Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture: Subject Home

Dedicated Databases for Architecture

Architecture Guide to Library Sources

  

Search Everything Advanced Search Find Books eBooks Articles

eBook Collections

eBook Central eBooks Filter with Owned+subscribed to by my library

Ebsco Host eBook Collection Select eBook Collection Filter with FULL TEXT

Taylor+Francis eBooks Subjects--Select Built Environment FILTER Content which I have access to

Wiley Online Library Select Subjects Architecture+Planning eBooks

Profile Photo
Rianie van der Linde
Information Specialist
Contact:
Merensky 2 Library
+27 (0)12 420 4789/2266
Website

La Shed Architecture--Montreal, Canada

Until the cows come home Designing with animals in mind L Bratishenko

A humane and thoughful design of a cow shed in Quebec, Canada by La Shed Architecture from Montreal reveals the limits of an architecture of exploitation. The architect, Samuel Guimond had an approach of making a home for a family because “cows deserve the same respect”.  The barn has a  charming, peacful and simple space, a more thoughful interior than you will find in many buildings for humans in Canada….Read the whole story in the Architectural review Iss 1488/2022 [Printed Journal Collection Level 5 720 Serials]

From the Printed Journal Collection

Designing for Community: The Library as Intercommunity Hub

[Architect April 2022]  Annapolis, MD., played a more pivotal role in the early life of the United States than most know, serving as the nation's capital immediately following the Revolutionary War. In 1783, George Washington resigned his commission as commander-in-chief of the Continental Army in the Maryland State House in the city's downtown, a moment in history that lives on in the words of his resignation speech, now on display on custom panels over the "nave" of the new Michael E. Busch Annapolis Library in Anne Arundel country.

Public Architecture in Las Vegas

From the Printed Journal Collection

Rustic Wood-and-stoneArchitectural Record May 2022 

Continuing Education: 3-D-Printed Houses Will addictive manufacturing revolutionize residential design and construction?

Great claims have emerged from the field of 3-D-printed architecture, including reports of entire houses, costing barely a few thousand dollars, built robotically, within a day or two, from digital instructions delivered via cellphone app.