Skip to Main Content
South African websites including think-tanks
African Development Bank
The overarching objective of the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction.
Commonwealth publications about globalisation and multilateral trade issues, export and enterprise development, education, gender, public service management and reform, law and human rights.
Gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide by Africa Studies Centre Leiden.
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents
Marxists Internet Archive
MIA contains the writings of around 850 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, generally spanning the past 200 years.
Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985 This link opens in a new window
The Rand Daily Mail is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. Explore deep coverage from the Boer Wars to the Apartheid Era.
International Think Thanks, Associations, etc.
The main objectives of the OAU were, inter alia, to rid the continent of the remaining vestiges of colonization and apartheid; to promote unity and solidarity among African States; to coordinate and intensify cooperation for development; to safeguard the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Member States and to promote international cooperation within the framework of the United Nations.
Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI)
CIGI is an internationally recognized think tank that addresses significant global issues at the intersection of technology and international governance.
Conciliation Resources is an international organisation committed to stopping violent conflict and creating more peaceful societies.
Council on Foreign Relations
“The mission is to be a resource and a source of ideas, and to provide analysis and background to help people understand the world.”
Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)
The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) is a dynamic inter-governmental organisation aimed at strengthening regional cooperation and sustainable development within the Indian Ocean region
Institute for Peace and Securty Studies (IPSS)
An institute at the University of Addis Abeba, focusing on education, research, and policy dialogues on peace and security in Africa.
International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS)
The International Institute for Strategic Studies is a world-leading authority on global security, political risk and military conflict.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. Based in Stockholm, SIPRI is regularly ranked among the most respected think tanks worldwide.
World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum is the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation.
The Forum engages the foremost political, business, cultural and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.