Subject Guides: NLB800: Home

Library References

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Bothma JdP, Van Rooyen N, Van Rooyen MW. 2004. Using diet and plant resources to set wildlife stocking densities in African savannas. Wildlife Society Bulletin. vol.32 (3):840-851.
Cousins JA, Sadler JP, Evans J. 2008. Exploring the role of private wildlife ranching as a conservation tool in South Africa: stakeholder perspectives. Ecology and Society. vol.13 (2):43-Art.
Cousins JA, Sadler JP, Evans J. 2010. The challenge of regulating private wildlife ranches for conservation in South Africa. Ecology and Society. vol.15 2:28-art.
de Pinho JR, Grilo C, Boone RB, Galvin KA, Snodgrass JG. 2014. Influence of Aesthetic Appreciation of Wildlife Species on Attitudes towards Their Conservation in Kenyan Agropastoralist Communities. Plos One. vol.9:2.
Fisher B, Turner RK, Morling P. 2009. Defining and classifying ecosystem services for decision-making. Ecological Economics. vol.68 (3):643-653.
International Union for Conservation of Nature. 2016. Informing decisions on trophy hunting briefing paper: A Briefing Paper for European Union Decision-makers regarding potential plans for restriction of imports of hunting trophies. IUCN.
Lindsey PA, Barnes J, Nyirenda V, Pumfrett B, Tambling CJ, Taylor WA, et al. 2013. The Zambian Wildlife Ranching Industry: Scale, Associated Benefits, and Limitations Affecting Its Development. Plos One. vol.8 (12):e81761.
Lindsey PA, Havemann CP, Lines RM, Price AE, Retief TA, Rhebergen T, et al. 2013. Benefits of wildlife-based land uses on private lands in Namibia and limitations affecting their development. Oryx. vol.47 (1):41-53.
Lindsey PA, Nyirenda VR, Barnes JI, Becker MS, McRobb R, Tambling CJ, et al. 2014 Underperformance of African Protected Area Networks and the Case for New Conservation Models: Insights from Zambia. Plos One. Vol.9(5): e94109.
McGranahan DA. 2010. Identifying ecological sustainability assessment factors for ecotourism and trophy hunting operations on private rangeland in Namibia. Journal of Sustainable Tourism. vol.19 (1):115-131.
Nielsen SN, Mueller F. 2009. Understanding the functional principles of nature-Proposing another type of ecosystem services. Ecological Modelling. vol.220(16):1913-1925.
Norgaard RB. 2010. Ecosystem services: From eye-opening metaphor to complexity blinder. Ecological Economics. vol.69(6):1219-1227.
Wallace KJ. 2007. Classification of ecosystem services: Problems and solutions. Biological Conservation. vol.39 (3-4):235-246.
White PA, Belant JL. 2015. Provisioning of Game Meat to Rural Communities as a Benefit of Sport Hunting in Zambia. Plos One. vol.10( 2): e0117237.
Wilhelm-Rechmann A, Cowling RM. 2011. Framing biodiversity conservation for decision makers: insights from four South African municipalities. Conservation Letters. vol.4 (1):73-80.

BOOKS & REPORTS:

Bothma JdP, Du Toit JG. 2016. Game ranch management. 6th ed. Pretoria: Van Schaik. Chapters 10,13,31,32,35-39, and chapter 41 to be studied.
Taylor A, Lindsey P, Davies-Mostert H. 2016. An assessment of the economic, social and conservation value of the wildlife ranching industry and its potential to support the green economy in South Africa. Republic of South Africa: Dept of Environmental Affairs.

ADDITIONAL READING:

Coetzee K. 2016. Practical techniques for habitat & wildlife management: a guide for game ranches.
conservation areas and farmland. Cape Town, South Africa: New Voices Publishing Services.
Oberem P, Oberem P. 2016. The new game rancher. Queenswood, South Africa. Briza.
Fryxell JM. 2014. Wildlife ecology, conservation, and management. Newark: John Wiley & Sons.

Library Support:
Finding resources & Tutorials assisting with EndNote, databases and searching

Veterinary Library Website - list of databases (This website lists relevant databases for animal health and related fields)
Library Research Support page - Database searching
How to search the WorldshareDiscovery Catalog & E-Book collections
How to: Google Scholar & Settings
How to search for Electronic Theses & Dissertations on UPSpace
How to search databases on the Web of Science platform and Search Strategies (A tutorial including how to conduct a search strategy)
How to search EndNote21 (full presentation)
EndNote20: Short tutorials on specific features
EndNote subject guide on library website
Journal of the South African Veterinary Association Harvard Reference Style Guide
CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Can search CABI with other Veterinary databases under: Web of Science (All Databases)
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Zoological Record (Can search Zoological Record with other Veterinary databases under: Web of Science (All Databases)

Theme 3: Scientific writing

Additional Reading

Alley, M (1996). The craft of scientific writing. New York: Springer.
Katz, MJ (2006). From research to manuscript: a guide to scientific writing. Dordrecht: Springer. (VET 808.0665 KATZ)
Sides, CH (1992). How to write and present technical information. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. (Chapter 16: How to write proposals; pp 102-110)
Winkler, A.C., McCuen, J.R. (1989). Writing the research paper: a handbook with both the MLA and APA documentation styles. San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (VET 808.02 WINKLER)

Theme 4: Introduction to experimental design

Wayne M.S., Meek, A.H., Willeberg, P.(1987), Veterinary Epidemiology: Principles and Methods VTechWorks (Virginia Tech)

Theme 6: Project budgeting and risk assessment and management

Margaret Cargill and Patrick O’ Connor 2nd Edition 2013 Writing scientific articles: strategy and steps – Chapter 18 Writing funding proposals. Wiley-Blackwell Publication
Berger, D.H.(2005), An Introduction to Obtaining Extramural Funding. Journal of surgical research, v128(2): 226-31
Rasey, J.S. (1999), The art of grant writing. Current biology, v9 (11), (19990603): R387
Gitlin, L.N. (2014), Successful grant writing: strategies for health and human service. New York: Springer.

Theme 7: Presentation

Shortland, M., Gregory, J. (1991). Communicating science. London: Longman Scientific and Technical. (Section III: Speaking; pp 103-139)
Sides, C.H. (1992). How to write and present technical information. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. (Chapter 21: How to make professional presentations; pp 147-157)
Naegle, K.M. (2021). Ten simple rules for effective presentation slides. PLOS Computational Biology. 17, e1009554. doi:10.1371/journal.pcbi.1009554

To do a search for additional Information Resources, visit the Library Website
e-Reference Books

Ideally this needs to be a list of links to ensure easy link maintenance and not using the text editor.

clickUP Contact & Other Help

Need Help?	Copyright
Myleen Oosthuizen	Copyright clearance on all these items has been obtained.
Lecturer	Grammar Tips
Prof Michael Somers	Prof Titlestad's Grammar Tips

NLB800: Home

clickUP Disclaimer

Library References

clickUP Contact & Other Help

Library clickUP Links