Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Transformative agreements at the University of Pretoria
Transformative / Read & Publish (R&P) Agreements
Publish articles open access for free!
This guide provides an overview of the Read and Publish Agreement Negotiated by the South African National Library and Information Consortium (SANLiC). SANLiC has signed a number of agreements for South African Higher Education Institutions. The list of current negotiated agreements is now available allowing South Africans to publish in Gold Open Access journals.
The Department of Library Services (DLS) is also part of the SANLiC agreements and has recently signed the Transformative Agreements (TAs) also known as Read and Publish (R&P) agreement with Wiley, Emerald, and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publishers. Journals in the R&P agreement are listed in the alphabetical title list.
The DLS currently supports researchers with Article Processing Charges (APCs) also known as publication fees. These APCs and R&P agreements are efforts to advance open science practices and to increase Gold Open Access Publishing at the University of Pretoria.
Authors from participating institutions are eligible for Open Access publishing in the alphabetical list from the R&P agreements. Authors at the University of Pretoria can publish for free in these journals. Non-accredited journals will not be supported through the R&P agreement.
Where to start?
Proceed to Wiley's, Emerald, and ACM author resources below
Wiley Publishing and author resources
Publish for free in Wiley Hybrid Open Access Journals
Publish in Fully Open Access Journals with Wiley (not for free)
- Publish article(s) in a Fully Open Access Journal. These journals may require authors to pay publishing fees and the Department of Library Services supports researchers and pays a refundable portion of 50% or 60%. Find more information in the guidelines and policy on how to apply for Article Processing Charges (APCs) also known as publishing fees
Publish for free in Emerald Hybrid Journals
- Welcome to the Emerald Publishing page
- Choose which Emerald journal to publish in. The University of Pretoria only subscribes to 8 collections listed below:
Accounting and Finance eJournal Collection
Business, Management and Strategy eJournal Collection
Education eJournal Collection
HR, Learning and Organization Studies eJournal Collection
Information and Knowledge Management eJournal Collection
Library Studies eJournal Collection
Marketing eJournal Collection
Operations, Logistics, and Quality eJournal Collection
- First, determine if the selected title is eligible for an open-access publishing voucher, or check the alphabetical title list
- Please make sure the journal is accredited
- After selecting your journal from the alphabetical list, proceed and create an account and submit your manuscript using Emerald Open Research, a platform that supports an easy, fast, and rapid transparent publishing model
- This guide provides steps on how to share and promote the reuse of your article
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Journals
Publish for free in ACM Open Access Journals
- Authors: For all queries related to Read and Publish, contact your Information Specialist
- Information Specialists: Contact Open Scholarship for further information on any of the R&P agreements