On this page you will find links to south African and International thesis, dissertations and data repositories. Note that some data may be restricted for various reasons
South African Repositories
UPSpaceThis link opens in a new windowThe Institutional Repository of the University of Pretoria, an open access electronic archive collecting, preserving and distributing digital materials created by members of the University of Pretoria.
National Research Foundation (NRF)This link opens in a new windowAs an independent government agency, the NRF promotes and supports research in all fields of knowledge. It also conducts research and provides access to National Research Facilities. The NRF provides services to the research community especially at Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) and Science Councils with a view to promote high-level human capital development.
UP Research Data RepositoryThis link opens in a new windowThe UP Research Data Repository (Figshare) is used for final research datasets (only) that supports research outputs.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsThis link opens in a new windowThe Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
NASA Astrophysics Data System/NASA Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service provides a gateway to the online Astronomy and Physics literature. You can navigate this content using the following query interfaces:
Dryad Digital RepositoryDryad is an open source, community driven project that takes a unique approach to data publication and digital preservation. Dryad focuses on search, presentation, and discovery and delegates the responsibility for the data preservation function to the underlying repository with which it is integrated.
Open Data Repository
Open Data RepositoryThe Open Data Repository's Data Publisher allows researchers, graduate students, and the general public to quickly create database structures and publish data on the web. Using the drag-and-drop form designer, you can easily create your database schema and then populate it with meta-data, files, and graphs
DataCite CommonsDataCite Commons describes works, people, organizations and repositories and their connections and allows users to search for them. They are identified by persistent identifiers (PIDs): works (DOI), people (ORCID ID), and organizations (ROR ID), and have standard metadata that describe them and the connections to each other. Together they form the PID Graph, which is powered by the DataCite GraphQL API. DataCite Commons provides a public web search interface to the PID Graph.
FAIRsharingFAIRsharing is an informative and educational service that increases guidance to consumers of standards, databases, repositories, and data .
Kaggle DatasetsKaggle Datasets allows you to publish and share datasets privately or publicly. We provide resources for storing and processing datasets, but there are certain technical specifications:
