Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Weekdays: 7:30- 20:00 except Tuesdays 8:30-20:00 Saturday: 8:30 -17:00 Sunday: 9:00-13:00
Research Commons: Weekdays 7:30-20:00, Saturday 8:30-13:00
For general inquiries phone 012 420 5536 / Research Commons 012 420 5259
Information Specialists at the Education Library
Contact your information specialist to assist with access to the PDF files of journal articles
Mrs Sonja Delport,
THED (PU vir CHO); Dip. in Special Education(UNISA)
Information Specialist for Early Childhood Education and Humanities Education
+27 12 420 5545
Media Building Room 3-10 (Level 3), Groenkloof Campus
Ms Maggie Moropane, Secondary Teacher's Diploma (Dr C.N. Phatudi College of Education); BA (Pret).
Information Specialist for Education Management & Policy Studies and Science Mathematics & Technology Education
Tel.: +27 12 420 5565
Office: Media Building, Room 3-7 (Level 3), Groenkloof Campus
Ms Liesl Stieger BBibl (NWU), Hons. Industrial Psychology (NWU), Masters Knowledge Management (UP).
Information Specialist for Educational Psychology
Tel.: +27 12 420 5559
Office: Media Building Room 2-34 (Level 2), Groenkloof Campus
Use your own application to access the internet.
Help with printing, photocopying and scanning using TuksPrint
Databases Important for Education
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowEmerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
JStor This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
University of Pretoria WorldCat Local This link opens in a new windowUniversity of Pretoria Libraries is dedicated to offering you access to the widest possible range of resources. You are now able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services.
GoogleScholar & Google Scholar library settings
Tips for Searching Google Scholar
- Ensure that your Google Scholar library settings is correct this will enable you to get access to our paid content (fulltext)
- Place one concept consisting of two words in “” e.g. “research methodology”
- Use the advanced search option to limit your search
- dated between
- where words should occur
- authored by
- published in
Step by Step Guides for using the Library Webpage and Resources
Research Commons at the Education Library