Building a Black Criminology Volume 24 by
In light of the Black Lives Matter movement and protests in many cities, race plays an ever more salient role in crime and justice. Within theoretical criminology, however, race has oddly remained on the periphery. It is often introduced as a control variable in tests of theories and is rarely incorporated as a central construct in mainstream paradigms (e.g., control, social learning, and strain theories). When race is discussed, the standard approach is to embrace the racial invariance thesis, which argues that any racial differences in crime are due to African Americans being exposed to the same criminogenic risk factors as are Whites, just more of them. An alternative perspective has emerged that seeks to identify the unique, racially specific conditions that only Blacks experience. Within the United States, these conditions are rooted in the historical racial oppression experienced by African Americans, whose contemporary legacy includes concentrated disadvantage in segregated communities, racial socialization by parents, experiences with and perceptions of racial discrimination, and disproportionate involvement in and unjust treatment by the criminal justice system. Importantly, racial invariance and race specificity are not mutually exclusive perspectives. Evidence exists that Blacks and Whites commit crimes for both the same reasons (invariance) and for different reasons (race-specific). A full understanding of race and crime thus must involve demarcating both the general and specific causes of crime, the latter embedded in what it means to be "Black" in the United States. This volume seeks to explore these theoretical issues in a depth and breadth that is not common under one cover. Again, given the salience of race and crime, this volume should be of interest to a wide range of criminologists and have the potential to be used in graduate seminars and upper-level undergraduate courses.
Criminology by
An introductory text for first year criminology students, covering the key questions, debates and theoretical models in the field, as well as themes of inequality, social justice, and human rights, to encourage an international or ′globalised′ understanding of crime and justice matters. The book provides students with a strong, interdisciplinary foundation to their criminological studies, covering all the key topics taught on a first year course, including: The causes and prevalence of crime Doing criminological research The social divisions (class, power and inequality) that relate to crime and justice The role of politics and the media Punishment Corporate crime and cybercrime Global justice All content is supported by case studies on contemporary issues, and online resources for students and lecturers, consisting of video interviews between the author and academics or practitioners in the field of criminology, addressing key topics outlined in the book and discussing case studies. There are also lecturer PowerPoint slides, testbank, and web links to blogs, datasets, specialised video and audio materials.
Heist! by
Heist! is an in-depth look at 10 of South Africa's most audacious heists. From the 1996 'burning man' case, where four security guards were burnt alive in their armoured vehicle after a ferocious fight-back against highly trained mercenaries, to the 2016 robbery of a cash centre in Witbank, where a gang made off with almost R107 million after impersonating police officers, this is an impeccably researched reconstruction of an endemic crime phenomenon that some analysts warn could bring South Africa to its knees. Using the information gleaned from thousands of pages of court documents and press reports, as well as interviews with scores of police officers, crime-intelligence agents, prosecutors defence lawyers, researchers, journalists, security guards and the criminals themselves Heist! gives unprecedented insight into a type of crime that increased by a staggering 49 per cent in the first eight months of 2017 alone. As informative and thought-provoking as it is distressing, this is a book by an investigative journalist at the top of her game.
Women, Gender, and Crime by
Women, Gender, and Crime: Core Concepts provides students with a complete and concise view into the intersection of gender and the criminal justice system. Author Stacy L. Mallicoat explores core topics on women as victims, offenders, and criminal justice professionals as they interact with various areas of the criminal justice system. She investigates relevant subjects that are not found in many traditional texts, including women who work as victim advocates and international issues of crime and justice relating to gender. Key Features: This text discusses women and victimization prior to covering women as offenders, because victimization is often a precursor to offending. Case Studies present compelling examples that connect concepts to real-life occurrences to reinforce learning and cover key issues, such as, sexual victimization in the military, stalking on college campuses, financial challenges for incarcerated women, pregnancy and policing, and self-care for victim advocates. Coverage of critical topics introduce students to important issues such as gender representation in criminal justice academia, multiple marginalities and LGBT populations, cyberstalking, labor trafficking, and challenges faced by women as criminal justice practitioners. Statistics, graphs, and tables demonstrate the most recent trends in the field to give students an accurate picture of the criminal justice system today. The free, open-access Student Site at study.sagepub.com/mallicoat3e features web quizzes, web resources, and more. Instructors, sign in at study.sagepub.com/mallicoat3e for additional resources!
White-Collar Crime by
"This is a good textbook for undergraduate students as it explains clearly and simply the concepts and types of white-collar crime, provides good examples, and does not overwhelm the student with unnecessary information in most areas." --Cindy A. Boyles, University of Tennessee at Martin The thoroughly updated Second Edition of White Collar Crime: The Essentials continues to be a comprehensive, yet concise, resource addressing the most important topics students need to know about white-collar crime. Author Brian K. Payne provides a theoretical framework and context for students that explores such timely topics as crimes by workers, sales-oriented systems, crimes in the health care system, crimes by criminal justice professionals and politicians, crimes in the educational system, crimes in economic and technological systems, corporate crime, environmental crime, and more. This easy to read teaching tool is a valuable resource for any course that covers white-collar crime. ? Online resources also available--FREE when used with the new edition!
Criminological Theory by
The authoritative resource for concise, chronological coverage of all the major sociological criminological theories This book provides all of the key principles of the most researched theories in the field of criminology in a concise, clearly written, and economical format. For over 30 years Williams and McShane's Criminological Theory has been one of the most well-respected resources for undergraduate and graduate students nationwide, much appreciated for its strong research orientation and detailed research bibliographies that show the relationship between theory, research, and policy. Chapters are logically arranged with the social, cultural, and political context necessary to maximize understanding of the times that generated and supported the various theories presented. The book provides a chronological map tracing the development of each theory in relation to its predecessors and its role in the evolution of future theories. Each chapter ties into the preceding and subsequent chapter, making the theories that are meaningful to criminology today more cohesive. As a result, by understanding the relationship between early and present theory, students see the role played by the theorist more realistically, and can see themselves participating in theory as others before them have done.
Great Debates in Criminology by
This book explores the role of theory and research in criminology. Adopting a unique and refreshing approach to criminological theory, it focuses on the great debates in criminology from its inception as a field to the present day. It explores the debates that have motivated criminological thought, that have represented turning points in theoretical and empirical trajectories, that have offered mini-paradigm shifts, and that have moved the field forward. Coverage includes: Classical debates, including the work of Lombroso, Durkheim, and Sutherland; Sociological vs. psychological debates in criminology; Control theory and cultural deviance theory; Criminal career and trait-based theory; Theory testing in criminology; Critical theories in criminology; Debates on the state of criminology and criminal justice; Policy issues in criminology. Each chapter explores several key debates, summarizes key points, and offers a discussion of the current empirical status. This book is novel in emphasising the role of debate in criminology and offering an enlightening synthesis of theorists and their perspectives. It is essential reading for students taking courses on criminological theory and teachers of those theories. A companion website will include a sample syllabus, PowerPoint lecture slides, examples of assignments, a test bank with sample exams for instructors, video and website links, a glossary of important terms, audio content, and study guides for students.
Women in the Criminal Justice System by 
Current Perspectives in Forensic Psychology and Criminal Behavior by 
Self-Control and Crime over the Life Course by 
Statistics Without Mathematics by 
Seven Steps to a Comprehensive Literature Review by 
Statistics for Criminology and Criminal Justice by 
Criminological Theory in Context by
This book provides a lively, concise and definitive introduction to the study of the causes of crime. Authoritative yet accessible, it offers a guide to the historical development of criminology as an academic discipline and in doing so: presents an overview of a range of different theories of crime, including classical, biological, psychological and sociological approaches analyses the strengths and weaknesses of each theory discussed provides chapter overview boxes and key summary points helps you to take your studies further with self-study tasks and suggestions for further reading. In covering key theoretical positions and placing them in their historical context, Criminological Theory in Context is perfect for students taking introductory courses in criminological theory.
Crime and social theory by 
Researching Crime by 
Women, Gender, and Crime by 
Introduction to Corrections by 
Handbook of Victims and Victimology by 
Intelligence-Led Policing by 
Criminological Theory by 
An Introduction to Criminal Justice by 
Doing Criminological Research by 
Criminological and Forensic Psychology by Archer, E., Janse van Vuuren, H., & Van der Walt, H. (2017). Introduction to ATLAS.ti: Basic operations, tips and tricks for coding (6th ed.). Pretoria: Research Rescue. ISBN: 9780994719645
Doing Criminological Research by 
Criminological Research for Beginners by 
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods by (search via course code e.g. INL 113)
Criminology Books can be located at the Call numbers below:
|
Criminology |
364 |
| Deviant behaviour | 302.542 |
| Domestic violence | 362.8292 |
| Juvenile delinquency | 364.36 |
| Police | 363.2 |
| Prisons | 365 |
| Surveillance | 363.232 |
| Terrorism | 303.625 and 363.325 |
| Victimisation | 362.88 |
| Violence | 303.6 |
