Open Education Resources (OER) that are freely available to use, re-use, adapt, and repurpose for teaching, learning, research, and for anyone to access:
Veterinary nurses need to have a firm grasp of the normal structure of an animal's body and how it functions before they can understand the effect diseases and injuries have and the best ways to treat them. This book describes the structure of the animal body and the way in which it works. Animals encountered in normal veterinary practice are used as examples where possible.
This book provides an overview of the current debates about the nature and extent of our moral obligations to animals.
This ebook is aimed at helping students at all levels of biochemistry to learn in a fun and engaging format.
The goal of this site is to be an educational resource on veterinary clinical pathology – an “on-line” textbook. All eClinPath content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
These materials have been put together to help students and youth to learn the basics of judging and evaluating dairy cattle using various methods. This resource was designed to be used with other resources to help teach basic dairy cattle judging and evaluation. There are numerous 4-H, Cooperative Extension and Breed Association booklets freely available, referred to in the document. However, this resource differs as it is intentionally full of visual examples and videos. The objective is to provide educators with additional resources to help beginning cattle judges understand visual evaluation and comparative judging techniques, as well as breed standards, linear scoring, oral reasons and the basics of fitting and showmanship.
This textbook includes basic principles of large animal surgery and anaesthesia, how to apply those principles to cases and situations, and discover ways of finding answers when you don’t remember the information, are presented with cases that aren’t “textbook” and/or things don’t go as planned.
This e-book was written to serve as a support for the teaching of the course CVM 6969: Large Animal Medicine III at the University of Minnesota. Its structure follows the organization of the course sessions and may be confusing for an external audience.
The purpose of this textbook is to provide an introductory, yet comprehensive, source of information on epidemiology for veterinary students, researchers, and practitioners. There has not been a textbook that presents analytic epidemiology as a science, basic to veterinary medicine's efforts in health management (herd health) as well as in clinical medicine.
Veterinary Histology is a microscopic anatomy textbook focused on domestic species, including the dog, cat, cattle, horses, swine, and camelids. This digital textbook provides comprehensive, system-specific text as well as high-resolution, annotated images along with chapter-specific glossary of terms and learning objectives.
This book is an attempt to connect the principles of veterinary physiology to the clinical presentation of disorders, particularly diagnostic tests and test interpretation.
Help for thriving in veterinary school. Academic, financial, physical, and emotional stress or health issues often create hurdles in the path toward the DVM. Sudden developments in our personal lives may threaten happiness, success, and/or well-being. This handbook is designed as a resource to help maintain or restore a sense of well-being.
The writing is based on three premises. First, life sciences students are motivated by and respond well to actual data related to real life sciences problems. Second, the ultimate goal of calculus in the life sciences primarily involves modeling living systems with difference and differential equations. Understanding the concepts of derivative and integral are crucial, but the ability to compute a large array of derivatives and integrals is of secondary importance. Third, the depth of calculus for life sciences students should be comparable to that of the traditional physics and engineering calculus course; else life sciences students will be short changed and their faculty will advise them to take the 'best' (engineering) course.
This book entitled “A Guide to Principles of Animal Nutrition” consists of 20 chapters. As the name says, this book is a guide primarily meant to serve students taking animal nutrition courses at the university level and is not a full-scale animal nutrition text.
Conservation Biology in Sub-Saharan Africa comprehensively explores the challenges and potential solutions to key conservation issues in Sub-Saharan Africa.
A free veterinary encyclopedia with 5,906 articles in English which are reviewed by renowned veterinary professionals. Submissions welcome.
The Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive resource for openly licensed academic textbooks. All textbooks are free, and the majority are peer reviewed. Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
Search for open access and openly licensed textbooks. From Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo.
Zero cost open textbook access and remix system with content in biology, business, chemistry, geosciences, humanities, math, physics, Spanish, statistics, and workforce development. Features: embedded media, dynamic figures, Jupyter integration, Hypothes.is annotation, print on demand, LMS imports, and forthcoming WeBWork integration.
Textbooks that are available for anyone to download and/or access to read:
A diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine created and curated by Dr. Maurice E. White.
This interactive e-book is meant to be a review of the pharmacology course taught by Dr. Brown in the previous years of the veterinary curriculum. Each chapter covers an antibiotic family and follows the same structure: Background and useful molecules to know in swine medicine, mechanism of action, spectrum, absorption, distribution, elimination, adverse effects, and synergies.
A Pathologist’s Guide to Peripheral Blood Smear Reviews. Here’s what you’ll discover in this e-book: how digital cytology is changing the game for hematology, the limitations of CBC data in veterinary medicine, how to increase the diagnostic yield of hematology, focusing on pre-analytical, analytical, and post analytical factors, including case example
This textbook includes basic principles of large animal surgery and anesthesia, how to apply those principles to cases and situations, and discover ways of finding answers when you don’t remember the information, are presented with cases that aren’t “textbook” and/or things don’t go as planned.
This book is an attempt to connect the principles of veterinary physiology to the clinical presentation of disorders, particularly diagnostic tests and test interpretation.
600+ freely available online books from InTech.
The University of Georgia offers 40+ veterinary textbooks in Apple iBook format through iTunes/ iStore. Freely downloadable but not openly licensed. No version currently exists for Windows OS systems.
Provides free online access to Merck Veterinary Manual content, current veterinary news, infographics, quizzes, case studies, etc.
Readily find dosing information for the drugs you prescribe every day with quick, easy access to the most up‑to‑date version of Plumb's.
The Encyclopedia of World Problems and Human Potential is a unique, experimental research work of the Union of International Associations. Animal diseases include those of a fungal, viral, bacterial, parasitic, infectious and communicable nature, and zoonoses. Contagious diseases of animals of particular concern include cattle plague, foot-and-mouth disease, contagious peri-pneumonia, anthrax fever, sheep-pox, rabies, glanders, dourine (sleeping sickness), swine fever and fowl plague.
From Homer (about 800 B.C.) to 31 December 1969 (with supplements expanding the coverage to 31 December 1981). A comprehensive, historical bibliography on ticks and tick-borne diseases compiled by Harry Hoogstraal. The bibliography covers the literature from 800 B.C. through 1982.
The Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary Zoology (ICMVZ) is an historic compendium of parasitological literature and a key resource for researchers in emerging diseases and global animal health. It comprises more than 100 publications with about 20,000 pages of references. With funding from the National Library of Medicine, Oklahoma State University Libraries and Texas A &M University Libraries digitized the Index-Catalogue and made it freely available online and electronically searchable.
Created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine with more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Browse SpringerLink open access books and download any free of charge from SpringerLink (HTML, PDF, ePub) or Amazon (MOBI).
Open Access eBooks is an international publisher of eBooks. Open Access eBooks covers different disciplines of science, technology and medicine. eBooks published in Open Access eBooks are available in printer friendly PDF formats and HTML versions. Besides this, we also provide print copies to the readers/authors upon request. eBooks published in Open Access eBooks are freely available to read and download under CC-BY-NC-ND license.
Browse CABI Open Access eBooks. Click the book to read more, or to download the PDF for free.
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
|
|
|
The new OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit has been launched! This toolkit aims to help book authors to better understand open access book publishing and to increase trust in open access books. The OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit covers specific topics related to open access books. Each article offers a quick and brief introduction to a particular aspect of open access book publishing. The toolkit also serves as a signposting tool: articles include a list of sources referenced, further reading and links to definitions of key terms. |
