Subject Guides: Geography, GeoInformatics and Meteorology: Search for :Articles & Books

UP catalogue (WorldCat discovery)

Dscovery Services
discovery service is an online library searching tool that provides an all-in-one interface for finding both local library items and online subscription and open access resources

UPSpace
An open access electronic archive collecting, preserving and distributing digital materials created, owned and hosted by the University of Pretoria

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Ebook Central
University of Pretoria has selected ProQuest Ebook Central as a key ebook provider.
more...less...
Ebooks on the go
Ebook Central is designed with mobile in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks for offline reading.
ScienceDirect e-Books
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Wiley Online Library
Over 1.000 journals, major reference works. online books, Current Protocols Laboratory manuals, and databases as well asuite of professional and management resources

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It is also a citation analysis tool and a gateway to materials on the web that are open access.
Settings need to be set FIRST on a specific computer (usually only once)
Go to Settings at the top left by first clicking on the hamburger menu and then the gear icon
Then choose Library links
Type: "university of pretoria" in the SEARCH box and click on SEARCH
Tick ALL the boxes and SAVE
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.