UP Journals: Wiley's, Emerald, and ACM author resources

Publish for free in Wiley Hybrid Open Access Journals

• Two practical guides (digital and print) provide key steps to publishing open access
• Read the Agreement & Eligibility Terms 
• Use Author Compliance Tool to check compliance with original research funders and/or institution requirements
• Select Wiley journal-title(s) from the alphabetical list. Authors are encouraged to select and publish in accredited journals.
• Non-accredited journals will not be supported
• Search using the selected journal-title or use the Order Hybrid Open Access option
• A section on Open, Access Licensing contains information on copyright and licensing for Open Access articles.
• Wiley supports authors with Creative Commons Licensing and copyright,
•  

Publish in Fully Open Access Journals with Wiley (not for free)

• Publish article(s) in a Fully Open Access Journal. These journals may require authors to pay publishing fees and the Department of Library Services supports researchers and pays a refundable portion of 50% or 60%. Find more information in the guidelines and policy on how to apply for Article Processing Charges (APCs) also known as publishing fees

Help!

• Check the help and support page for FAQs

Publish for free in Emerald Hybrid Journals

• Welcome to the Emerald Publishing page
• Choose which Emerald journal to publish in. The University of Pretoria only subscribes to 8 collections listed below:

  • Accounting and Finance eJournal Collection

  • Business, Management and Strategy eJournal Collection

  • Education eJournal Collection

  • HR, Learning and Organization Studies eJournal Collection

  • Information and Knowledge Management eJournal Collection

  • Library Studies eJournal Collection

  • Marketing eJournal Collection

  • Operations, Logistics, and Quality eJournal Collection

• First, determine if the selected title is eligible for an open-access publishing voucher, or check the  alphabetical title list 
• Please make sure the journal is accredited
• After selecting your journal from the alphabetical list, proceed and create an account and submit your manuscript using Emerald Open Research, a platform that supports an easy, fast, and rapid transparent publishing model
• This guide provides steps on how to share and promote the reuse of your article 

Where to start?

Proceed to Wiley's, Emerald, and ACM author resources                                                                                                                             

Publish for free in ACM Open Access Journals

• Read the entire set of criteria in the Policy on Roles and Responsibilities in ACM Publishing

• Choose where to submit your manuscript to from one of the following:

• ACM Journals

• Find out everything you need to know about :

• Fair Use Guidance

• Author Rights 

• Open Access 

• Copyright and License Forms 

• ACM Computing Classification System 

• ACM Plagiarism Policy 

• before submitting your manuscript for publication

• Authors: For all queries related to Read and Publish, contact your Information Specialist 
• Information Specialists: Contact  Open Scholarship for further information on any of the R&P agreements