Once you have the full reference of the article you can go to the E-journal list. Type in the journal title and go to the desired platform. Choose the year, then the volume and issue number. Search for your article, click on the pdf version and download the article or send it to your e-mail address.
Tip: You can also search for the article on Google Scholar. Type the article title in inverted commas in the Google Scholar line. If there is a link on the right side you will be able to access the full text. If you can't find the article please contact your information specialist to request the article.
Step 1: Go to the library website www.library.up.ac.za
Step 2: On top of the page under the Search tab scroll down to Databases
Step 3: Choose a relevant database for your discipline - eg EbscoHost, Proquest, JSTOR, Taylor and Frances or even Google Scholar
Step 4: Choose relevant keywords and filter eg. full text, date. Then search.
Step 5: Mark the articles which might be useful. Go to the folder and decide which article(s) you want to use.
Step 6: If the article is not available in full text, ask your librarian to do an Interlibrary loan
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature:
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) is a comprehensive music bibliography and resource for scholarly research in music and related fields. It provides detailed indexing and abstracts for a vast range of music literature, including books, journal articles, dissertations, reviews, and more, covering topics from ethnomusicology to theory and performance.
Grove Music Online is a premier online resource for music research, offering access to the authoritative content of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and its companion dictionaries. Hosted on the Oxford Music Online platform, it features comprehensive articles on music history, composers, performers, genres, instruments, and more.
The Music Periodicals Database is a comprehensive resource for accessing music-related content from a wide range of periodicals, including scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular magazines. It covers topics such as music education, performance, composition, ethnomusicology, and the music industry.
JSTOR is a digital library offering access to a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources across numerous disciplines, including music. It provides high-quality, peer-reviewed articles on topics such as music theory, history, performance, and ethnomusicology.
The Library has enabled its full text holdings on WorldCat and EBSCO (the Library's OpenURL linking service) in Google Scholar. Search results display the following University of Pretoria Library links in results, when configured correctly:
To enable your computer to find the relevant material on Google Scholar, you will have to make the following changes to your settings for Google Scholar when you are off-campus. On campus users are recognised by their IP and no configuration should be needed.
NOTE: Settings are not transferrable between https://scholar.google.com/ and https://scholar.google.co.za/. Settings are also dependent on browser settings and can “disappear/reset” on its own and it is therefore important to always double check your Google Scholar settings.
Follow this link https://scholar.google.co.za/scholar_settings that will direct you to the Library links settings screen for Google Scholar.
From your search results, choose the relevant links on the right hand side, to view the full-text journal articles. Please note that when accessing licensed library resources, from off-campus, users will be prompted to authenticate as library users.
