Subject Guides: Computer Science: Databases

Key databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core Journals This link opens in a new window Cambridge Journals publishes over 350 peer-reviewed journals, including journals published on behalf of over 100 learned societies, which form the latest in research and discovery across a range of topics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current & Completed Research This link opens in a new window Contains current and completed research projects (in economics, science and humanities), and includes (the master’s and doctoral theses and dissertations) theses and dissertations from South African universities, Technikons, and Universities of Technology, as well as the research works from the government, non-government and private sectors. Some records include links to the full text. The database is maintained by the National Research Foundation (1919- ).
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EI Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore® Digital Library This link opens in a new window The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Key databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social sciences and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window On these pages you will find Springer’s eBooks in all areas, serving researchers, professionals, lecturers and students. Their eBook portfolio comprises monographs, book series and major reference works from the world’s most distinguished authors.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

How to search journal articles in databases

Select a database to search from e.g. SA ePublications
Type keywords/search terms in the provided search boxes
Click on Search
Then choose a relevant article title from the list
Click on full text of the article to view

Database search tips

Combine search terms using Boolean Operators
AND, OR and NOT:

AND -combine two or more keywords/terms

OR -connector to retrieve information in which any one of your keywords/terms appear
NOT -exclude certain information from your results

Most databases allow one to limit a search by years e.g. 2010-2015. Put the years in appropriate field on the search screen