Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Agile Leadership for Turbulent Times by This thought-provoking and engaging book is for you, whatever your seniority, in the private or public sector - if you are curious about the role and purpose of leadership in a turbulent world. It will help you become a more agile leader through understanding and integrating your ego, eco and intuitive intelligence. You will gain a deeper understanding of your unique leadership blend through a short diagnostic inventory, bringing insight about your strengths and what may be tripping you up. The book offers tips, ideas and practical suggestions on how to develop your ability to use the three intelligences in order to expand your leadership repertoire. It will help you enable the teams you lead to be more flexible, responsive and autonomous. The authors have drawn on their vast experience from the boardroom to the shop floor, the classroom and research around the world, to write an easy-to-digest yet ground-breaking book that deals with the root causes of today's twenty-first-century leadership challenges. Its contents are straightforward and widely applicable.
Publication Date: 2020-12-30
Breastfeeding : a guide for the medical profession by The revolution in infant feeding -- Anatomy of the breast -- Physiology of lactation -- Biochemistry of human milk -- Host-resistance factors and immunologic significance of human milk -- Psychological impact of breastfeeding -- Benefits of breastfeeding for infants/making an informed decision -- Practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple -- Maternal nutrition and supplements for mother and infant -- Weaning -- Normal growth, failure to thrive, and obesity in breastfed infants -- Medications, herbal preparations, and natural products in breast milk -- Transmission of infectious diseases through breast milk and breastfeeding -- Breastfeeding infants with problems -- Premature infants and breastfeeding -- Medical complications of mothers -- Human milk as a prophylaxis -- Employment and away from home activities while breastfeeding -- Induced lactation and relactation (including nursing the adopted baby) and cross-nursing -- Reproductive function during lactation -- The collection and storage of human milk and human milk banking -- Breastfeeding support groups and community resources -- Educating and training the medical professional.
Publication Date: 2016
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review
The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
A Double-Blind Behavioral Experiment: The Influence of Paranormal Beliefs and Media Messaging in Undergraduate Nursing and Education Students by This case study focuses on a novel controlled quasi-experimental methodology, replicating the methods of earlier work testing the effects of three different versions of a news story concerning the supernatural on the public. This study built on these findings using a web-based survey followed by a double blinded experiment to explore the prevalence of paranormal beliefs in students undertaking undergraduate professional studies and testing if these students discriminated between media stories that offered different interpretations of a reported phenomenon. Our initial presentations of findings led to some resistance and critique. These raised interesting questions about the nature of critical thinking and the role of the university and science-based programs in developing criticality in our students.
Publication Date: 2018
Human resource management in South Africa by "Now in its sixth edition, Wärnich's Human Resource Management in South Africa provides the complete introduction to Human Resource Management in the challenging business world of modern day South Africa. Dramatic changes in both the external and internal environment of organisations in South Africa since the beginning of the twenty-first century have resulted in employees increasingly expecting to be part of the decision-making process. This change, combined with developments in technology, means that human resource (HR) managers are now faced with new and important challenges. In this situation, increasing pressure is being exerted on HR managers in South Africa to make a more significant contribution to the success of their organisations - how can organisations in South Africa deal with the complexity, speed and magnitude of these changes and still create and achieve a competitive advantage?"--Publisher's description.
Publication Date: 2018
Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations and Challenges by A comprehensive guide to the structure, synergy, and challenges in U.S. health care delivery Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations and Challenges offers new insights into the most important sectors of the United States' health care industry and the many challenges the future holds. Designed to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date understanding of the system, this textbook covers the many facets of health care delivery and details the interaction of health, environments, organizations, populations, and the health professions. Written by authors with decades of experience teaching and working in health care administration and management, the book examines the current state and changing face of health care delivery in the United States. Each chapter includes learning objectives and discussion questions that help guide and engage deeper consideration of the issues at hand, providing a comprehensive approach for students. Cases studies demonstrating innovations in the delivery of health care services are also presented. Health care administration requires a thorough understanding of the multiple systems that define and shape the delivery of health care in the United States. At the same time, it is important for students to gain an appreciation of the dilemma confronting policy makers, providers, and patients in the struggle to balance cost, quality, and access. Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations and Challenges is an in-depth examination of the major health care issues and policy changes that have had an impact on the U.S. health care delivery system. Includes information on U.S. health care delivery, from care to cost, and the forces of change Focuses on major industry players, including providers, insurers, and facilities Highlights challenges facing health care delivery in the future, including physician shortages, quality care, and the chronic disease epidemic The U.S. health care system is undergoing major reform, and the effects will ripple across every sector of the industry. Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations and Challenges gives students a complete introduction to understanding the issues and ramifications.
Publication Date: 2014-12-11
Introductory Statistics for Health and Nursing Using SPSS by Introductory Statistics for Health & Nursing using SPSS is an impressive introductory statistics text ideal for all health science and nursing students. Health and nursing students can be anxious and lacking in confidence when it comes to handling statistics. This book has been developed with this readership in mind. This accessible text eschews long and off-putting statistical formulae in favour of non-daunting practical and SPSS-based examples. What's more, its content will fit ideally with the common course content of stats courses in the field. Introductory Statistics for Health & Nursing using SPSS is also accompanied by a companion website containing data-sets and examples for use by lecturers with their students. The inclusion of real-world data and a host of health-related examples should make this an ideal core text for any introductory statistics course in the field.
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
MENTAL HEALTH NURSING : a south african perspective. by Now in its 7th edition, this well-established title has been updated and revised to reflect the latest research in the field of mental health nursing. A team of authors from a range of higher education institutions has revised the text to ensure the book remains relevant to the current realities of nursing mental health care users in South Africa. The text takes the curricula of mental health nursing into account to ensure it is suitable for the new nursing programme. Rich in evidence-based practice and case studies, the book incorporates the diagnostic criteria from the DSM-5 ™ with accompanying explanatory text.
Call Number: Witbank Library Study Collection WTH 616.890231 MENTAL
Publication Date: 2019
Minor Emergencies by Minor Emergencies gives you the practical how-tos you need to handle a wide range of non-life-threatening medical crises with speed and expertise. Completely updated with the latest equipment, devices, dosages, and techniques, this compact and portable medical reference book delivers fast, efficient guidance just when you need it. With Minor Emergencies on hand, you'll always be prepared! Find guidance at a glance with "What to Do" and "What NOT to Do" checklists. Effectively respond to medical crises at the point of care with Minor Emergencies! Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Stay on top of the latest procedures and treatment guidelines with updated coverage of 184 topics, including Swimmer's Ear, Dental Pain, Broken Rib, Locked Knee, Puncture Wounds, and Sunburn. Get procedural sedation recommendations from Dr. Alfred Sacchetti, MD, FACEP.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Netter's neurology by Perfect for residents, medical students, generalists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of neurology, Netter's Neurology, 3rd Edition, provides a concise overview highlighted by unique, memorable Netter illustrations. This award-winning visual resource showcases the well-known work of Frank H. Netter, MD, and his successor, Carlos Machado, MD, a physician who has created clear, full-color illustrations in the Netter tradition. Offers a quick and memorable summary of general neurology and its intersection with internal medicine, neurosurgery, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and orthopaedics. Concise text is presented in a templated format for fast, easy access to information. Features more than 450 Netter and Netter-style images that highlight anatomy, pathophysiology, and clinical presentation related to neuroanatomical and neurologic concepts. Helps you make correlations between anatomy, pathology, physiology, and pharmacology in a clinical setting. Clinical vignettes throughout provide real-world applications to each topic. Includes access to 25 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced eBook version. Features new chapters on Laboratory Evaluation in Neurology; Neuroimaging in Neurologic Disorders; and Neurologic Emergencies and Critical Care. Presents the underlying anatomy in living patients through neuroimaging coverage, including MR, CT, and PET. NEW! Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.?Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Publication Date: 2020
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript-and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration-and more confidence-on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Reconsidering Dementia Narratives by Reconsidering Dementia Narratives explores the role of narrative in developing new ways of understanding, interacting with, and caring for people with dementia. It asks how the stories we tell about dementia - in fiction, life writing and film - both reflect and shape the way we think about this important condition. Highlighting the need to attend to embodied and relational aspects of identity in dementia, the study further outlines ways in which narratives may contribute to dementia care, while disputing the idea that the modes of empathy fostered by narrative necessarily bring about more humane care practices. This cross-medial analysis represents an interdisciplinary approach to dementia narratives which range across auto/biography, graphic narrative, novel, film, documentary and collaborative storytelling practices. The book aims to clarify the limits and affordances of narrative, and narrative studies, in relation to an ethically driven medical humanities agenda through the use of case studies. Answering the key question of whether dementia narratives align with or run counter to the dominant discourse of dementia as 'loss of self', this innovative book will be of interest to anyone interested in dementia studies, ageing studies, narrative studies in health care, and critical medical humanities.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05