Subject Guides: Genetics: Search for Articles

Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It is also a citation analysis tool and a gateway to materials on the web that are open access. Settings need to be set FIRST on a specific computer (usually only once) Go to Settings at the top left by first clicking on the hamburger menu and then the gear icon Then choose Library links Type: "university of pretoria" in the SEARCH box and click on SEARCH Tick ALL the boxes and SAVE
CABI: CAB Abstracts® and Global Health® This link opens in a new window
Covering issues in agriculture, forestry, animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering,economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, and rural development
GOLD: Genomes Online Database This link opens in a new window
GOLD:Genomes Online Database, is a World Wide Web resource for comprehensive access to information regarding genome and metagenome sequencing projects, and their associated metadata, around the world.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
SA ePublications This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 400 journals, with fully searchable articles in PDF format that focus on African content.
South African SDG Hub This link opens in a new window
The South African SDG Hub is a metaplatform that aggregates the best and most relevant research on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) from South African and selected non-South African universities.

Open Access Journals (Genetics)

BMC Genomic Data

BMC Genomics

DNA Research

Frontiers in Genetics

Genes

Genome Biology and Evolution

G3: Genes, Genomes, Genetics

PLoS Genetics

E-Journals (Genetics)

Journal access
Use e-journals when you have the full journal citation of the article you want. Type in the journal title and go to the desired full-text access platform. Choose the year, then the volume and issue number. Scroll down to find your article, click on the pdf version and download the article or send it to your e-mail address.
more...less...
Use e-journals when you have the full journal citation of the article you want. Type in thejournal title and go to the desired full-text access platform. Choose the year, then the volume and issue number. Scroll down to find your article, click on the pdf version and download the article or send it to your e-mail address.

Research Articles (Genetics)

Article access These articles are from research done in the department of Genetics

Interlending

This is a resource-sharing facility between libraries. We request documents NOT available in our libraries from other libraries, And supply documents requested by other libraries.

Interlending Procedure: step-by-step