Ancient History SourcebooksThe Ancient History Sourcebook, created by Paul Halsall, brings together primary source material relating to the Ancient, Hellenistic, and Classical Worlds.
Classics IndexClassics Index provides an index of Migne's Patrologia Latina.
Conspectus AuctorumAn index of the authors whose works are included in Migne's Patrologia Graeca, compiled by J.B. Pearson, D.D.
Corpus CorporumA searchable repository of full-text Latin works, including Patrologia Latina, from the University of Zurich.
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East ArchiveETANA serves as a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Greek Language and LinguisticsFree fonts, dictionaries, and tutorials useful for studying Hellenistic and Biblical Greek may be found on this website.
Latin Dictionary and GrammarThese online tools for translating Latin to English, and English to Latin are maintained by Kevin Cawley of the University of Notre Dame Archives.
Latin LibraryA selection of Latin texts texts, including authors such as Tacitus, Aquinas, and Dante, are collected here for ease of online reading. They may be downloaded for personal or educational use.
LoebolusLoebolus provides PDFs of all the public domain volumes in the Loeb Classical Library.
Perseus ProjectThis excellent source of classical texts, history, and language resources from Tufts University includes Liddel, Scott and Jones' Greek Lexicon and Lewis and Short's Latin Dictionary.
Stoa Consortium, TheNews, projects, and links for digital classicists may be found here; this website also provides online access to The Suda, a massive 10th century Byzantine Greek historical encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world, derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by yet earlier authors.
Biblical Studies
Bible GeocodingThis site uses Google Earth to identify every place mentioned in the Bible.
Bible OdysseyFree online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).
Dictionary of Nature Imagery of the Bible (DNI)DNI is designed to expand the exegetical toolbox by becoming a recognized tool that biblical scholars can turn to when addressing aspects of nature and landscape as part of their critical scholarship. DNI is structured as a research project by Prof. Dalit Rom-Shiloni of Tel Aviv University
Early Christian WritingsEarly Christian Writings is the most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
BIBIndexBIBLindex is searchable index of biblical quotations and allusions in early Christian literature. Need to register for a password
Christian Classics EtherealThe Christian Classics Ethereal Library is an online source for classic Christian writings. The Early Church Fathers section of the CCEL site provides English translations of the Church Fathers from the Ante-Nicene and Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers series, a set of late nineteenth century translations now available in the public domain. The Ante-Nicene Fathers covers writers from the Apostolic Fathers to 325. The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers consists of Series I (Augustine and John Chrysostom) and Series II (other Greek and Latin Fathers from Eusebius to Gregory the Great). Each volume contains a table of contents (which unfortunately is not collapsible and can be difficult to navigate) and indexes of scripture references, phrases in the relevant ancient and modern languages, and pages in the print edition. The library is searchable from the main CCEL page. While more modern translations of the Fathers are usually available in print form, those at the CCEL are free and easily accessible. The user should be aware of the devotional nature of the site. The same material is available in a somewhat different format at Early Church Fathers v2.0, which also contains additional material linked from CCEL, and New Advent, a Catholic devotional site. The latter has the advantage of listing authors alphabetically by name rather than by NPNF volume, in which it can be difficult to find authors if the volume in which they appear is unknown.
Annotation provided by Juliet Crawford Schwab.
The Early Christians in Their Own WordsThis e-book is an anthology of collected writings of Christians living in early church communities. Each chapter contains material ranging from apologetic writing and confessions of faith to aphorisms, parables and poetry. Represented here are writers like Tertullian, Clement of Alexandria, and Paul of Tarsus. Historical and contextual notes offer background for each writing.
Early Christian WritingsEarly Christian Writings is the most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
From Jesus to Christ - The First ChristiansThis FRONTLINE series is an intellectual and visual guide to the new and controversial historical evidence which challenges familiar assumptions about the life of Jesus and the epic rise of Christianity. This site is anchored by the testimony of New Testament theologians, archaeologists and historians who serve as both critics and storytellers. They address dozens of key issues, disagreements and critical problems relating to Jesus' life and the evolution of Christianity. Throughout the site, maps, charts (for example, the fortress of Masada), ancient texts (including Perpetua's diary), pictures of the archaeological discoveries, ancient imagery, and audio excerpts from the television program complement and illuminate the scholars'commentary.
Guide to Evagrius PonticusEvagrius Ponticus (Greek: Εὐάγριος ὁ Ποντικός, "Evagrius of Pontus"), also called Evagrius the Solitary (345–399 AD), was a Christian monk and ascetic. One of the most influential theologians in the late fourth-century church, he was well known as a thinker, polished speaker, and gifted writer.
Hathi TrustHathi Trust holds many relevant digitised texts.
Jewish Roots of Eastern Christian MysticismThe interdisciplinary seminar on the Jewish Roots of Eastern Christian Mysticism is designed as the internet version of an ongoing research seminar of graduate students at the department of theology of Marquette University (Milwaukee, USA). The seminar is directed by Andrei Orlov, a professor of Judaism and Christianity in Antiquity (Marquette University). The seminar started in March 2002 as an attempt to investigate Jewish mystical traditions in the eastern Christian theological and liturgical texts. It was thought that the seminar would help initiate and inspire the discussion about the Jewish influences on eastern Christian mysticism among a broader audience.
Patristics ProjectThe Church Fathers are influential theologians and writers in the Church, particularly those of the first five centuries of Christian history. The term specifically refers to writers and teachers of the Church, not saints in general; usually it is not meant to include the New Testament authors.
Writings of the Early Church FathersThe Writing of the Early Church Fathers is a 38-volume collection of writings from the first 800 years of the Church. This collection is divided into three series, Ante-Nicene, Nicene and Post-Nicene.
Center for the Study of New Testament ManuscriptsTo make digital photographs of extant Greek New Testament manuscripts so that such images can be preserved, duplicated without deterioration, and accessed by scholars doing textual research.
To utilize developing technologies (OCR, MSI, etc.) to read these manuscripts and create exhaustive collations.
To analyze individual scribal habits in order to better predict scribal tendencies in any given textual problem.
To publish on various facets of New Testament textual criticism.
To develop electronic tools for the examination and analysis of New Testament manuscripts.
To cooperate with other institutes in the great and noble task of determining the wording of the autographa of the New Testament.
New Testament Virtual Manuscript RoomThis site is devoted to the study of Greek New Testament manuscripts. The New Testament Virtual Manuscript Room is a place where scholars can come to find the most exhaustive list of New Testament manuscript resources, can contribute to marking attributes about these manuscripts, and can find state of the art tools for researching this rich dataset.
Ancient Greek ManuscriptsThe Center for the Study of New Testament Manuscripts (Daniel B. Wallace, Executive Director) has ambitious goals that include making digital photographs of Greek New Testament manuscripts, creating exhaustive collations, analyzing individual scribal habits, publishing, developing electronic tools for analyzing New Testament manuscripts, and cooperation with other institutions sharing similar goals.
Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Databasehe Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database project aims to provide a structured and critical survey of scholarly literature on the vocabulary of classical Hebrew. As it grows, it will offer an in-depth resource to complement traditional dictionaries, and also provide pointers to further research. This international, cooperative project involves a growing number of research centres with coordination provided by Amsterdam.
SefariaSefaria is an online library of Jewish sacred texts. It includes the Tanaach (the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament), the Mishnah, the Tosefta, the Midrashim, the Targumim, the Talmud, Medieval Rabbinic Commentators, and Halakic texts.
less...
These texts are all provided in Hebrew/Aramaic, and English translations are added as provided by contributors. This website also provides different ways of visualizing the relationships between the Jewish sources.
