Subject Guides: Business Management: Recommended Databases

Recommended databases

This section of the guide provides you with recommended databases, specifically for the field of business management. The list is just some of the databases we subscribe to, not all of them. We have added videos on how to use some of the databases to get you started.

List of Recommended Databases

BMI Research This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It is also a citation analysis tool and a gateway to materials on the web that are open access. Settings need to be set FIRST on a specific computer (usually only once) Go to Settings at the top left by first clicking on the hamburger menu and then the gear icon Then choose Library links Type: "university of pretoria" in the SEARCH box and click on SEARCH Tick ALL the boxes and SAVE
Iress Research Domain This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) - over 1 000 journal issues, 2 900 working papers, 2 500 multi-lingual summaries, 6 200 e-book titles, 14 000 tables and graphs, 21 000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
- This link opens in a new window
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social sciences and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Reports and Data: Country and Industry

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
An innovative, robust and comprehensive credit analytics and macro intelligence platform designed to service the individual data consumption models of credit risk, debt market and strategic research professionals. It provides users with credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to deep, sector-specific intelligence, real-time news, powerful analytics, and time-saving workflow and collaboration tools, fully-integrated into their world-class Intelligence Center.
Who Owns Whom This link opens in a new window
Who Owns Whom is an independent research organisation producing high quality, original research on the African business and economic environment. The research covers over 280 key industries across the African continent, ownership by major groups, director and management profiles, takeover and merger activity as well as investment into Africa.

It offers services into the disciplines of procurement, corporate marketing intelligence, private equity and corporate finance, management consultancies and state developmental and regulatory agencies.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

eCases

Emerald Insight: eCases This link opens in a new window
The Emerald eCase Collection provides students and faculty with unlimited access to a continuously developing digital library of more than 1,500 real- world case studies.

The collection also features teaching material licensed from global case method advocates, creating opportunities for students to understand and apply business theory, analyse complex situations, and formulate solutions.

Reports

We have different databases that can generate reports for you. Such reports can cover the different markets, companies, and those participating within them.

Some of the reports you can search for on the listed databases are:

Industry Forecast Reports

Economic Analysis

Industry Trend Analysis

Country Risk Analysis

Company profiles

Financial reports

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window An innovative, robust and comprehensive credit analytics and macro intelligence platform designed to service the individual data consumption models of credit risk, debt market and strategic research professionals. It provides users with credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.

MarketLine An interactive subscribers-only platform, provides anytime access to a unique & exclusive mix of company, industry, country, city and financial data. It provides you with easy access to deep, sector-specific intelligence, real-time news, powerful analytics, and time-saving workflow and collaboration tools, fully-integrated into our world-class Intelligence Center.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) - over 1 000 journal issues, 2 900 working papers, 2 500 multi-lingual summaries, 6 200 e-book titles, 14 000 tables and graphs, 21 000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points.
Who Owns Whom This link opens in a new window Who Owns Whom is an independent research organisation producing high quality, original research on the African business and economic environment. The research covers over 280 key industries across the African continent, ownership by major groups, director and management profiles, takeover and merger activity as well as investment into Africa. It offers services into the disciplines of procurement, corporate marketing intelligence, private equity and corporate finance, management consultancies and state developmental and regulatory agencies.