Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary Science Open Access Resources: Journals

This LibGuide provides information relevant to Veterinary Science open educational resources and open access

Open Access Journals

Open Access Journal Titles

Open access (OA) journals are online journals whose articles are accessible free of charge and other barriers immediately upon publication. A printable list of accredited open access journal titles with impact factors to consider for publication is available here. For more information available on where to publish visit our libguide Veterinary Science: Where to publish

  • Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary Research (OJVR) 1903-2003

    Full text collection of journal articles from The Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary Research first published by the Transvaal Department of Agriculture. The journal contains papers reporting on original research covering all aspects of veterinary science from 1903 onwards.

  • Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary Research (OJVR) 2003-present

    The Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary Research (OJVR) is an open access journal who publishes articles that report on original research in veterinary science. While it considers submissions from any geographic region, its focus is on Africa and the infectious or parasitic diseases and disease vectors that affect livestock and wildlife on the continent.

  • Journal of the South African Veterinary Association (JSAVA)

    The Journal of the South African Veterinary Association (JSAVA), is an open access, contemporary multi-disciplinary scientific mouthpiece for Veterinary Science in South African and abroad. It provides veterinarians in South Africa and elsewhere in the world with current scientific information across the full spectrum of veterinary science, diseases or other conditions that are endemic in, or particularly relevant to sub-Saharan Africa.

  • inFOCUS from RCVS Knowledge

    inFOCUS is an innovative veterinary journal watch that keeps practitioners up-to-date with the latest research papers, critically appraised topics, articles, and more that have the potential to positively impact patient care.

  • Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine

    Simply click the links below to enjoy online access to all ACVIM, and ECEIM, Consensus Statements published within the Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine.

  • The Veterinary Evidence Journal

    Veterinary Evidence is an online, open access, peer-reviewed journal owned and published by RCVS Knowledge. It publishes content relating to evidence-based veterinary medicine (EBVM) and its application in veterinary practice to enhance the quality of care provided to patients. The journal is aimed at veterinary surgeons, veterinary nurses, paraprofessionals and allied professions in the international veterinary community. 

  • Veterinary Medicine and Science

    Veterinary Medicine and Science is a peer-reviewed, open access journal for the rapid dissemination of research in all areas of veterinary medicine and science. The journal aims to serve the research community by providing a vehicle for authors wishing to publish good quality research in both fundamental and clinical veterinary medicine and science.

  • Frontiers in Veterinary Science

    Frontiers in Veterinary Science is a global, peer-reviewed, open access journal that bridges animal and human health, brings a comparative approach to medical and surgical challenges, and advances innovative biotechnology and therapy. Frontiers in Veterinary Science publishes articles on outstanding discoveries across a wide spectrum of translational, foundational, and clinical research.

  • Open Veterinary Journal

    Open Veterinary Journal is an open access, peer-reviewed online and printed journal, that publishes original articles, review articles, short communications and case reports in all areas of veterinary medicine and its related subjects. 

  • Open Veterinary Science

    Open Veterinary Science is a new, peer-reviewed, open access journal devoted to scholary research in all fields of veterinary science. The journal aims to become the leading and most recognizable journal in the field of veterinary science, as well as to facilitate the communication and collaboration of scientists across different countries. The primary goal of the journal is focused on maintaining the high quality of its published content.

  • Veterinary Ophthalmology

    Veterinary Ophthalmology offers authors an open access option called OnlineOpen, to have their article immediately freely available to everyone, including those who don’t subscribe. To cover the cost of publishing OnlineOpen, authors pay an article publication charge (APC).

  • Journal of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Health (JVMAH)

    The Journal of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Health (JVMAH) is an open access, peer reviewed journal. The journal is published quarterly and covers all areas of the subject such as the application of medical, surgical, public health, dental, diagnostic, and therapeutic principles to non-human animals. 

  • Equine Disease Quarterly

    The Equine Disease Quarterly is published in January, April, July, and October each year. It is funded by Underwriters at Lloyd’s, London. Material published in the Equine Disease Quarterly is not subject to copyright. Permission is therefore granted to reproduce articles, although acknowledgement of the source and author is requested. The Equine Disease Quarterly is available for free via mail or email.

  • Irish Veterinary Journal

    Irish Veterinary Journal is an open access journal with a vision to make a substantial contribution to the dissemination of evidence-based knowledge that will promote optimal health and welfare of both domestic and wild species of animals.

  • Veterinary and Animal Science

    Veterinary and Animal Science is a new fully open access publication from Elsevier which strongly encourages a multidisciplinary approach to research in the animal and health spectrum. The scope of the journal is streamlined into two major sections and covers ruminant, monogastric, aquaculture, wild life, equine, camelid and other animal species: 1) Animal Science and 2) Veterinary Science.

  • Veterinary Record Open

    Veterinary Record Open is a journal dedicated to publishing original veterinary research across a range of topic areas including those of a more niche and specialist nature to that considered in the weekly Vet Record. Original research from all disciplines of veterinary interest will be considered. Veterinary Record Open is an Open Access, continuous publication journal of the British Veterinary Association. Authors are asked to pay article publishing charges on acceptance; the ability to pay does not influence editorial decisions.

  • Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica

    Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica is an open access journal encompassing all aspects of veterinary research and medicine of domestic and wild animals. Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica is the official journal of the Veterinary Associations of the Nordic Countries but welcomes submissions from veterinary colleagues worldwide. Founded in 1959, Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica became an online, open access publication in 2006.

  • Veterinary Science and Research

    The Veterinary Science and Research is an Innovation Info open access journal publishes the articles related to veterinary science development techniques used in veterinary research. It aims to publish most complete reliable source of information with evidence on the discoveries and future developments in the mode of original articles.

  • Veterinary Quarterly

    Veterinary Quarterly publishes original research and review articles in the field of animal diseases, including the pathophysiology of specific diseases. Predominantly veterinary relevant animal species are covered.

  • Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery Open Reports

    JFMS Open Reports is an international, peer-reviewed, online, open access journal aimed at both practitioners and researchers with an interest in the clinical veterinary healthcare and welfare of domestic cats. It publishes high-quality case reports, short case series and short communications reporting regional prevalence data or other data related to well-recognised diseases of domestic cats.

  • International Journal of Applied Research in Veterinary Medicine

    The International Journal of Applied Research in Veterinary Medicine (IJARVM) is an open access, peer-reviewed and refereed multidisciplinary journal published by Veterinary Sloutions LLC, USA. The main objective of IJARVM is to provide an intellectual platform for the research community. IJARVM aims to promote contemporary research in all clinical areas of veterinary medicine, including parasitology, dermatology, internal medicine, nutrition and surgery in companion, large animal, and exotic animals.

  • Emerging Infectious Diseases

    Emerging Infectious Diseases, an open access, peer reviewed journal published monthly by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, promotes the recognition of new and re-emerging infectious diseases around the world and improves the understanding of factors involved in disease emergence, prevention, and elimination.

  • Case Reports in Veterinary Medicine

    Case Reports in Veterinary Medicine is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes case reports and case series in all areas of veterinary medicine.

  • Canadian Journal of Veterinary Research

    The Canadian Journal of Veterinary Research, published by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association, is Canada's only veterinary research publication. This quarterly peer-reviewed online-only journal has earned a wide international readership through the publishing of high quality scientific papers in the field of veterinary medicine. The Journal publishes the results of original research in veterinary and comparative medicine.

  • BioMed Central Veterinary Research (BMC Veterinary Research)

    BMC Veterinary Research is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of veterinary science and medicine, including the epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of medical conditions of domestic, companion, farm and wild animals, as well as the biomedical processes that underlie their health.

  • VCOT Open (Veterinary and Comparative Orthopaedics and Traumatology)

    VCOT Open is an Open Access online-only international peer-reviewed journal. Its widened scope encompasses the entire discipline of veterinary surgery with a focus on surgical pathology, including cellular and molecular mechanisms of disease.

  • Today's Veterinary Practice

    An official journal of the NAVC, Today’s Veterinary Practice is the trusted source for peer-reviewed clinical information in veterinary medicine. The goal is to enhance knowledge and encourage confidence, inspiring the highest quality of veterinary care.

  • CABI One Health: A transdisciplinary open access journal

    The journal focuses on the interconnections between humans, animals, plants, ecosystems, and their shared environment in a transdisciplinary way. CABI One Health is part of a growing, and integrated information resource that includes One Health Cases and One Health Knowledge Bank.

Veterinary Medicine Journals with OA Content

A limited number of articles in veterinary journals published by major publishers such as BMJ, Cambridge Journals, CSIRO, Elsevier, Schattauer, Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley may also be available as Open Access.

The following journals allow Open Access to articles from one year after their date of publication:

Open Access Journal Databases and Directories

  • MDPI - publiser of Open Access journals

    A pioneer in scholarly open access publishing, MDPI has supported academic communities since 1996. Based in Basel, Switzerland, MDPI has the mission to foster open scientific exchange in all forms, across all disciplines. Our 282 diverse, peer-reviewed, open access journals are supported by more than 67,200 academic editors. We serve scholars from around the world to ensure the latest research is freely available and all content is distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY).

  • BioMed Central

    A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

    DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All data is freely available.

  • AOSIS

    An open access publisher who unlock knowledge resources, display them in the best manner, and publish them as widely as possible. This involves publishing the latest African scholarly research in open access formats, creating eLearning content and providing Certified services on Moodle learning platforms. We also provide HPCSA, HPCNA and AHPCSA approved online CPD Courses for healthcare professionals.

  • SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

    The Scientific Electronic Library Online is South Africa’s premier open-access searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community. The database covers a selected collection of peer-reviewed South African scholarly journals and forms an integral part of the SciELO Brazil project. SciELO SA is managed by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), funded by the South African Department of Science and Technology and endorsed by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).

  • Veterinary Clinical Digest

    Veterinary Clinical Digest is a selection of the latest veterinary papers published by Wiley, curated by Dr Alex Gough to be of interest to vets in various disciplines around the world.

  • Free Clinical Journals

    Free Clinical journals publish scientific findings related to variegated aspects of the diagnosis, treatment, management and rehabilitation strategies of acute and chronic diseases. The articles published in these journals can be accessed by anyone who wishes to enrich their knowledge on a singular or multiple subjects of clinical sciences, without the need of paying any subscription charges. The wide and open access dissemination of clinical research findings helps medical researchers, clinicians, doctors, nurses, and other medical professionals in furthering the research and practice of medicine.

  • SpringerNature OA Journals

    SpringerNature publish around 600 fully open access journals in all disciplines – from the life sciences to the humanities. Authors also have the option to publish their article under an open access licence in more than 1,900 of the subscription-based journals.

  • WWIS (Worldwide Information Services)

    WWIS offers a wide range of evidence-based medical research and clinical information resources to support pharmacies, medical schools, healthcare and related organisations. WorldWide Information Services partner with publishers and information providers that support Open Access.