Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A main component of open access is open data. The open data movement enables the dissemination of data in a free and open manner.
ARDA International Data
Offering information on most countries of the world, including data on religious adherents, freedom, demographics, and other social measures.
Google Data Search
Google Dataset Search enables users to find data sets stored across the web by way of a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about data sets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web, making these data sets universally accessible and useful.
This page hosts a number of datasets acquired by the UN. There is a wealth of information on countries of the world, such as GDP, poverty rates, and education levels. Of particular note for religion is the study "Population by religion, sex and urban/rural residence" which provides information on religion adherence broken down by both nationality and sex.
UNESCO Data Centre
Data on education, literacy, culture, communication, science, and technology.
Data Analysis Tools/Software
Is a free and open source scientific workflow system that enables researchers to create, execute, and share models and analyses.
Mendeley Data is a secure cloud-based repository where you can store your data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite, wherever you are. Browse datasets.
Is used for cleaning, transforming and matching data
Association of Religion Data Archives
Provides statistics on religion by Country
Christian Population and Statistics | GRF - Global Religious Futures ...
The Future of World Religions: Population Growth Projections, 2010-2050
The Global Religious Landscape
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, ggeography, communication, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 entities.
Countries of the World
South Africa Survey
The Institute has published the South Africa Survey annually since 1946. Today it is the leading economic, social, and political review of data trends on South Africa. Running to over 700 pages it has nine chapters covering demographics, the economy, employment and incomes, business and labour, education, health and welfare, living conditions and communications, crime and security, politics and government. It is available as a hard copy book or as nine stand-alone reports covering each of the chapter areas. These nine reports are all electronic and include both PDF and excel versions. Individual reports may be purchased online but are considerably more costly than receiving the reports through a subscriptio
Statistics South Africa
Statistics South Africa is the national statistical service of South Africa, with the goal of producing timely, accurate, and official statistics in order to advance economic growth, development, and democracy.
World Religion Database
The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys
Wazimap provides useful facts about places in South Africa. Compare places using tables and maps, download data, and embed charts on your site!