Skip to Main Content
Early Christianity and Patristic Period
BIBIndex
BIBLindex is searchable index of biblical quotations and allusions in early Christian literature. Need to register for a password
Christian Classics Ethereal
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is an online source for classic Christian writings. The Early Church Fathers section of the CCEL site provides English translations of the Church Fathers from the Ante-Nicene and Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers series, a set of late nineteenth century translations now available in the public domain. The Ante-Nicene Fathers covers writers from the Apostolic Fathers to 325. The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers consists of Series I (Augustine and John Chrysostom) and Series II (other Greek and Latin Fathers from Eusebius to Gregory the Great). Each volume contains a table of contents (which unfortunately is not collapsible and can be difficult to navigate) and indexes of scripture references, phrases in the relevant ancient and modern languages, and pages in the print edition. The library is searchable from the main CCEL page. While more modern translations of the Fathers are usually available in print form, those at the CCEL are free and easily accessible. The user should be aware of the devotional nature of the site. The same material is available in a somewhat different format at Early Church Fathers v2.0, which also contains additional material linked from CCEL, and New Advent, a Catholic devotional site. The latter has the advantage of listing authors alphabetically by name rather than by NPNF volume, in which it can be difficult to find authors if the volume in which they appear is unknown.
Annotation provided by Juliet Crawford Schwab.
The Early Christians in Their Own Words
This e-book is an anthology of collected writings of Christians living in early church communities. Each chapter contains material ranging from apologetic writing and confessions of faith to aphorisms, parables and poetry. Represented here are writers like Tertullian, Clement of Alexandria, and Paul of Tarsus. Historical and contextual notes offer background for each writing.
Early Christian Writings
Early Christian Writings is the most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
Early Church Fathers
http://www.ccel.org/fathers.html
From Jesus to Christ - The First Christians
This FRONTLINE series is an intellectual and visual guide to the new and controversial historical evidence which challenges familiar assumptions about the life of Jesus and the epic rise of Christianity. This site is anchored by the testimony of New Testament theologians, archaeologists and historians who serve as both critics and storytellers. They address dozens of key issues, disagreements and critical problems relating to Jesus' life and the evolution of Christianity. Throughout the site, maps, charts (for example, the fortress of Masada), ancient texts (including Perpetua's diary), pictures of the archaeological discoveries, ancient imagery, and audio excerpts from the television program complement and illuminate the scholars'commentary.
Guide to Evagrius Ponticus
Evagrius Ponticus (Greek: Εὐάγριος ὁ Ποντικός, "Evagrius of Pontus"), also called Evagrius the Solitary (345–399 AD), was a Christian monk and ascetic. One of the most influential theologians in the late fourth-century church, he was well known as a thinker, polished speaker, and gifted writer.
Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust holds many relevant digitised texts.
Jewish Roots of Eastern Christian Mysticism
The interdisciplinary seminar on the Jewish Roots of Eastern Christian Mysticism is designed as the internet version of an ongoing research seminar of graduate students at the department of theology of Marquette University (Milwaukee, USA). The seminar is directed by Andrei Orlov, a professor of Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity (Marquette University). The seminar started in March 2002 as an attempt to investigate Jewish mystical traditions in the eastern Christian theological and liturgical texts. It was thought that the seminar would help initiate and inspire the discussion about the Jewish influences on eastern Christian mysticism among a broader audience.
North American Patristics Society
Dedicated to the study of Early Christianity
Patristics Project
The Church Fathers are influential theologians and writers in the Church, particularly those of the first five centuries of Christian history. The term specifically refers to writers and teachers of the Church, not saints in general; usually it is not meant to include the New Testament authors.
Writings of the Early Church Fathers
The Writing of the Early Church Fathers is a 38-volume collection of writings from the first 800 years of the Church. This collection is divided into three series, Ante-Nicene, Nicene and Post-Nicene.
