Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil Engineering: Subect Databases

These pages bring together key resources for students of Civil Engineering. It helps students and staff find books, ebooks, articles, journals and more

Civil Engineering Subject Resources

 

List of databases relevant specifically to Civil Engineering. If you require the full list of databases available through the UP library, please make use of this link 

STANDARDS

SANS & ASTM Standards

If you struggle to access standards.

Contact: Lathola.mchunu@up.ac.za

Civil Engineering Databases

Access Engineering

Thousands of e books covering all fields of Engineering. Offers access to authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work

Access Science

Gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

ASCE Library is an online full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Britannica Academic

When you need scholarly definitions to terminology - gateway to understanding scientific & engineering terminology in plain accessible language

Cement & Concrete Institute Library's Database

Contains technical references on all aspects of cement and concrete. Books, Conference proceedings, pamphlets, journal and electronic media. Local and international research spanning over 55 years with regular additions of new material

CRCnetBASE (Taylor & Francis)

Over 6000 online books that span over 40 disciplines. In addition to e-books published under the imprint CRC Press, CRCnetBASE also includes online references from Auerbach and Chapman & Hall

Engineering Village

Engineering Village offers access to 12 Engineering literature and Patent search databases

GeoRef

The database contains over 4 million references to Geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses

Greenfile (Ebscohost)

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

 

 

Civil Engineering Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

IEEE Xplore is a research database providing access to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, and related materials on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. It contains material published mainly by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and other partner publishers. It provides web access to more than 4.5-million documents from publications in computer science, electrical engineering, electronics and allied fields. Its documents and other materials comprise over 195 scholarly journals, over 1,800 conference proceedings, more than 6,200 technical standards, approximately 2,400 books, and over 425 online courses

Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE)

The ICE journals cover every major civil and structural engineering discipline and are considered comprehensive sources of expert advice, leading research and best practice

Knovel

Technical content and tools for engineers and scientists. Contains information on all fields of Engineering

Materials Science & Engineering Database

The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications

National Research Foundation - Masters Theses and PhD Dissertations

Electronic Theses and Dissertations from all the SA Universities

More than 1,000 journals, from a wide range of disciplines

ScienceDirect

Extensive full-text database of authoritative titles. Journal articles, ebooks and reference sources. Over 15 million publications spanning multiple disciplines

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

 

Springerlink

Springer’s journals, books and eBooks in all areas of Engineering, including a number of fully open access journals. Comprises major reference works, monographs, textbooks, conference proceedings, and book series

Wiley Online Library

1,600+ Journals, 200+ Reference Works, 21,000+ Online Books in the following fields Industrial Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Nanotechnology, Polymer Science & Technology and much more