Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engage: Go Green: Library Search and Databases

Search UP Resources

Databases

Greenfile (Ebscohost)

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Nature

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.

Oceanic Abstracts

This database is a comprehensive, leading source of information on the living and non-living resources of oceans. The database provides editorially-curated A&I resources pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment, covering topics such as marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative issues and policy.

SA media

Contains records from South African Newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.

Databases

Knovel

Technical content and tools for engineers and scientists. Contains information on all fields of Engineering

National Research Foundation - Masters Theses and PhD Dissertations

Electronic Theses and Dissertations from all the SA Universities

ScienceDirect

Extensive full-text database of authoritative titles. Journal articles, ebooks and reference sources. Over 15 million publications spanning multiple disciplines