Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Journals
Accelerating Discovery: Academic Journals accelerate the dissemination of knowledge through the publication of high-quality research articles using the open-access model.
African Journal Archive
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent. The Carnegie Corporation of New York initiated and sponsored the Sabinet Gateway project. Sabinet is pleased to make it available as a collection via the Sabinet African Journals' platform.
The BMC-series journals
The BMC Series is a collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals covering all scientific and clinical disciplines, focusing on the needs of the research communities which they serve.
BMJ Open is an online, open access journal, dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.
Curationis was founded in 1980 and at the time was published by the South African Nursing Association (SANA). Since 1996 the journal has been adopted and transformed by the Democratic Nursing Organisation of South Africa (DENOSA). During the initial stages of change, the role of journal editor was filled by Prof. Uys from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, which has subsequently changed to an editor appointed by DENOSA. The journal’s current editor is Prof. M. Davhana-Maselesele. In June 2011, a new phase was introduced in the operational history of Curationis when AOSIS (African Online Scientific Information Systems) started publishing Curationis on a rolling publication basis. The journal has since grown from strength to strength considering its wide focus, credibility, accreditation and Open Access format which actively promotes the dissemination of nursing knowledge and the development of research capacity within the country.
GLOBAL HEALTH INNOVATION
Global Health Innovation is an electronic, peer-reviewed open access journal published bi-annually by the University of Cape Town Libraries. The journal has the mission of advancing and disseminating interdisciplinary knowledge on all aspects of social and technological innovation for improved health and healthcare, with an emphasis on research addressing developing settings and with a developmental focus. The journal is the product of a partnership between Northwestern University, the University of Lagos, the University of Ibadan, and the University of Cape Town, and its development has been supported by a grant from the NIH-Fogarty International Center (D43TW009374).
Medicine Open Access Journal
International Journal of Clinical Medicine is a peer reviewed journal dedicated to the latest advancements of clinical medicine. The goal of this journal is to serve as a resource for dissemination of state-of-the-art research and educational material within the field of clinical medicine.
Open & Free Content On JSTOR & ARTSTOR
Our partnerships with libraries and publishers help us make content discoverable and freely accessible worldwide
OpenEdition brings together four plateforms dedicated to electronic resources and academic information in the humanities and social sciences.
Publishing at PeerJ guarantees the widest access and impact for your work
An influential venue for research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide, PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.
Sabinet Open Access African Journals
A full-text collection of scholarly journals and trade publications available to everyone. It includes publications covering our subject collections in addition to the African Journal Archive.
The South African Medical Journal (SAMJ) - first published in 1884 - is a monthly, peer reviewed, general medical journal publishing leading research impacting clinical care in Africa. The journal now incorporates continuing medical education (CME).