Open Educational Resources available from the library A-Z list of databases
AOSIS LibraryThis link opens in a new windowExplore an extensive collection of open access books and journals. Search by title, keyword, or scholarly discipline to find the latest research in your field. All our open access content is free, and available to everyone upon publication.
Brill Open AccessThis link opens in a new windowBrill is one of the largest Open Access publishers in the Humanities and Social Sciences. As an early adopter, starting in 2009, we have published 400 Open Access books, 25 full Open Access journals and hundreds of Open Access articles. It is our ambition to make Open Access publishing possible to authors anywhere in the world, regardless of background or budget. Funding support, institutional agreements, and helping researchers comply with research funder Open Access requirements are at the heart of our Open Access program.
Directory of Open Access BooksThis link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Internet Archive ScholarThis link opens in a new windowThis fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
IRSpaceThis link opens in a new windowSearch South African institutional repositories.
JustCiteThis link opens in a new windowJustCite is an online legal research platform that helps you find leading authorities and establish the current status of the law.
Laws of South AfricaThis link opens in a new windowThe University of Pretoria, developed and maintains this website as a not-for-profit database in order to provide free public access to the South African National Legislation. The goal is to provide accurate and up-to-date information. Despite every effort to make it reliable, we do not claim that the information is necessarily comprehensive or complete. However, if mistakes are brought to our attention, we will make every effort to correct them.
Listing of Open Access DataBases (LOADB)This link opens in a new windowThe objective of Listing of Open Access DataBases (LOADB) is to create a web-enabled, linked, classified and categorized collection of Open Access Databases which one can access from a single portal. Although initial focus is on science and technology subjects, the ultimate aim is to include all subject areas.It is a pilot listing and is being subjected to peer review to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access Databases. The listing is open to all publishers who publish databases in Open Access mode. LOADB will rely on crowd sourcing model to update and sustain its services and welcomes submissions and suggestions from all the stakeholders such as database publishers, research institutions, universities, libraries, government and private agencies, scholars and students.
National Research Foundation (NRF)This link opens in a new windowAs an independent government agency, the NRF promotes and supports research in all fields of knowledge. It also conducts research and provides access to National Research Facilities. The NRF provides services to the research community especially at Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) and Science Councils with a view to promote high-level human capital development.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsThis link opens in a new windowThe Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.
OAPEN: Open Access Publishing in European NetworksThis link opens in a new windowThe OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.
SA Artefacts: SA ArchitectsThis link opens in a new windowA site which, via the World Wide Web, makes information of interest about the Southern African Built Environment readily accessible.
SAFLII: Southern African Legal Information InstituteThis link opens in a new windowThe Southern African Legal Information Institute publishes legal information for free public access which comprises mainly of case law and legislation from South Africa.
UNICEFThis link opens in a new windowUNICEF promotes the rights and wellbeing of every child, in everything we do. Together with our partners, we work in 190 countries and territories to translate that commitment into practical action, focusing special effort on reaching the most vulnerable and excluded children, to the benefit of all children, everywhere.
UPSpaceThis link opens in a new windowThe Institutional Repository of the University of Pretoria, an open access electronic archive collecting, preserving and distributing digital materials created by members of the University of Pretoria.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
