ABI/INFORM Collection
This link opens in a new windowMajor source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
AccessScience
This link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. With these and other online features, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information in a way that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.
ACM Digital Library
This link opens in a new windowFull text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
AOSIS Library
This link opens in a new windowExplore an extensive collection of open access books and journals. Search by title, keyword, or scholarly discipline to find the latest research in your field. All our open access content is free, and available to everyone upon publication.
Arts & Humanities Database
This link opens in a new windowThis database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
Education Database
This link opens in a new windowEducation Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
IEEE Xplore® Digital Library
This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Sabinet African Journals
This link opens in a new windowSabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
Sabinet Current and Completed Research
This link opens in a new windowContains current and completed projects (in economics, science and humanities), and includes (the master’s and doctoral) theses and dissertations from South African Universities, Technikons, and Universities of Technology, as well as the research, works from the government, non-government, and private sectors. Some include links to the full text.
Sabinet Discover
This link opens in a new windowSabinet Discover is the ultimate information services tool providing seamless access to comprehensive African legal, news and research content. The platform allows subscribers and non-subscribers to discover and effortlessly access the richness of Sabinet’s information services.
ScienceDirect
This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
ScienceDirect e-Books
This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Scopus
This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Taylor & Francis (Journals)
This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis eBooks is a single destination platform with eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Web of Science (All Databases)
This link opens in a new windowAccess the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Web of Science Core Collection
This link opens in a new windowAccess the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Cambridge Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
Dictionary.com
This link opens in a new windowDictionary.com is the world’s leading digital dictionary. They provide millions of English definitions, spellings, audio pronunciations, example sentences, and word origins. Dictionary.com’s main, proprietary source is the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, which is continually updated by their team of experienced lexicographers and supplemented with trusted, established sources including American Heritage and Harper Collins to support a range of language needs.
Infoplease Dictionary Search
This link opens in a new windowDictionary Search gives you access to more than 125,000 entries, from aalii to zymurgy.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and Thesaurus
This link opens in a new windowMerriam-Webster, Inc. is an American company that publishes reference books and is especially known for its dictionaries. It is the oldest dictionary publisher in the United States.
Online Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowFree online dictionary.
Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
PharosOnline Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowPharosOnline is a collection of general and subject dictionaries on the internet. It offers a one-stop reference for anyone who wants to communicate effectively in English and Afrikaans. This library includes a large variety of technical dictionaries and is continually expanded as new titles become available.
Sign in/Log in with your UP email address. On the Log in page, choose University Login
Woordeboek van die Afrikaanse Taal (WAT)
This link opens in a new windowDie Woordeboek van die Afrikaanse Taal (WAT) is 'n omvattende sinchroniese verklarende woordeboek, dws primêr gerig op die huidige taalgebruik.
Additional resources
Department of Basic Education
This link opens in a new windowThe Department of Basic Education was formed when the former National Department of Education was split into two: DBE and the Department of Higher Education and Training. The DBE deals with all schools from Grade R to Grade 12, including adult literacy programmes.
