It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The EMS Faculty Information Specialists are AVAILABLE to assist you with ALL your QUERIES:
WHEN : EVERY WEDNESDAY (suspended untill further notice)
WHERE : EMS Research Office (1st Office, Dean's Wing- 2nd Floor- ASK AT RECEPTION)
TIME : 8:30 - 11:30
See You There
Plagiarism is the act of taking another person"s writing, conversation, song, or even idea and passing it off as your own. This includes information from webpages, books, songs, television songs, email messages, interviews, articles, artworks or any other medium.
Referencing is a standardised method of formatting the information sources you have used in your assignment or written work. Any given referencing style serves two purposes: acknowledges the source and allows the reader to trace the source.You must always cite references you have used to avoid plagiarism.
SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools.
The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management is an authoritative and comprehensive reference resource with almost 400 entries on core HR areas and key concepts. From age discrimination, to zero hours contracts, each entry reflects the views of an expert and authoritative author.The terms included vary from singular concepts such as performance appraisal and industrial conflict, to organisational behaviour terms including organisational culture and commitment; and broader management terms such a resourcing and management development. Each entry provides a list of references and further reading to enable the reader to gain a deeper awareness and understanding of each topic. This book is an ideal companion to a standard HRM textbook, and both undergraduate and postgraduate students will find it to be of value. It will also be useful for academic researchers, HR practitioners and policy specialists looking for a succinct expert summary of key HR concepts.
Call Number: N 658 RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIA (also available electronically)
Publication Date: 2010-06-22
Research design, with its statistical underpinnings, can be especially daunting for students and novice researchers. At its heart, research design might be described simply as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge, the success of which depends upon clearly defined objectives and appropriate choice of statistical design and analysis to meet those objectives. Our three-volume Encyclopedia of Research Design elucidates how one makes decisions about research design, interprets data and draws valid inferences, undertakes research projects in an ethical manner, and evaluates experimental design strategies and results. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of research design strategies and topics including, among other things: fundamental research design principles, ethics in the research process, quantitative versus qualitative and mixed-method designs, completely randomized designs, multiple comparison tests, diagnosing agreement between data and models, fundamental assumptions in analysis of variance, factorial treatment designs, complete and incomplete block designs, Latin square and related designs, hierarchical designs, response surface designs, split-plot designs, repeated measures designs, crossover designs, analysis of covariance, statistical software packages, and much more.
Designing Social Research is a uniquely comprehensive and student-friendly guide to the core knowledge and types of skills required for planning social research. The authors organize the book around four major steps in social research - focusing, framing, selecting and distilling - placing particular emphasis on the formulation of research questions and the choice of appropriate 'logics of inquiry' to answer them. The requirements for research designs and proposals are laid out at the beginning of the book, followed by a discussion of key design issues and research ethics. Four sample research designs on environmental issues illustrate the role of research questions and the application of the four logics of inquiry, and this third edition includes new material dedicated to social research in a digital, networked age. Fully revised and updated, Designing Social Research continues to be an invaluable resource to demystify the research process for advanced undergraduate and graduate students. Together with the authors' Social Research: Paradigms in Action and Blaikie's Approaches to Social Enquiry, it offers social scientists an informative guide to designing social research.
Now updated to cover latest versions and featuring instructions for both Mac and Windows users, this book is still the go-to source of support for getting to grips with qualitative data analysis using ATLAS.ti. With over twenty years of experience using, developing, and teaching ATLAS.ti, Susanne Friese is the perfect data analysis tour guide. Aware of common challenges and sticking points, she eases readers from readying and organizing data into coding and querying it, providing not only tips on how to prepare for analysis, but also the tools and technical know-how needed to observe, examine, and discuss data. Placing quick software 'skills training' tutorials alongside different stages of the data analysis process, she gives readers the opportunity to integrate software training with their actual analysis.
The key to building a strong academic argument is finding the best sources. Find Your Sourceshows you how to cut to the chase and uncover the right sources for your project. Research like a boss and search your library catalogue effectively Focus your online search so you don't get lost down a black hole Sniff out quality sources (and reject the unreliable ones). Super Quick Skills provide the essential building blocks you need to succeed at university - fast. Packed with practical, positive advice on core academic and life skills, you'll discover focused tips and strategies to use straight away. Whether it's writing great essays, understanding referencing or managing your wellbeing, find out how to build good habits and progress your skills throughout your studies. Learn core skills quickly Apply right away and see results Succeed in your studies and life. Super Quick Skills give you the foundations you need to confidently navigate the ups and downs of university life.
The nature and process of social research -- Social research strategies: quantitative research and qualitative research -- Research designs -- Planning a research project and formulating research questions -- Getting started: reviewing the literature -- The nature of quantitative research -- Sampling in quantitative research -- Structured interviewing -- Self-administered questionnaires -- Asking questions -- Structured observation -- Content analysis -- Quantitative data analysis -- Using IBM SPSS statistics -- The nature of qualitative research -- Sampling in qualitative research -- Ethnography and participant observation -- Interviewing in qualitative research and focus groups -- Language in qualitative research -- Documents as sources of data -- Qualitative data analysis -- Mixed methods research: combining quantitative and qualitative research -- Writing up social research -- Ethics and politics in social research.
With its emphasis on practical and conceptual aspects, rather than mathematics or formulas, this accessible book has established itself as the go-to resource on confirmatory factor analysis (CFA). Detailed, worked-through examples drawn from psychology, management, and sociology studies illustrate the procedures, pitfalls, and extensions of CFA methodology. The text shows how to formulate, program, and interpret CFA models using popular latent variable software packages (LISREL, Mplus, EQS, SAS/CALIS); understand the similarities and differences between CFA and exploratory factor analysis (EFA); and report results from a CFA study. It is filled with useful advice and tables that outline the procedures. The companion website (www.guilford.com/brown3-materials) offers data and program syntax files for most of the research examples, as well as links to CFA-related resources. New to This Edition *Updated throughout to incorporate important developments in latent variable modeling. *Chapter on Bayesian CFA and multilevel measurement models. *Addresses new topics (with examples): exploratory structural equation modeling, bifactor analysis, measurement invariance evaluation with categorical indicators, and a new method for scaling latent variables. *Utilizes the latest versions of major latent variable software packages.
As Human Resource Development (HRD) research has developed, a growing variety of quantitative and qualitative data collection procedures and analysis techniques have been adopted; research designs now include mono, multiple and mixed methods. This Handbook brings together the wealth of research methods experience gained by HRD researchers into one essential volume. Organised into four parts, the book explores conceptual issues, qualitative research methods, quantitative research methods and methodological challenges. It utilises the wealth of research experiences of leading HRD scholars to provide a range of insights highlighting what works, what does not work and associated challenges. Each chapter provides annotated further reading, allowing the reader to expand on the topics discussed. The Handbook will prove invaluable for students and academics in the social sciences who are interested in the development of human resources - particularly postgraduates undertaking research on HRD and undergraduates researching HRD issues. It will also be of use to academics teaching research focused modules on HRD and people related issues, as well as experienced HRD researchers looking to further develop their understanding of methods for researching HRD.
Human resource management as a field of research is a broad church, with a wide variety of research methods in use. This Handbook focuses on qualitative research methods and explores the opportunities and challenges of new technologies for innovating data collection and data analysis. The editors have brought together 18 chapters, written by some of the world's leading researchers in their field. They begin with the importance of good project design and then move on to reflect on innovations and developments in data sources, such as netnographical methods, legal research methods, the use of news media, and historical research. They go on to outline innovations in data collection methods with particular pertinence to key HRM topics. Finally, the contributors explore innovative data analysis, looking at the importance of computer-supported qualitative research, causal cognitive mapping and deriving behavioural role descriptions from the perspectives of job-holders.This Handbook is an invaluable tool for students, researchers and academics in the field of human resource management.
Covering the period of the financial crisis, this Research Handbook discusses the degree of importance of different driving forces on employee turnover. The discussions contribute to policy agendas on productivity, firm performance and economic growth. The contributors provide a selection of theoretical and empirical research papers that deal with aspects of employee turnover, as well as its effects on workers and firms within the current socio-economic environment. It draws on theories and evidence from economics, management, social sciences and other related disciplines.With its interdisciplinary approach, this book will appeal to a variety of students and academics in related fields. It will also be of interest to policy makers, HR experts, firm managers and other stakeholders.
Publishing your research
WHERE TO PUBLISH?
Ask your Librarian/Information Specialist for assistance BEFORE submitting your article.
ResearcherID provides a solution to the author ambiguity problem within the scholarly research community. Each member is assigned a unique identifier to enable researchers to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author misidentification. In addition, your ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account. Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world!
An acronym for Open Researcher and Contributor ID
An open, non-profit community-based effort to create & maintain a registry of unique research identifiers
It provides a standard unique author identifier
ORCID aims to prevent author confusion brought about by name ambiguities
Connects all existing identities- thus reducing repetitive data entry
Improves discoverability of research
For grant/funding applications & ratings
For publishing in certain journals
For linking researchers
This Guide will provide information on processes, procedures and policy with regards to research data management (RDM), as well as access to resources and tools that can support researchers in managing their data.