Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's it in the Open Books, Journals & Databases tab?
This page provides links and information to and about openly available Books, Journals and Databases in the Natural and Agricultural Sciences fields.
University of Toronto Books Online This link opens in a new windowBooks Online are books that have been digitized, from the University of Toronto Libraries. They are freely available online and out-of-copyright. The collection currently contains 858 titles.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
LinkOut (NCBI) This link opens in a new windowLinkOut Journals with full text links, sorted by title, in HTML.
J-STAGE This link opens in a new windowJ-STAGE is an electronic journal site operated by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) and it makes electronic journals issued by Japanese academic institutions available to the public via the Internet.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowAn STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Their journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health, including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Malaria Journal and BMC Infectious Diseases.
PubMed Central® This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).