Number of books you may borrow:
If the book you are looking for is not on the shelf, the following procedure applies:
If you still can’t find the book, the person who was assisting you will ask you to fill in a missing book form. Please provide us with the following details:
If the book you are looking for has been checked out, you have the option of placing a hold on it. This means that you will be notified as soon as the book is returned.
The following procedure applies:
You may encounter books we refer to as reference books. These are books that cannot be taken out of the Library, such as Dictionaries and Thesauri. You will know a book is a reference book from the Call Number, the book will have an N before the number.
For Example:
|
|
|
|
| LOCATION | CALL NO | STATUS | NOTE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ref Coll Level 6 | N 709.05 HUNDRED v. 1 | IN | --- |
| Ref Coll Level 6 | N 709.05 HUNDRED v. 2 | IN | --- |
GV Books, also called study collection books are the books that students and staff can check out for only 2 hours. The GV/Study Collection is located opposite Xerox on the 3rd Floor (Main Entrance).
An example of a GV/Study Collection Book is the following:
|
|
|
|
|
| LOCATION | CALL NO | STATUS | NOTE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Study Collection (GV) MKY | GV 701 BARNARD | IN | --- |
Illustration Research Methods by
**Shortlisted for the 2021 British Book Design and Production Awards for the Best Jacket / Cover Design**For years illustration has lacked a strong critical history in which to frame it, with academics and media alike assessing it as part of design rather than a discipline in its own right. Illustration Research Methods addresses this void and adds to a fast-emerging discipline, establishing a lexicon that is specific to discussing contemporary illustration practice and research.The chapters are broken down into the various roles that exist within the industry and which illustration research can draw from, such as 'Reporting' and 'Education'. In doing so, users are able to explore a diverse range of disciplines that are rich in critical theory and can map these existing research methodologies to their own study and practice.Supported by a wealth of case studies from international educators, student projects sit alongside those of world-renowned illustrators. Thus allowing users the opportunity to put what they have learnt into context and offering insight into the thinking and techniques behind some of illustrations' greats.
Printmaking Revolution by
A tome of the newest advances in printmaking for today's environmentally conscious art students, master printers, teachers, and artists Etching, lithography, and screenprinting shouldn't be harmful to the artist or the planet. With cutting edge, never-before-published advances in printmaking media, Printmaking Revolution provides artists, students, and teachers alike with safer, environmentally friendly and non-carcinogenic methods for creating beautiful prints. Inside, teacher and professional artist, Dwight Pogue offers groundbreaking information on embracing green, petroleum-free, nontoxic materials that comply with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requirements. With new alternatives for the modern era, and work by some of today's most notable artists, including Janet Fish, James Rosenquist Walton Ford, and Louisa Chase, this book truly revolutionizes the techniques, materials, and processes of a time-honored medium.
The sensory studies manifesto : tracking he sensorial revolution in the arts and human sciences by 
Hegel's Anthropology by
This book provides a critical analysis of Hegel's Anthropology, a long-neglected treatise dedicated to the psyche, or "soul," that bridges Hegel's philosophy of organic nature with his philosophy of subjective spirit. Allegra de Laurentiis recuperates this overlooked text, guiding readers through its essential arguments and ideas. She shows how Hegel conceives of the "sublation" of natural motion, first into animal sentience and then into the felt presentiment of selfhood, all the way to the threshold of self-reflexive thinking. She discusses the Anthropology in the context of Hegel's mature system of philosophy (the Encyclopaedia) while also exposing some of the scientific and philosophical sources of his conceptions of unconscious states, psychosomatism, mental pathologies, skill formation, memorization, bodily habituation, and the self-conditioning capacities of our species. This treatise on the becoming of anthropos, she argues, displays the power and limitations of Hegel's idealistic "philosophy of the real" in connecting such phenomena as erect posture, a discriminating hand, and the forward gaze to the emergence of the human ego, or the structural disintegration of the social world to the derangement of the individual mind. A groundbreaking contribution to scholarship on Hegel and nineteenth-century philosophy, this book shows that the Anthropology is essential to understanding Hegel's concept of spirit, not only in its connection with nature but also in its more sophisticated realizations as objective and absolute spirit. Future scholarship on this subject will recount--and build upon--de Laurentiis's innovative study.
Sensorial Investigations by
David Howes's sweeping history of the senses in the disciplines of anthropology and psychology and in the field of law lays the foundations for a sensational jurisprudence, or a way to do justice to and by the senses of other people. In part 1, Howes demonstrates how sensory ethnography has yielded alternative insights into how the senses function and argues convincingly that each culture should be approached on its own sensory terms. Part 2 documents how the senses have been disciplined psychologically within the Western tradition, starting with Aristotle and moving through the rise of Lockean empiricism and cognitive neuroscience. Here, Howes presents an anthropologically informed critique of experimental and cognitive psychology, sensory science, and phenomenology. In part 3, he introduces the paradigm of the "historical anthropology of the senses and sensation" and applies it to the analysis of trade relations between Europe and China in the early modern period, to the treaty-making process in North America during the colonial period, and to all the unresolved disputes over land rights and Indigenous sovereignty that continue to this day, arguing that these differences are rooted in a cultural clash of sensoria. Designed for the classroom, Sensorial Investigations displays an expansive critical engagement with generations of scholarship. It is essential reading for students and scholars of the history and anthropology of the senses, the psychology of sensation, and socio-legal studies.
Postdigital Artisans by
Digital technology has irreversibly changed how we see, think and act. A staggering number of us spend as much as half our waking hours online. Right now, more people are gazing at a screen than looking out a window. As we are drawn deeper into a symbiotic relationship with the digital, there is also a growing desire for more tactile, immersive experiences. Touch screens don't eliminate the need to touch something more palpable than an electronic visual display. It's in this context that today's "postdigital artisans" operate. Inescapably influenced by the digital world, they nonetheless reject strictly screen-based design and total reliance on automated production, such as 3D printing. They advocate a return to craft, with objects made from clay, metal, glass and wood. They neither turn their backs on technology nor glorify nostalgia, but the high-tech honeymoon is over. They see materials as the heart of art, design, fashion and architecture. Postdigital Artisans profiles sixty contemporary artists and designers, accompanied by rich illustrations of their work. Essays and interviews by and with leading figures such as Hans Ulrich Obrist, Nathan Jurgenson and Glenn Adamson deftly analyze all forms of postdigital creativity, from visual art and design to architecture and urban planning.
The Landscape Painter's Workbook by 
What Film Is Good For by 
Illustration and Heritage by
Illustration and Heritage explores the re-materialisation of absent, lost, and invisible stories through illustrative practice and examines the potential role of contemporary illustration in cultural heritage. Heritage is a 'process' that is active and takes place in the present. In the heritage industry, there are opposing discourses and positions, and illustrators are a critical voice within the field. Grounding discussions in concepts fundamental to the illustrator, the book examines how the historical voice might be 'found' or reconstructed. Rachel Emily Taylor uses her own work and other illustrators' projects as case studies to explore how the making of creative work - through the exploration of archival material and experimental fieldwork - is an important investigative process and engagement strategy when working with heritage. What are the similar functions of heritage and illustration? How can an illustrator 'give voice' to a historical person? How can an illustrator disrupt an archive or museum? How can an illustrator represent a historical landscape or site? This book is a contribution to the expanding field of illustration research that focusses on its position in heritage practice. Taylor examines the illustrator's role within the field, while positioning it alongside the disciplines of museology, anthropology, archaeology, performance, and fine art.
The Sensing Body in the Visual Arts by
This book provides original grounds for integrating the bodily, somatic senses into our understanding of how we make and engage with visual art. Rosalyn Driscoll, a visual artist who spent years making tactile, haptic sculpture, shows how touch can deepen what we know through seeing, and even serve as a genuine alternative to sight. Driscoll explores the basic elements of the somatic senses, investigating the differences between touch and sight, the reciprocal nature of touch, and the centrality of motion and emotion. Awareness of the somatic senses offers rich aesthetic and perceptual possibilities for art making and appreciation, which will be of use for students of fine art, museum studies, art history and sensory studies.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Illustration and Heritage by 
Color Choices by 