Javett Art Centre: Reference works

No Marketing Blurb

In recent years, a growth in dance and wellbeing scholarship has resulted in new ways of thinking that place the body, movement, and dance in a central place with renewed significance for wellbeing. The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Wellbeing examines dance and related movement practices fromthe perspectives of neuroscience and health, community and education, and psychology and sociology to contribute towards an understanding of wellbeing, offer new insights into existing practices, and create a space where sufficient exchange is enabled. The handbook's research components includequantitative, qualitative, and arts-based research, covering diverse discourses, methodologies, and perspectives that add to the development of a complete picture of the topic. Throughout the handbook's wide-ranging chapters, the objective observations, felt experiences, and artistic explorations ofpractitioners interact with and are printed alongside academic chapters to establish an egalitarian and impactful exchange of ideas.

Since the 1990s, in response to dramatic transformations in the worlds of technology and the economy, design - a once relatively definable discipline, complete with a set of sub-disciplines - has become unrecognizable. Consequently, design scholars have begun to address new issues, themes and sub-disciplines such as: sustainable design, design for well-being, empathic design, design activism, design anthropology, and many more. The Routledge Companion to Design Studies charts this new expanded spectrum and embraces the wide range of scholarship relating to design - theoretical, practice-related and historical - that has emerged over the last four decades. Comprised of forty-three newly-commissioned essays, the Companion is organized into the following six sections: Defining Design: Discipline, Process Defining Design: Objects, Spaces Designing Identities: Gender, Sexuality, Age, Nation Designing Society: Empathy, Responsibility, Consumption, the Everyday Design and Politics: Activism, Intervention, Regulation Designing the World: Globalization, Transnationalism, Translation Contributors include both established and emerging scholars and the essays offer an international scope, covering work emanating from, and relating to, design in the United Kingdom, mainland Europe, North America, Asia, Australasia and Africa. This comprehensive collection makes an original and significant contribution to the field of Design Studies.

As featured in the New York Times, ARTnews, Colossal, Metropolis and New York Magazine's The Strategist A groundbreaking A-Z survey of the work of over 300 modern and contemporary artists born or based in Africa Modern and Contemporary African art is at the forefront of the current curatorial and collector movement in today's art scene. This groundbreaking new book, created in collaboration with a prestigious global advisory board, represents the most substantial appraisal of contemporary artists born or based in Africa available. Features the work of more than 300 artists, including El Anatsui, Marlene Dumas, David Goldblatt, Lubaina Himid, William Kentridge, Julie Mehretu, Wangechi Mutu, and Robin Rhode, as well as lesser-known names from across Africa, with stunning and surprising examples of their art paired with insightful texts that demonstrate their contribution to the painting, sculpture, installation, photography, moving image, and performance art. Advisory Panel: Alayo Akinkugbe, Kavita Chellaram, Raphael Chikukwa, Julie Crooks, Tandazani Dhlakama, Oumy Diaw, Janine Gaëlle Dieudji,  Ekow Eshun, Ndubuisi C. Ezeluomba, Joseph Gergel, Danda Jaroljmek, Omar Kholeif, Rose Jepkorir Kiptum, Alicia Knock, Nkule Mabaso, Lucy MacGarry,  Owen Martin, Aude Christel Mgba, Bongani Mkhonza, Riason Naidoo, Paula Nascimento, Simon Njami, Robert Njathika, Ugochukwu-Smooth C. Nzewi,  Chika Okeke-Agulu, Hannah O'Leary, Sean O'Toole, John Owoo, Brenda Schmahmann, Mark Sealy, Yasmeen Siddiqui, and Joseph L. Underwood

The study of art history, ranging from ceramics and oil paintings to architecture, and as varied in time, style, and medium as Medieval manuscripts, Baroque printmaking, and modern sculpture, has spawned a vocabulary as varied as its component parts. The vocabulary describes not only the objects of art but such complex subjects as the processes and materials from which they are made and the new concepts applied by successive critics. The long history of documenting art has produced many different types of record-keeping and descriptions, from museums, archives, slide and photograph collections to bibliographic collection in libraries and printed indexes. Drawing on these multiple sources, The Art and Architecture Thesaurus encompasses the first part of the full spectrum of terminology for art and architecture of the Western World from the ancient period to the present. Its ongoing maintenance will assure regular updates incorporating new terms and usages. The only standardized vocabulary of the subject for use in bibliographic and visual databases, and in the inventorying of collections, this innovative reference constitutes: o Some 47,000 terms used by scholars, researchers, and information professionals. o Entries for art object names in three main categories: the built environment; furnishings and equipment; and visual and verbal communication. o Twenty-three main hierarchies or "trees," including architectural elements, building types, furnishings, documents, and other artifacts, and that display each term in the context of related words. o Seven mutually exclusive facets (categories comprising the hierarchies) that represent broader categories of knowledge, including physical attributes, styles and periods, agents, activities, materials, and objects. Developed as part of the Art History Information Program of the J. Paul Getty Trust, this indispensable reference fills a great need for a comprehensive, controlled, and consistent vocabulary in the fields of art and architecture. Now in its groundbreaking print and electronic formats, the Art and Architecture Thesaurus will be an essential tool for those developing databases of collections, and for researchers who will retrieve information that has been indexed and catalogued.