Skip to Main Content
Subject Databases
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central was selected by your library to provide authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) This link opens in a new window
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index. The organization gives global researchers a single point of access to 46 full-text scholarly journals plus specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It is also a citation analysis tool and a gateway to materials on the web that are open access.
Settings need to be set FIRST on a specific computer (usually only once)
Go to Settings at the top left by first clicking on the hamburger menu and then the gear icon
Then choose Library links
Type: "university of pretoria" in the SEARCH box and click on SEARCH
Tick ALL the boxes and SAVE
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JStor This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. NGVL brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social sciences and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window