Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HRM ebooks bought_2017 to current
These books cover topics on applied psychology, artificial intelligence, change management, diversity management, emotions and identity, leadership, professionalism, and research (focusing on qualitative research and research supervision).
Responsible, Sustainable, and Globally Aware Management in the Fourth Industrial Revolution by
Call Number: 658.408 RESPONSIBLE
Publication Date: 2019-04-19
Industry 4.0 is the first industrial revolution where technology and humans are very closely integrated. This has a profound effect on how the changes brought on by this revolution will impact managers and why it is critical for managers to be more responsible, more focused on sustainability, and more globally aware. Responsible, Sustainable, and Globally Aware Management in the Fourth Industrial Revolution focuses on responsible and sustainable management practices to better use innovative technologies and understand the impact of these technologies on business processes and the environment for organizational success. Featuring research on topics such as cognitive development, JointExpertise, artificial intelligence, green management, and more, this book is a vital reference source for business professionals and managers, scholars, practitioners, researchers, students, policymakers, non-profit organizations, and consultants seeking coverage on business sustainability.
The Workplace of the Future by
Call Number: 331.20115 JOHANNESSEN
Publication Date: 2019
The Fourth Industrial Revolution is a global development that shows no signs of slowing down. In his book, The Workplace of the Future: The Fourth Industrial Revolution, the Precariat and the Death of Hierarchies, Jon-Arild Johannessen sets a chilling vision of how robots and artificial intelligence will completely disrupt and transform working life. The author contests that once the dust has settled from the Fourth Industrial Revolution, workplaces and professions will be unrecognizable and we will see the rise of a new social class: the precariat. We will live side by side with the 'working poor' ¿ people who have several jobs, but still can¿t make ends meet. There will be a small salaried elite consisting of innovation and knowledge workers. Slightly further into the future, there will be a major transformation in professional environments. Johannessen also presents a typology for the precariat, the uncertain work that is created and develops a framework for the working poor, as well as for future innovation and knowledge workers, and sets out a new structure for the social hierarchy. A fascinating and thought-provoking insight into the impact of the Fourth Industrial Revolution, The Workplace of the Future will be of interest to professionals and academics alike. The book is particularly suited to academic courses in management, economy, political science and social sciences.
Global Talent Management by
Call Number: 658.3 MINOCHA
Publication Date: 2019-01-10
This textbook provides the theory and practice context of Global Talent Management within an accessible conceptual framework for students, spanning individuals (micro), organisations (meso) and policy (macro). Including discussions on the development of self as global talent and current organisational approaches to the attraction, development and retention of global talent, this book encourages critical reflection of how global talent management is affected by policy, society and the economy. The authors draw on interdisciplinary fields, practical insights from global employers and wide-ranging case studies to help students grasp the complexities of this evolving field.
Human + Machine by
Call Number: 331.256 DAUGHERTY
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
AI is radically transforming business. Are you ready? Look around you. Artificial intelligence is no longer just a futuristic notion. It's here right now--in software that senses what we need, supply chains that "think" in real time, and robots that respond to changes in their environment. Twenty-first-century pioneer companies are already using AI to innovate and grow fast. The bottom line is this: Businesses that understand how to harness AI can surge ahead. Those that neglect it will fall behind. Which side are you on? In Human + Machine, Accenture leaders Paul R. Daugherty and H. James (Jim) Wilson show that the essence of the AI paradigm shift is the transformation of all business processes within an organization--whether related to breakthrough innovation, everyday customer service, or personal productivity habits. As humans and smart machines collaborate ever more closely, work processes become more fluid and adaptive, enabling companies to change them on the fly--or to completely reimagine them. AI is changing all the rules of how companies operate. Based on the authors' experience and research with 1,500 organizations, the book reveals how companies are using the new rules of AI to leap ahead on innovation and profitability, as well as what you can do to achieve similar results. It describes six entirely new types of hybrid human + machine roles that every company must develop, and it includes a "leader's guide" with the five crucial principles required to become an AI-fueled business. Human + Machine provides the missing and much-needed management playbook for success in our new age of AI. BOOK PROCEEDS FOR THE AI GENERATION The authors' goal in publishing Human + Machine is to help executives, workers, students and others navigate the changes that AI is making to business and the economy. They believe AI will bring innovations that truly improve the way the world works and lives. However, AI will cause disruption, and many people will need education, training and support to prepare for the newly created jobs. To support this need, the authors are donating the royalties received from the sale of this book to fund education and retraining programs focused on developing fusion skills for the age of artificial intelligence.
Work in the Digital Age by
Call Number: 331.25 WORK
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Shining a light on the very different experiences of work in the digital age, this book provides a unique contribution to the reform discussion on the consequences of the fourth industrial revolution. Drawing on a wide range of international expertise, contributors examine important policy challenges arising from the transformation of work as a result of the introduction of digital technology at work. Authors in this volume discuss the effects of automation, platform business models, stagnating productivity, increasing regional disparities, and rising levels of inequality within and between countries. They consider how to unlock the vast economic and social potential of new technologies and the implications for policy reform to meet these challenges. Mastering them requires developing a new inclusive narrative and progressive reform agenda. Such an agenda would be economic and political, and not determined universally by technology. The narrative is not only about what policymakers need to do, which is rather a lot. It is also about reforming established organisations and institutions, understanding new emerging players and supporting disaffected citizens in how the effects of these changes are going to affect their lives. The authors clearly pinpoint what needs to be done to support the transition to work in the digital era.
Future-Ready Leadership by
Call Number: 658.4092 GROSCURTH
Publication Date: 2018-08-09
Provides executive leadership teams with the information, tools, and advice they need to lead their organizations into the "future of work," characterized by transformative, smart, and connected technologies already under way, including artificial intelligence, the internet of things, and automation. * Fully unpacks what 4IR and the rise of new industries will require from leaders * Illuminates the central role played by behavioral economics in the 4IR era, rather than just the macroeconomic implications for society of the convergence of the megatrends under way * Introduces tools for helping leaders to prepare themselves and assess their organization's readiness for managing high-velocity change * Provides a roadmap for rethinking how learning and development are fostered in "always-on" learning organizations of the future * Clarifies the critical role of public-private collaborations in meeting the development needs of the future of work * Introduces discernment as a strategy for managing future-of-work ethical decisions that inevitably accompany the integration of AI in the work force
Agility. X by
Call Number: 658.4012 AGILITY
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
In recent years, the concept of agility has captured the executive imagination, and leaders in a variety of industries and companies of all sizes are now searching for ideas on how to effectively utilize agile thinking. This book provides insights on agility from world-class experts on leadership, strategy and organization, alongside seasoned practitioners who have successfully implemented agility programs for companies such as Daimler, Ford Motor Company, J. W. Thompson, Siemens, and NASA. By combining theoretical expertise with a variety of managerial experiences, it provides a wide-ranging yet succinct guide for companies seeking to engage in the transformative journey towards becoming more agile. As such, it will be of great use and interest to executives in all industries, executive education participants and consultants, M.B.A. students and researchers interested in agile. Agility.X prepares leaders for managing under uncertainty and organizations for thriving in turbulent environments.
The Early Years of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
Call Number: 658.3 VINCHUR
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
This book provides a history of the origins of industrial-organizational (I-O) psychology, focusing on the late nineteenth century and early twentieth centuries. Taking an international perspective, The Early Years of Industrial-Organizational Psychology examines the context in which the field emerged, and its origins in the measurement of individual differences. Andrew J. Vinchur covers the initial applications of psychology in advertising, the study of fatigue, and especially employee selection, as well as the role industrial psychology played in World War I and the post-war expansion of the field. He also examines the education of industrial psychologists, their efforts to establish industrial psychology as a profession, and the beginnings of the organizational side of the field.
Teaching Human Resource Management by
Call Number: 658.30071 TEACHING
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
This book breathes life into the teaching of Human Resource Management (HRM) by creating learning that applies the theoretical aspects of the discipline to meaningful contexts. In this way, readers will be able to better relate theoretical concepts to workplace decisions and dilemmas. The management of human resources (HR) is a critical function contributing to an organization's competitiveness in ways that are at least as important as the management of financial and capital resources. To that end, it is essential that future managers and HR specialists destined for careers in business, government and not for profit organizations develop key skills and competences in HR. Experiential learning ignites the desire to learn, while revealing the importance and impact of knowledge and skills necessary to analyze and resolve HR-related dilemmas and challenges in contemporary organizations. While many publications provide direction and advice on the teaching of organizational behavior and leadership, it is harder to find accessible books to support the teaching of HR in motivating and grounded ways. The authors include over 65 exercises, activities, and cases for the undergraduate, MBA and executive learning classrooms. HR professors and practitioners will find it of value and students will be left feeling well prepared for the kinds of situations that await them in the field of--and situations requiring expertise in--HR.
Generational Career Shifts by
Call Number: 658.3 NG
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Organizations and employers are currently managing an inter-generational workforce, and the most prudent of these are seeking to enhance the careers of new entrants. HRM, careers, and work researchers have begun to explore career-related differences among the four generations of workers currently in employment, but to date there has been very little in the way of full-length comparative studies. In Generational Career Shifts: How Veterans, Boomers, Xers, and Millennials View Work, Eddy S. Ng, Sean T. Lyons, and Linda Schweitzer develop a timely, wide-ranging examination of inter-generational differences in work priorities, career attitudes, career experiences, and career outcomes. Offering a comprehensive overview of existing research, and drawing upon the authors' own largescale study of students and knowledge workers, this book documents how careers have fundamentally shifted over the past five decades. Along the way, it offers crucial insights into what these shifts mean for employers and their management strategies. Generational Career Shifts is essential reading for career researchers, generational researchers, practitioners within executive education, as well as for career counsellors, human resource departments, corporate libraries, and people managers.
Applied personnel psychology by
Call Number: 658.31009 APPLIED
Publication Date: 2018
Organizations, work, and applied psychology -- People, decisions, and the systems approach -- Criteria: Concepts, measurement, and evaluation -- Performance management -- Fairness in employment decisions -- Recruitment -- Analyzing jobs and work -- Strategic workforce planning -- Selections methods -- Decision making for selection -- Training and development: Considerations in design -- Training and development: Implementation and the measurement of outcomes -- Organizational responsibility and ethical issues in human resource management -- International dimensions of applied psychology -- Appendix: Scientific and legal guidelines on employee selection procedures -checklists for compliance -- Appendix: An overview of correlation and linear regression -- Appendix: Decision trees for statistical methods.
Applied Psychology in Talent Management by
Call Number: 658.30019 CASCIO
Publication Date: 2018-08-22
Now with SAGE Publishing! In Applied Psychology in Talent Management, world-renowned authors Wayne F. Cascio and Herman Aguinis provide the most comprehensive, future-oriented overview of psychological theories and how those theories impact people decisions in today's ever-changing workplace. Taking a rigorous, evidence-based approach, the new Eighth Edition includes more than 1,000 new citations from more than 20 top-tier journal articles. The authors emphasize the latest developments in the field--all in the context of historical perspectives. Integrated coverage of technology, strategy, globalization, and social responsibility throughout the text provides students with a holistic view of the field and equips them with the practical tools to create productive, enjoyable work environments.
Presenteeism at Work by
Call Number: 331.256 PRESENTEEISM
Publication Date: 2018-08-23
Coming to work sick may do more harm than staying home - for the employee, the team, and the firm. Whilst the cost of absenteeism in organizations has been widely acknowledged and extensively examined, the counter-issue of 'presenteeism' has only recently attracted scholarly attention as a phenomenon that harms employee wellbeing, disrupts team dynamism, and damages productivity. This volume brings together leading international scholars from diverse scientific backgrounds, including occupational psychology, health, and medicine, to provide a pioneering review of the subject. International in scope, the collection incorporates both Western and East Asian perspectives, making it an informative resource for multinational companies seeking to formulate human resource strategies and better manage their culturally diverse workforce. It will also appeal to scholars and graduate students researching human resource management, organization studies, organizational health, and organizational psychology.
Creating Corporate Sustainability by
Call Number: 658.408 CREATING
Publication Date: 2018-05-24
This compelling volume considers three significant modern developments: the ever-changing role of women in society; a significant and growing dissatisfaction with current dominant understandings of corporate governance, corporate law and corporate theory; and the increasing concern to establish sustainable business models globally. A range of female scholars from across the globe and from different disciplines interconnect these ideas in this unique collection of new and thought-provoking essays. Readers are led through a carefully planned enquiry focussing initially on female activism and the corporation, secondly on liberal attempts to include women in business leadership and, finally, on critiquing the modern focus on women as a 'fix' for ethical and unsustainable business practises which currently dominates the corporate world. This collection presents a fresh perspective on what changes are needed to create the sustainable corporation and the potential role of women as influencers or as agents for these changes.
The Cambridge Handbook of the Global Work-Family Interface by
Call Number: 306.36 CAMBRIDGE
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
The Cambridge Handbook of the Global Work-Family Interface is a response to growing interest in understanding how people manage their work and family lives across the globe. Given global and regional differences in cultural values, economies, and policies and practices, research on work-family management is not always easily transportable to different contexts. Researchers have begun to acknowledge this, conducting research in various national settings, but the literature lacks a comprehensive source that aims to synthesize the state of knowledge, theoretical progression, and identification of the most compelling future research ideas within field. The Cambridge Handbook of the Global Work-Family Interface aims to fill this gap by providing a single source where readers can find not only information about the general state of global work-family research, but also comprehensive reviews of region-specific research. It will be of value to researchers, graduate students, and practitioners of applied and organizational psychology, management, and family studies.
The Cambridge Handbook of Workplace Training and Employee Development by
Call Number: 658.3124 CAMBRIDGE
Publication Date: 2017-11-09
With comprehensive coverage of topics related to learning, training, and development, this volume is a must-have resource for industrial and organizational (I/O) psychologists, human resource (HR) scholars, and adult education specialists. Brown provides a forward-looking exploration of the current research on workplace training, employee development, and organizational learning from the primary point of view of industrial organizational psychology. Each chapter discusses current practices, recent research, and, importantly, the gaps between the two. In analyzing these aspects of the topic, the chapter authors both present the valuable knowledge available and show the opportunities for further study and practice.
Call Number: MKY 344.125960968 GROGAN
Publication Date: 2017
The Ideological Evolution of Human Resource Management by
Call Number: 658.3 ITANI
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
This bookis a pioneering work that maps out the ideological evolution of HRM researchand practices, with a particular focus on our contemporary era of multinationalcorporations. It explores the ideological evolution of Human ResourceManagement (HRM) from the 1950s to the present day and maps out the developmentof HRM research and practices from a Critical Theory perspective. Its findingsopen up avenues for metatheoretical development within the HRM research fieldand provide employees under modern capitalism with emancipatory awareness. Both thetheoretical framework and the empirical findings of this study will be ofinterest to HRM researchers as well as management researchers of all epistemologicalbackgrounds, particularly those working within Critical Management Studies. Thiswork will also appeal to teachers and students, and it could serve as a textbookfor a number of postgraduate level courses, including Organization Theory,Critical Management Studies, Human Resource Management, Business History,Sociology of Management, and Critical Theory.
Handbook of Employee Selection by
Call Number: 658.3112 HANDBOOK
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
This second edition of the Handbook of Employee Selection has been revised and updated throughout to reflect current thinking on the state of science and practice in employee selection. In this volume, a diverse group of recognized scholars inside and outside the United States balance theory, research, and practice, often taking a global perspective. Divided into eight parts, chapters cover issues associated with measurement, such as validity and reliability, as well as practical concerns around the development of appropriate selection procedures and implementation of selection programs. Several chapters discuss the measurement of various constructs commonly used as predictors, and other chapters confront criterion measures that are used in test validation. Additional sections include chapters that focus on ethical and legal concerns and testing for certain types of jobs (e.g., blue collar jobs). The second edition features a new section on technology and employee selection. The Handbook of Employee Selection, Second Edition provides an indispensable reference for scholars, researchers, graduate students, and professionals in industrial and organizational psychology, human resource management, and related fields. ployee selection. The Handbook of Employee Selection, Second Edition provides an indispensable reference for scholars, researchers, graduate students, and professionals in industrial and organizational psychology, human resource management, and related fields.
The Internet in the Workplace by
Call Number: 658.054678 WALLACE
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
The capabilities offered by netcentric technologies might seem to eliminate the need for physical workplace altogether, but the workplace remains, partly because the virtual, and in fact, the physical appearance of a typical office looks about the same. Nevertheless, the psychological characteristics of the workplace have changed considerably. Workers, from the mail room clerk to the CEO, are learning new skills - to capitalize on the net's power, but avoid the egregious blunders that the net so dramatically amplifies. In The Internet in the Workplace, Wallace shows how netcentric technologies touch every kind of workplace, and explores the challenges and dilemmas they create.