History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries. This ground-breaking online collection offers unmatched coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
African Newspapers Series 2, 1835-1925 This link opens in a new window Nineteenth- and early 20th-century African newspapers cover the issues and events that shaped the continent.
Apartheid: Global Perspectives 1946-1996 This link opens in a new window Translated news broadcasts and publications, written by the people who experienced apartheid and also those around the world who watched, reacted and analysed it.
Financial Mail Archive, 1959 – 2019, Johannesburg, South Africa This link opens in a new window The most widely-read business weekly in South Africa, the Financial Mail has provided authoritative news from across the continent and the world since 1959. While its archive offers a comprehensive history of South African markets, researchers can also use the paper’s financial coverage as a mirror for understanding topics of broad social importance, including the rise and fall of apartheid and major shifts in South African culture, labour and politics. Now, each issue is available in a fully searchable digital archive, giving students and researchers unprecedented access to decades of South African history.
Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985 This link opens in a new window
Sunday Times Archive, 1906 – 2019, Johannesburg, South Africa This link opens in a new window Known as “the paper for the people,” South Africa’s largest Sunday newspaper has been covering the people, issues and events that shaped South Africa and beyond for over a century. Through firsthand reporting, photographs, editorials, cartoons and more, the Sunday Times has recorded every major historical event of the 20th century, making it a vital resource for scholars in a variety of disciplines. Now, each issue is available in a fully searchable digital archive, offering students and researchers fresh insight into decades of South African, African and world history.

Sabinet SA Media

SA Media This link opens in a new window
Clippings from South African newspapers, 1978 onward, provided by Sabinet.

Proquest

African Newsstream This link opens in a new window Access to the latest news and developments from a variety of titles including The International Herald Tribune, Africa News Service, BBC Monitoring Africa and more.

Sunday Times 2018-

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Other

National Library of SA
The digital / digitised collections of the NLSA includes some South African newspapers of historical value.
Internet Archive News & Public Affairs
An analysis of news and public affairs, independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library.
Wikipedia : List of online newspaper archives