Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture: Subject Home

Dedicated Databases for Architecture

Architecture Guide to Library Sources

 

Search Everything Advanced Search Find Books eBooks Articles

Profile Photo
Rianie van der Linde
Information Specialist
Contact:
Merensky 2 Library
+27 (0)12 420 4789/2266
Website

New eBooks

 Toward a living architecture? : complexism and biology in generative design

C Cogdell 2018 Univ of Minnesota Press Codgell examines the emerging field of generative architecture and its nexus with computation, biology, and complexity. Based on her field research in architecture studios and biological labs, the book critiques generative architecture by evaluating its scientific rhetoric and disjunction from actual scientific theory and practice, definitively explaining the role of the natural sciences within contemporary architecture.

Research methods for the architectural profession  A Aksamija 2021

This book provides a roadmap for successfully integrating research into architectural design and for establishing innovative practices, regardless of a firm's size. Written by an architecture professor with extensive research and professional background and richly illustrated with over 150 color images, this book will be useful for both students and practitioners

eBook Collections for Architecture

eBook Central eBooks

Keyword Searches--Subject Areas include Architecture 

Filter with Owned and subscribed to by my library

Ebsco Host eBook Collection 

Select eBook Collection--Arts+Architecture

Filter with Subject + FULL TEXT

Taylor + Francis eBooks

Subjects--Built Environment - FILTER by: Content which I have access to

Wiley Online Library

Select Online Books at the top

Select Subjects--Architecture + Planning

Royal Gold Medal for Architecture 2022

Balkrishna Doshi to receive 2022 Royal Gold medal for architecture

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announced that Balkrishna Doshi will receive the Royal Gold Medal 2022, one of the world’s highest honours for architecture, given in recognition of a lifetime’s work and personally approved by HM The Queen. With a 70 year career and over 100 built projects, Balkrishna Doshi has influenced the direction of architecture in India and its adjacent regions through both his practice and teaching. His buildings combine pioneering modernism with vernacular, informed by a deep appreciation of the traditions of India’s architecture, climate, local culture and craft.  [Riba]

UP Access Bookmarklet for Chrome

Add a UP Access bookmarklet to your Google Chrome browser

  1. Ensure that your bookmarks bar is visible by pressing "Ctrl+Shift+B" simultaneously on your keyboard.
  2. Click on the button below and drag it to your bookmarks bar.

UP ACCESS [For Chrome]

Click on UP Access Bookmark whenever Full Text is lacking.  If the library is subscribed to that publication, UP Access will make the Full Text available. OOPS page popping up?  The library is not subscribed. Contact me for assistance.