Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Publication Date: 1992-06-01
The fascinating story fo Francis fo Assisi, the Italian poet who gave himelf up to the service of the poor and was happy in possessing nothing.
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2011-02-06
The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary provides a visually stimulating journey for anyone interested in learning more about the world of the Bible. Through the articles, sidebars, charts, maps, and full-color images included in this volume, the text of the Old and New Testaments will come alive for you as never before. As a condensation of the Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the information contained within this reference work is solid and biblically sound. The material is based completely on the NIV and cross-referenced to the King James Version, and it contains over 7,200 entries, 500 full-color photographs, charts, and illustrations, 75 full-color maps, and a Scripture index ... making this wonderful Bible study resource a must-have whether you're a general reader of the Bible, a pastor, or a student.
Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words by
Publication Date: 2002-08-11
Reach for almost any commentary or other Bible study text and sooner or later (probably sooner!) you're bound to stumble over a word you don't know. Unfortunately, the dictionary doesn't shed much light on terms such as agraphon, deutero-Isaiah, pretribulationism, synonymous parallelism, Transjordan, or zugoth. Even words you are able to look up can have specific nuances and applications in biblical and theological study. What you need is a study book to help you understand the study books. You need the Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words.This hugely practical volume puts the definitions you need most right at your fingertips. Over 1,700 words and phrases from Old and New Testament studies, biblical languages, and systematic theology have been compiled, alphabetized, and defined as succinctly as possible. You'll never be left scratching your head again. The Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words is destined to become a staple reference tool for pastors, Sunday school teachers, and everyone with an interest in learning more about the Bible and theology. The more you study the Bible, the more you'll appreciate having this unique resource in your library.
Dictionary of the Bible by
Publication Date: 1978-03-01
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work.This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
Call Number: N 220.3 NEW
Publication Date: ©2006-©2009
The most complete coverage of theological topics This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NRSV. Unparalleled quality of information Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. Totally new entries 7100 fresh, original articles. Also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries. Balanced and relevant content For any pastor, rabbi, preacher, teacher, or student who is preparing to serve the congregation. Theological content and thorough discussion of various interpretations is tailored for congregational use. It will become your most trusted companion!